We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your tractor”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Aire RV Park & Campground
asheville
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bring your tractor”
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We arrived at Lake Aire after a major rainstorm. The muddy ruts and huge puddles were still there when we left three days later. The staff had put boards in so that we could pull into the site, but they took them away the next morning. We couldn't have gotten without our four wheel drive. We sunk into the soft mud and wet ground as we walked to the bathhouse and between the truck and camper.

We also had issues connecting with management. We emailed our credit card information in two weeks before our reservation, but they lost it. We stopped by to register and gave it to them again, but they called us three times while we were out. We stopped by the office the next two mornings, between 10 and 11, but the office was closed both days.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    18
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
37
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We planned our trip to Charleston at the last minute and couldn't find a reservation in 7-8 of the nearby campgrounds, except this one. We were put on this lovely pond (not a lake) front site and we would have stayed on this site if we weren't sinking. I told my husband we have to get off of this site because the follwing day a storm was coming and we would never have gotten out from the mud. We requested another site and they were kind about moving us to another one even though when it rained our RV on that site was in about a foot of water. It is a clean park!! very pretty and natural but the bath house (only one) was run down and the water smelled of sulfur or rotten eggs. Also, there is a railroad track with quite a few trains who blow there horns because of the near by intersection they have to cross right at the campground. During the weekday it comes around 4am and another if I can remember around 6am on Friday and Saturday it comes at all hours. The tiny biting gnats were the icing on the cake BUT they seemed to be everywhere in the Charleston area were there was grass and trees. The admin. was very nice and the park itself very green, nice pond to fish, tiny and peaceful park and free Wi-Fi but it really had nothing else to offer especially traveling with teens. It's great for those retirees who want to save a buck who prefer to stay away from loud teens and family resort areas that are crowded.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMROES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

We love this camground family friendly close to all the beaches (about 15 min). We have stayed here in June 07 and June 08 and plan on keeping up the tradition. The people are great and it is very laid back. We tent and the site we had was shaded and close to the pool. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank camp_robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

My wife and I visited this park and loved it. Lots of wildlife, nice fishing pond. Everyone was real nice.

  • Liked — The park is wooded and beautiful.
  • Disliked — nothing... we couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cuztopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
1,092 reviews
6.7 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
5.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
8.5 mi away
Inn at Middleton Place
Inn at Middleton Place
#27 of 60 in Charleston
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Aire RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Aire RV Park & Campground

Property: Lake Aire RV Park & Campground
Address: 4375 Highway 162, Hollywood, SC 29449-5701
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hollywood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10 miles south of historic Charleston, just off 17 South, Lake Aire RV Park & Campground has 86 RV sites and 26 secluded tent sites along with a pool, fishing lake, and playground. Bathhouse includes laundry. Free wireless Internet. Great destination & lots of things to do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Aire Rv Park & Campground Hotel Hollywood
Lake Aire Rv Park And Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing