We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get there early”

Lizard's Thicket Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 86 Restaurants in Irmo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Get there early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Food is pretty good if you get it early in the shift. It is cooked ahead of time. Go inside as you often dont get everything at the dive thru. The squash casseole and okra side are usually good. Ok for quick take out

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    41
    15
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just Like Eating at Grandma's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Quick service, no frills...just good, country cooking. Menu selection is rather extensive for a "meat and three" type restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Country cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I love the coziness of the restaurant. If there is something on the menu that you would like to sample before ordering, they will bring you a taste. All of the wait staff is wiling to wait on you. If you are running low on tea or coffee, they will refill you when they walk by. This is basically a meat and three. I love this place and this food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Porchpals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Soul Food, without a doubt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Lizard's Thicket is a Columbia institution with various locations throughout the Columbia area. They have a meat-and-three type menu with meat specialities every day of the week. Definitely worth the visit if you're stopping in town and want some soul food. I eat at Lizard's Thicket regularly with my family and have since I was a small child. The fried okra is a personal favorite!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rolltide7749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
461 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Southern Home Cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Huge difference between locations. The Elmwood location is my definite favorite. The food there is always hot and well prepared and the service is always good. I grew up on this kind of food and it's comfort food for sure. I usually get the beef stew or chicken fried steak. If you're looking for high end, organic, fine dining, etc. this is not the place for you. if you're looking for a basic meat and three, this is the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lbouknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lizard's Thicket Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lizard's Thicket Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing