We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand spanking new but some tweaks needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Columbia Northwest/Harbison
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Irmo
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brand spanking new but some tweaks needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Last time I passed where the hotel is there was just a vacant lot. Now there is a new Residence Inn there so I thought I would try it out on my return. Getting to the hotel is weird as the road meanders around off Lake Murray Blvd. Parking is OK but not spacious. Hotel is new and bright with the Courtyard-ish lounge and eating area. Staff are perky and pleasant. Got a nice room upgrade. Room was very nice, bed was great. Had a full oven which was also great. Elevators were very large. Only negatives I found were that the TV in the seating area could have been bigger. 32" in the bedrooms is fine but a little small for the seating area. Cheap iron leaked immediately. Why can't hotels provide better ones. Breakfast was not really very good. Unappealing choices. Basic stuff but the oatmeal was one solid inedible mass. They had no white bread and no polystyrene travel boxes but they did have hazelnut creamer which keep me happy. Not a cheap hotel but very nice. Would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    25
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
15
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife has stayed here several times but this was my first visit. This Residence Inn is on the north side of Columbia, SC. near Irmo, SC, home of The Okra Strut. It is a little challenging to get to but is convenient to many restaurants and places to shop. Parking was close by and check in was very easy, especially due to the very friendly and helpful staff. It was Christmas Day but no one seemed sad about working. In fact, the hotel had dinner (turkey and all the trimmings) for the guests that night. Elevators were nearby and our room was at the end of the hall. View was the parking lot, a church and woods. The hotel is less than six months old so everything seemed fresh and new. Bed was standard, comfortable RI quality. Accommodations were nice and roomy. We especially liked having a couch and a comfortable chair with footstool. Bathroom was adjacent to separate bedroom and towels were soft; water was hot. Breakfast was better than a Hampton Inn and dining area was clean. Checkout was easy and once again, the morning staff was ultra friendly.

Room Tip: Go for the front of the hotel and end of hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRGADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Far Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at this 6-month old hotel for a family wedding and can't say enough about the friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast and gorgeous, comfortable, spacious and super well-equipped rooms!! So many extras are included -- breakfast, wi-fi, outdoor fire pit with s'more kits to enjoy, and on and on.....
Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and didn't hear any other guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jersey_Girl915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Brand new hotel. Beautifully decorated - modern and colorful. The atmosphere is amazing.
You can feel right at home. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Cannot say enough about the wonderful breakfast in the morning.
We travel a lot and stay in different types of hotels but this was the best stay ever. Especially when you consider the price.
It also has a great location, close to the I-26, shopping and restaurants.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

The staff is incredible. It was the best stay I've had in a long time. Super clean, rooms were great. I stay at many properties all across the country and this has by far gone to head of the pack. It was my pleasure to stay there. The friendliest staff I've ever experienced. Everyone seemed to care about each and every customer staying there. The food was good, the service was incredible. I loved it there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I traveled to Columbia to visit family for the holidays. We were extremely excited to be staying in a brand new property in a great location! The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

There was a Dunkin Donuts, Marco's Pizza, and a Smashburger all within walking distance however we were very satisfied with the delicious breakfast they served each morning as well as the social which we were able to take part in on Wednesday and Thursday nights. (Free food and beer!)

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone visiting Columbia, as it is a short 10-15 minute drive downtown and only a mile from Columbiana Mall! A big thanks to the amazing staff and we cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Wow this is a great hotel, it is still new and has a great staff. We have stayed here twice and love it and also the area is great with plenty to do and nice resturants to eat at. We will be returning to this hotel again

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irmo
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Columbia Northwest/Harbison
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Harbison
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites at Harbison
Comfort Suites at Harbison
#28 of 94 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Columbia Northwest/Harbison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbia Northwest/Harbison

Property: Residence Inn Columbia Northwest/Harbison
Address: 944 Lake Murray Blvd, Irmo, SC 29063-2923
Region: United States > South Carolina > Irmo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Irmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbia Northwest/Harbison 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at the brand new Residence Inn by Marriott Columbia NW/Harbison. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need, like spacious studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. We offer a fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary Internet lets you connect to work and the outside world. Our free hot breakfast will start mornings off right and the evening social hours will be a great end to your day. Our onsite fitness center and putting green will allow you to work out while on the road. Afterwards, relax on our outdoor patio with a fire pit. Relax and unwind when you want and stay focused and productive when it's essential. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Columbia Northwest/Harbison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing