We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed...”
Review of Papa John's

Papa John's
Ranked #220 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Pizza, Fast food
Restaurant details
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So disappointed...”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Always loved PJ and ordered frequently for years. Have been out of the country for 9 months and wanted PJ while watching Thursday night football. Placed order online as better price and requested Extra Sauce. Then called the HHI store and requested crushed red peppers as no place on form online to do so. Pizza arrived in reasonable time; NO crushed red peppers and sauce was MINIMAL.. Terribly disappointed in what was simple order being so badly handled! Pizza places in Nicaragua do a better job and that is terribly sad if you sit and evaluate what that means.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buck2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It finally arrived”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I always check reviews on Trip Advisor before going to a restaurant. So why didn't I check this time? I decided to try online ordering, which worked well. It is not high tourist season, and I placed my order at 11:30 am. After an hour and a half, still no pizza! When I called the restaurant, the manager said that a driver's car broke down with my pizza in it. He said that he was cooking another and it would be at my home in 30 more minutes. After 45 minutes, I called again. It arrived hot 5 minutes later. SHEESH......2 hours and 15 minutes to get a pizza.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutz, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hot pizza on the fly...”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had pizza on two seperate occasions while on vacation. The first night we had 7 pizzas and an order of the cinnapie. All arrived before the promised time of 40 minutes! Outstanding service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarrod l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“And we wait”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

WOW, it's been over an hour and still we wait for a pizza and chicken nuggets. For the price of $36.00 I would have thought the delivery would be prompt and the food above par. I may never get to find out what that expensive pizza taste like. I am about 5 minutes away from canceling this order and having some soup and crackers. It's really a shame when a national chain cannot live up to what they advertise. I wish I could stay and write some more but I have a pizza to cancel and a corporate office to contact.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City MI
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Prompt delivery”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had pizza delivered to our condo for the Granddaughters on a Saturday evening. The driver called at the gate and our delivery was within 30 minutes. Three different items and all fresh and hot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papa John's also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Papa John's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing