We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good italian meal in a lovely setting”

La Fontana Waterfront Grill & Pizzeria
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
West Midlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good italian meal in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had a great meal here on the last night of our holiday. Good menu choice and the food was excellent value for money. The seating outside seemed to cater more for families so was quite noisy so we opted for a table inside which was perfect. It gets quite busy so would recommend booking in advance to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestMidlandsSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    58
    26
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Italian restaurant ”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped in before a show We had a very nice dinner. Lovely sauces and dessert. Much better than I expected. Service was good. Napolien chef

Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Best pie on HHI”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The pizza is as close to NY as it gets and the service is great. Catch Shannon Tanner on Thursdays for the Jimmy Buffet show at 7pm

Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our group enjoyed a wonderful meal recently at La Fontana in Shelter Cove on Hilton Head. We did make reservations and requested, and received, a very nice round table for eight near the windows. The restaurant also has a nice patio for outdoor seating, but it was too cool to sit outside on the evening we were there. From start to finish, everyone agreed the food and drink were delicious. The server told us the bread was made from their pizza dough and was served with an olive oil dip that was very good. The salad that included pears, cranberries and gorgonzola cheese with a light olive oil based dressing was a delicious combination. My husband and another friend ordered the rigatoni and sausage and I ordered the Pasta Alla Vodka. Both were deemed delicious. I would even go so far as to say that the Pasta Alla Vodka might be the best I have ever had. One friend ordered the pizza and also said it was excellent. Our server was attentive and the food arrived in just the right timeframes. All eight of us agreed we would definitely be returning to La Fontana when in Hilton Head.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dixie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good outdoor dining”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We went to La Fontana on a Tuesday evening. Since it was a Harbor Fest night, we decided to get there early to beat the crowds. We arrived around 5 and got seated outside right away. Even though it was hot, the overhead fans kept us cool. Our server, Olena, was sweet and efficient and never made us feel rushed, even when there was an obvious wait for tables. We all liked our food and thought it was good but relatively average. The outdoor setting next to Shannon Tanner's performance made the dining experience special for us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ohiomom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fontana Waterfront Grill & Pizzeria also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing