We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice course”

Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled along the Atlantic coastline, Port Royal Golf Club, named one of the "Top 75 U.S. Golf Resorts" by Golf Digest Magazine, is located on the northwestern point of Hilton Head Island. The Club is situated in the Port Royal Plantation along with the luxurious oceanfront Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa. In addition to being praised for its unrivaled golf experience, Port Royal Golf Club is also well-known as a world-class tennis destination. In 1997, Port Royal Golf Club was recognized as a "1997 Silver Medal Resort" by Golf Magazine for its three spectacular 18-hole golf courses; Barony, Planter's Row, and Robber's Row. Port Royal Golf Club, Oyster Reef Golf Club, Shipyard Golf Club and Palmetto Hall Plantation Club are all part of The Heritage Collection on Hilton Head Island. Owned and operated by Heritage Golf Group, a leading owner and operator of golf facilities nationwide, Port Royal Golf Club is committed to unrivaled golf and uncompromising service.
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Played twice with my daughters. Sunday morning was leisurely and enjoyable. Tuesday was more crowded and felt pressured by pace of play. Well maintained and beautiful course. Helpful staff located and mailed a club my daughter misplaced on the course.

Thank Awjssj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGolf, General Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for the recent review of your experience on our Robber's Row course here at Port Royal Golf Club. I am glad you and your daughters had a great time with us. I appreciate your kind comments about our course and our golf staff and will be sure to share them with our team. We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Sincerely,

Brady Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Played as a guest of a member with a friend playing the course for the first time. They played white tees; I played blue tees. My friend loved the course and can't wait to play again. I always enjoy this course, particularly the diversity of the holes. Greens slowly recovering from early June aeration... slow and bumpy. Rest of the course in good shape. Guest fees pricey compared with green fees at comparable courses nearby. We were the first group off at 8 AM and played in 3:30, but the 1st Men's Day group that started 20 minutes behind us caught up on #16. Stayed for a good, but again pricey, lunch afterwards in the very nice clubhouse.

Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGolf, General Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Paul,

Thank you for your latest review of our Robber's Row course here at Port Royal. I'm glad you and your friend had a great time and we appreciate the loyalty you have shown for our course. We continue to make improvements on our properties and the next item you will likely notice on Robber's Row will be new tee signs (to be installed in August)! Thanks too for your lunch business. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Brady Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Course was in good shape,greens still bumpy while recovering from aeration. Staff was very friendly, great pace of play. Will plan to return.

Thank skidigdug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGolf, General Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you writing about your experience on our Robber's Row course! I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and plan to come play again. Most of the course remains in great shape and we are almost fully healed already from last week's aerification...and we still have the same friendly staff! Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Brady Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

During our visit to Hilton Head Island we decided to play golf and the best availability was Port Royal. I called their booking service and received less than cordial conversation with one of their "customer service" representatives. However all was fine when we arrived at the course and found a golf pro shop which was very nice and accommodating. The quoted price was slashed and the starter put us on Robber Row course. The greens had been aerated within the last two weeks. We were understanding and knew this made the course less crowded. Playing from the back tees makes this course become very narrow in the landing areas. There were times when tree limbs limited your shot trajectory from the tee box. Low shots and high shots were required to make the proper placement of your tee shot. The back tees are for the better players. The course is still fairly short. Lots of water, tree lined, bunkered and undulating greens made for a fun and challenging round of golf. We saw numerous alligators, turtles, and water fowl around the course. I enjoyed it even if it wasn't the best green conditions.

Thank birdiekevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGolf, General Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your experience on our Robber's Row course. I'm glad you enjoyed the course and appreciated the creativity that it takes to score really well from the back tees there. We are doing a lot of tree trimming this summer to help open up some shots and our greens have fully recovered now from our scheduled aerifcation so you should see a nice improvement in those areas on your next visit. I am sorry you had a poor experience with our reservation staff...we will be sure to use your feedback to revisit our training program there...thanks for letting us know. Thanks too for playing with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Brady Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I played Robbers Row last weekend for the 1st time in 3+ years. The course conditions were the best that I have ever seen. Even better, was that they recently cut back many of the trees lining the fairways. It really opened the course up. I can't wait to go back!

Thank bob2wagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGolf, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you noticed the work we have been doing. The tree trimming is making a big difference already and we are excited about many more changes planned for the rest of this year. Thanks so much for coming back and we hope you visit again soon!

Sincerely,

Brady Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing