We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach condo located right next to an outdoor bar”

Dunescape Condominiums
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunescape Condominiums
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach condo located right next to an outdoor bar”
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We rented unit 301 through VRBO. The unit is clean, spacious, beautiful and well maintained. Unfortunately, our visit was severely disrupted by the loud music and party noises coming from the outdoor deck of the Windjammer bar located directly next door. The loud music and party noise would begin around noon and go until 2am. The Windjammer deck is located a mere 50 yards from the deck of unit 301. We could read the beer bottle labels from our deck. It was horrible. There was no place in the condo to escape the noise. Even after the bar closed, the party would move to the beach in front on the condo or to the street in front of the condo.
I came back from the trip looking forward to a good nights sleep. What a waste of a vacation.

Room Tip: Stay away from 101, 201 and 301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gwenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    5
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Just returned from the most relaxing week at Dunescape condo 203. The pictures online did not do it justice. The view was amazing and the condo was beautiful as well. Basically it was a Pottery Barn beach house look. Very modern kitchen and updated bathrooms. The master bedroom had ocean front views and the bathroom was spacious and nice. The other two bedrooms had lots of privacy each with their own bathroom. We went in the off season to save money and may not be able to afford to go at their high season rates, but it is worth it. We were on the far side of the building away from the neighboring restaurant/bar, so we weren't bothered by the noise. I just loved being able to walk to all the restaurants and shops without the hassle of parking.
Only hiccup in the whole trip was we arrived on a Sunday and if you arrive after office hours they give you lockbox information for your room gate code etc.. When we realized we would be later than the five o'clock realty office hours on the paperwork we were sent, I called and requested information for checking in after hours. I was told not to worry, that they would be open till seven. (Those are their summer hours though!). We arrived at six o'clock to a closed office, and no one answered the posted telephone numbers. After driving six hours, waiting over forty minutes to finally reach someone was not a fun start to the week. But it would not deter me from coming again, I am ready to book again for the fall.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allie0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We had a wonderful family vacation at condo 302 at Dunescape in Isle of Palms. The best part of this vacaiton was how spacious the condo was for our family of six with parents, grand parents and children. There are three bedrooms and three bathrooms so the adults enjoyed the king beds and the kids LOVED the bunk beds. They are little so they slept on the two lower bunks. The condo has a beautiful beach themed design. It is so well maintained you would think we were the first family to stay in the condo. Everything we needed was provided plus some surprises like morning coffee and washing machine powder.

We had at least one meal each day out on the deck. Large table with plenty of chairs was wonderful. I really enjoyed the lounge chairs to relax and even have a nap. The view is incredible.

There were games for the children and adults. We had wonderful evenings with everyone playing games.

Having internet service is great. I had to keep in touch with the office and it was so easy.

We were on the beach every moring and built more kinds of sand castles and forts with all the sand toys provided in the locked storage for this condo. It was great not to bring chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas and sand toys.

The locationj is great. We were able to walk to stores - buy kits - T-shirts and ice cream. I really loved not getting into the car and driving. We had two cars and both had an assigned parking space.

This vacation was one of the best ever - great family time. We will be back for sure !!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank William80898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

My extended family goes every year to IOP. Because there are so many children, we have always stayed at a larger place. This year it happened that children were coming in and leaving so there was no time when all the kids were there at the same time so decided to try Dunescape 101. What a perfect spot for us! It was in pristine condition, the perfect location and had much more living area than the places we had previously stayed. For families, the gathering areas (kitchen, den) were so much more spacious than we had been used to at other places. I want to go back right now!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rcerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We are very pleased that we chose unit 102 for our vacation. This unit has private stairs from their deck to the pool, grill and beach. I really like that I could keep an eye on the kids as they went to the pool as I relaxed on the deck. My husband liked how handy the grill was for cooking. The stairs were a wonderful feature for everyone. We had several meals outside as the deck has a large table and chairs.

I have never stayed in a rental condo that was so well kept. It was so clean and fresh. There was coffee for the morning, dishwasher powder and soap for the washer.

The kitchen had everything I needed and more.

Plenty of chairs and beach toys. First time for bogie boards but not the last.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrandyWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west chester, pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed for 1 week at 301 Dunescape. The location was perfect - beautiful view of the beach/ocean from our condo. Check in was very easy - we had 2 assigned parking spots. There was an elevator and a luggage cart which were helpful in bringing up luggage and groceries. The pool was terrible - too many ants and my kids said they were biting - plus there didn't seem to be much maintenance w/ the pool. But who needs a pool when you have a beautiful beach in front of you. The actual beach was quite small at high tide, but it was great at low tide. There is a bar next door which was a bit noisy on the weekend until quite late, but it was pretty quiet during the week. The unit itself needed a few repairs, but nothing that hindered our enjoyment. A laundry room was great to have! We were able to get a nice deal on the rental since we waited until the last minute to book so it's hard to complain much about anything. The restaurants nearby were great and we enjoyed our week at Isle of Palms!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denise798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

Dunescape Condominiums are owned by individuals but are primarily rented out as tourist units. We rented through VRBO.com which is Vacation Rentals By Owner. We have had good luck with them in the past and expected the same. This complex is direct beach front on a wide strip of beach in "downtown" Isle of Palms. It is a fairly new complex so we expected no problems. We stayed in unit 301.

The pictures of the condominium look great but the pictures very carefully exclude the fact the it is immediately adjacent to a bar and a VFW Hall which is really just another bar. The first night we were there the music was so loud that the the building was shaking until 12:30 am. The units along the north side (101, 201, 301) are all directly exposed to the bar. Every time we went out on the deck we had an audience - even late at night.

Our particular unit (Dunescape 301) was someone's family home they moved out of for the summer and was not professionally managed. Although we paid well in advance we were not contacted by the booking person until we called them a week out and said we still did not have the information on getting the keys to the unit. We were treated as an annoyance and told that a week out was too early to expect to hear from them. Turns out that we got there and couldn't get in because they hadn't bothered to give us the code to get into the locked gate.

Once we got into the unit it was clear that it wasn't really set up for renters. The living room TV was broken and we were told to expect the repairman on Monday. Monday we waited for someone who never came. We also found that overhead lights in one of the bedrooms, the hallway, the dining area, and the living room were all out. We contacted the owner on Monday to say the TV wasn't fixed and the lights were a problem. The TV repairman did show up on Tuesday but the sound for the living room was still not working. The owner called and said he would be there late afternoon and would send an electrician the next day. Neither appeared and we never heard from the owner again. The owner evidently decided that he had our money and enough things worked that it was too much of a bother. We wasted part of 3 days of our vacation waiting for someone to show up for repairs - what a waste of valuable time.

The whole thing was too bad because the beach was nice and the unit was pretty. A few hours could have fixed up most of the complaints we had (except for the bar being next door). The poor response from the booker and the owner left a very bad taste in our mouths. We would not stay there again and really don't recommend it for anyone else.

  • Liked — Nice beach
  • Disliked — poor management
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank 500Rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
0.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#3 of 5 in Isle of Palms
207 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
12.5 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
6.7 mi away
The Beach Club at Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina
5.4 mi away
Shem Creek Inn
Shem Creek Inn
#10 of 24 in Mount Pleasant
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunescape Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunescape Condominiums

Property: Dunescape Condominiums
Address: 1006 Ocean Blvd., Isle of Palms, SC
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunescape Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Dunescape Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunescape Condominiums Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing