We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low Country Elegance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Winery

Island Winery
Ranked #39 of 116 things to do in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Island Winery is a small winery who handcrafts a large variety of wines from fresh local fruits and fresh grapes grown from world renown vineyards. We have an onsite store and offer free tastings. We also serve Wine Flights & Cheese and host a Happy Hour in our barrel room.
Riverhead, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Low Country Elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I live on Long Island in the middle of wine country so we usually do not visit winerys elsewhere. While we were vacationing on Hilton Head Island, SC we had some rather cool rainy weather so we need to do something indoors. This winery was wonderful. The two ladies at the tasting bar were very friendly and pleasant. Although they do not grow their own grapes (they are shipped in) they do vint and produce all of their wines at this winery. They have selections for all tastes and palettes, ranging from dry Italian varietals to sweet Low County dessert wines. We got a fantastic deal on wine and a cheese plate. This is definitely worth the visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ratkins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    38
    6
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were in Hilton Head April 11th and she happened to find the Island Winery on a Google search. We figured why not? The wines looked to be worth a taste, which turned out to be correct. The grapes are shipped to Island Winery from major wine grape areas (Paso Robles, Chile, etc). I had a hard time picking a favorite, they were so good. However, the best part of the visit was chatting with Lori. It turns out she is from southwest Pennsylvania like we are. In fact, she worked across the street from the restaurant my wife worked at. We all got to talking and reminiscing of our old home town. We really felt comfortable and welcomed by not only Lori but by the other employees as well. I would recommend a stop at the Island Winery if you are in the Hilton Head area - you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Living Social deal makes it worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had the living social deal, making our cheese/wine flight tasting half price. If I had paid full price, I would have been annoyed about the value, but it had nothing to do with the service.

Island Winery has an excellent Barberra and a nice environment. It's a nice place to hit prior to going to dinner or on a rainy afternoon when the beach is not an option. The ladies here were very accommodating and we actually enjoyed the time alone. Island Winery did not push sales but brought us our flights and left us alone. You'll have to determine if this is what you are looking for.

We had a very enjoyable time!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle49248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fun and terrific customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have visited a few times and had great tasting experiences :-) For the holidays, we ordered wine for shipping to Wisconsin. They sent it out almost quicker than we ordered it!! We had to follow up with them on something minor... and their response was immediate and very very satisfactory. We have found that customer service like that is not the norm nowadays... and so much appreciated! We already have another tasting planned with another couple that has not, yet visited your winery, and we look forward to it very much!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bonnie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Very Enjoyable Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We brought out of town visitors for a tasting. We were very pleasantly surprised by the entire experience since it isn't in a typically Hilton Head picturesque location. We had the 3 glass flight (generous pours) with a plate of cheese, crackers, grapes, and even a piece of chocolate that went nicely with the sweet dessert wines. The wines we sampled were very good, some of which we had not encountered before. We spent almost 2 hours and enjoyed visiting with the staff, Judy and another woman who were both very friendly and helpful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank cferry39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Winery also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Island Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing