We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely property, and close to beach, shopping & restaurants”
Review of Coral Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coral Sands Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely property, and close to beach, shopping & restaurants”
Reviewed 29 April 2010

My husband and I just returned from spending a week at Coral Sands Resort. We had a 3-bdr, 2 bath condo that we had reserved when we thought my two sons and my daughter-in-law would be joining us on vacation. The condo was very nice, beautifully decordated, and exceptionally clean. The master bedroom had a very large private bathroom with a garden tub with jets, a huge glassed-in shower, and private toilet area. The patio was private, so we could sit out on the patio without feeling like our conversation would be overheard by our neighbors. We also never heard any noises through the walls from our neighbors, so the building must be insulated well. They had a very nice pool area with a hot tub and gas grills that were available for guests to use. All in all, I would definitely return to stay at Coral Sands again. The only thing we didn't like were several phone calls from the concierge trying to get us to come to a presentation on RCI membership options. We finally asked him to not call again which worked.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    143
    28
    9
    3
See reviews for
293
127
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We had a 3 bedroom condo on the second floor overlooking the pool. The location couldn't have been better, especially since my 12 year old daughter loves to swim, so we could just sit on the balcony and watch her while she was in the pool. The unit was spacious, well maintained, and had everything we needed. One odd thing about the layout, however, was that the master bedroom was connected to the second bedroom by a sliding glass door, and had no windows. The only way to get any sunlight into the master bedroom was to open the curtains in front of the sliding glass door, to get the light from the windows in the second bedroom. Not very private for us, or for our 16 year old son who was in that room. Plus, he had quite a walk to get to the second bathroom from his room. The second bathroom was right next to the third bedroom, which was probably the nicest in the unit, with a queen bed, sofa, and lots of windows.

The staff was very helpful, especially when Delta lost our luggage and we had it delivered to the resort. It arrived before we did on check in day, and they kindly held it for us in a secure area until we checked in. They also had great recommendations for restaurants and things to do.

The resort had some wonderful activities, especially for my daughter. These included a lot of arts and crafts and some fun competitions by the pool. The clubhouse is not located right at the units, and you have to walk or bike through the grocery store parking lot in order to get to it, but it isn't very far. The gym is in the clubhouse, and it is a very good facility, with several ellipticals, bikes, and treadmills, as well as weight machines.

The grocery store (BiLo) is literally right in front of the complex, but is separated by trees so you don't really notice it. But it is great if you decide you need a late night snack or forgot something you needed for dinner. The complex has gas grills available by the pool, which were kept immaculately clean, and we used them several times. We enjoyed watching the turtles in the pond by the pool and grills as we were cooking.

The resort gives you information on bike rentals when you check in, and biking is a great way to get around the island. Hilton Head has probably the best bike paths I've ever seen, and all the drivers are very courteous to the bikers.

The resort also offers a free breakfast on Tuesday mornings, and they have folks from the various attractions on the island come and talk about their programs. The breakfast itself is fantastic, and it was really helpful and convenient for us to hear about all the things to do on the island. We ended up kayaking on Broad Creek, which was a blast and was a great family adventure (any time we can get our 16 year old to do anything with us is a small miracle!).

This was by far one of the best vacations we've ever been on, and we would love to go back to the Coral Sands.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TamikoBold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We stayed at Coral Sands Resort during the month of March. It is a great place to stay.
We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit with everything that we needed. We took our bicycles and did a lot of biking and walking. As stated in an earlier review, the Bi-Low is right in front of the resort and you can obtain a visitor card while there that will save you some money. The resort is within 2 blocks of the ocean and there are a lot of restaurants within walking distance. There is an ice cream shop in Coligny Circle that has just about any flavor that you want and the people working there are very friendly. Also, Plantation Cafe is a great place for breakfast. While in Hilton Head, we ate at the Sea Shack which was very good. We would definitely stay at Coral Sands again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luvs2read058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

This was our 4th trip to Hilton Head and we love it. We stayed at Springwood in Coral Sands near the Coligny Circle, and were very disappointed. The condo was clean and updated, but it was more like staying in an apartment building than a typical HHI resort. The resort amenities were lacking, and there were local residents living in the building- as apartment dwellers. The units are very close to each other with no nice views, no golf course, no quiet bike riding areas and frankly I would not stay here again. I would forgo HHI as a vacation if Coral Sands and especially Springwood was the only option. When I go to HHI I want some luxury- and you will not find it here. Stay on a plantation. I recommend either in Sea Pines or in Port Royal, or even Shipyard is ok but not my first choice. But not here. Springwood pool was tiny- and I mean tiny. And no whirlpool tub - just your normal at home shower.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoveHHIPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Just got back from Hilton Head on Friday. This was our second trip and this time we stayed at the Coral Sands on an RCI exchange. We had a 3 bedroom unit in building E. The unit was very large, clean and decorated nicely. We were hoping to get a unit closer to the pool because we had a 2 year old with us and it was a bit of a haul to the pool with the little one and all the stuff. Would have been nice to be able to use the pool and check on him during his nap time.
We rented bikes from Hilton Head Bikes and they were very nice. We used them a lot for riding on the beach. We were fortunate to have a good week weather wise and took full advantage of it. We love the numerous bike trails.
One of the best parts of staying at the Coral Sands was being so close to Center Circle for shopping. The BiLo store was wonderful and I thought had pretty good prices. The bakery and deli were very fresh and the produce was nice. It was great to have the store so close to pick up things quickly. Make sure to ask them to use their visitor discount card to get the sale prices on things.
We found a great little Mexican restaurant called Amigos in that same shopping center. The food was outstanding and I would highly recommend it. Doesn' t look like much on the outside, but don't let that fool you. We also ate at our favorite, Big Bamboo, two times. We went to The Wreck of the Salty Dog for my son's birthday and all had some type of seafood. Again, the food was great. The places we ate at that were just ok were Wild Wings and NY City Pizza. Nothing special at all.
Can't beat the weather and crowds in September. Seems like one of the best times to travel to Hilton Head. We are sure to be back in a couple of years and would stay at the Coral Sands again if possible.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vickiandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We just returned from a beautiful week in Hilton Head. The resort was fabulous. We had a 3 bedroom condo in building E. Check in was fast and very informative. You have to check in at the club house which has 5 computers and a printer that you can use free of charge. There is a game room for the kids and a fitness room. The pool was a minute walk from our condo. There is a little strip mall within walking distance where you can buy groceries and souvenirs. There is also a little Mexican restaurant in the strip. There is no entertainment at the resort, but our kids enjoyed going minature golfing a few times in the evening. The resort highly recommended the restaurant Aqua. It was fabulous. It was pricey but well worth it. The beach was beautiful. The water was warm and the waves were great. The only downfall were the jellyfish. It seems that the jellyfish are worst the last week in July and most of August. A few of us got stung. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

First time at Coral Sands. Villas were S P A C I O U S and well maintained. B101 First Floor right next to pool, jacuzzi, lagoon water feature and gas grills. Kids activities every day tie dye shirts, sundaes, hair wraps etc.. Easy check in. Pleasant and attentive staff.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjremax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.6 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Island Links Resort
Island Links Resort
#3 of 52 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#3 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Resort

Property: Coral Sands Resort
Address: 66 Pope Ave, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4744
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Sands Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in a hotel when you can stay in a fully equipped villa with a washer & dryer, entertainment centers, TVs in bedrooms and living room, DVD players, all kitchens utensils and tableware. Each unit is professionally decorated and refurbished every year. Coral Sands Resort, a member of the Palmera Vacation Club, is situated perfectly in the heart of Hilton Head Island near Coligny Beach. Perhaps, the finest resort community along the Atlantic Coastline. Hilton Head Island boasts natural beauty along with a playground of outdoor activities. World renowned for it's golf and tennis, Hilton Head also offers a variety of water sports, miles of bike paths, wonderful restaurants and great shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coral Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sands Hotel Hilton Head
Coral Sands Resort Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing