We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here recently for a concert at the Windjammer. It's located directly on the beach and within walking distance to shops, restaurants and bars … you can park your car and not move it until you go home.

After reading some of the other reviews I was a little wary of booking a room, however unlike some of the others I was pleasantly surprised, and the room we had was very nice and clean.

Breakfast was okay … it's like every other hotels continental breakfast.

Our only complaint is the elevator, I was so afraid that it might break down with us in it that we only used it once.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbyarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your review bobbyarcher. I am glad you did not let the negative reviews keep you from trying us for yourself. I was glad to read that you were satisfied with your accommodations and found breakfast to be standard of most hotels. I hope you enjoyed your concert at the Windjammer, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

We called an got Susan at the reception desk she was so friendly an informative that we booked the room .when we got in the rm we had some issues that angle the manager addressed immediately with a smile an much apology she even took some off our night rm..now that's the way to do business..thank u angle..we will return!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you very much Rodney M for taking the time to write a review for The Palms. I am glad to see that you did not let the issues with your room deter you from returning to stay with us. I was more than happy to address the issues immediately as I want my guests to be comfortable during their stay. Susan was also delighted that you were happy with her customer service. We look forward to serving your needs again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is one of a few places to stay on the Isle other than villa's and condo's. The building is only 14 years old but looks much older. The rooms were very well dressed and comfortable. The beds were soft and the desk managers were very nice and helpful. If you want the ocean be sure to get the beachfront or room 323 or 321 which are called coastal views. The others are not much. The second level maybe? 2 complaints. the elevator was creepy. We called it cranky and we were scared sometimes. Also the Banana Cabana next door was loud until 10 but it sure did smell good. Rates are reasonable off season.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you so much Richard R. for your review. Your feedback was deeply appreciated. I am so glad that you found the desk staff to be polite and helpful to you. I am also glad that you slept comfortably on our pillow top mattresses. We are gradually making improvements to our hotel, so I appreciate your voicing your concerns. We do advise guests during peak season that we sit between restaurants and there is the possibility of music. It is rare that we receive a complaint during such a slower time, so I apologize that this wasn't mentioned to you. I want to thank you again for taking the time to write a review for us. We do hope you return to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Coming back for our anniversary, we decided to stay at the beach. The Palms Oceanfront is one of the few hotels that have suites with balconies overlooking the beach. Always nice to go out there at night and see all the stars and leave the door open to hear the surf to put you to sleep at night! Very good value for the money and breakfast is included too!

Room Tip: Beach front with balconies are always a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elcid81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

I appreciate this guest choosing to stay with us during such a special occasion as their anniversary. I am glad they enjoyed the beautiful views and sounds of the ocean. I want to thank them for taking the time to write a review for us, and I hope they intend to return to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We bid on a room for 2 nights thru Priceline, got one for $66/night, cheap for beachfront (basis for "very good" rating). Spacious room, only blemish was a stain on the rug, otherwise A-OK. No outside window, unfortunately.

Room Tip: Check for an upgrade to beach-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiftonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

I would like to thank this guest for writing a review for our hotel. I am glad they were satisfied with their accommodations and got such a great deal. I do hope this guest intends to stay with us again. I appreciate the time they took to provide feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The 'booking' portion of the trip was very smooth and our room was as promised. However, the drain in the bathtub was clogged, the blow dryer only worked in 2 minute increments (which is a pain), anytime the staff rolled one of their carts past our room it echoed (at 7 am), and we found a roach crawling across the tv stand the next morning. Not a room worth $167. Complete waste of money.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

I appreciate this guest providing feedback regarding their stay. I do apologize for the inconveniences this guest experienced. I do want to clarify the comment about the staff rolling their carts at 7am. The housekeeping staff doesn't start until 9am, so what this guest must have heard was other guests rolling luggage carts. Also, I am not sure if they reported any of the things mentioned in this review, but we ask that anytime something isn't working properly in the room, please give us an opportunity to fix it. I want to apologize again and thank this guest for their time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The front desk staff was great! That, the ocean views (and sounds!) and downtown IOP location make this a worthwhile last minute get-away place. Our room was a bit dusty, but the bedding was very clean; it's possible it just hadn't been occupied recently. (The chandelier had layers of dust from non-cleaning over time - a simple housekeeping checklist fix for guest comfort that I shared with the hotel - just sharing here as fyi for allergy sufferers). It would be a nice touch if comforters shown in website pictures were in the room; at least in winter season. However, the heater fixed that problem quickly :) All was good for a couple nights stay; thanks to the staff and oceanfront, "walking distance" location to many great little spots!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank foodcritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
238 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt Pleasant
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt ...
#11 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,385 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
5.5 mi away
Shem Creek Inn
Shem Creek Inn
#4 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1126 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range: £100 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Palms Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening in December 2017 after a complete renovation, The Palms Oceanfront Hotel combines seaside serenity with Lowcountry luxury. Turn to us for a wonderful vacation destination, wedding or get together with friends, family, or business associates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Palms Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Isle Of
Palms Isle Of

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing