We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoke Free????” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smoke Free????”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Website claims the hotel is 100% smoke free and this is 100% false. People were smoking at the pool, in the stair wells and even the common areas outside of rooms. The pool was closed 2 out of the 3 days we were there for various maintenance updates. The room did not have a balcony. I reccomend paying extra for beach view rooms. The music from the restaurants on either side was definitely loud. The free breakfast is nice but could definitely use some updates. The pancake machine worked half the time.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EN124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to provide your feedback. As always we appreciate guests taking the time to write reviews for our hotel informing us of their stay. We take our guest's comments seriously and use them to make needed improvements. This case won't be any different. Smoking is definitely a challenge at the hotel. At the beginning of the year with the change to being smoke free, we still have guest's challenging the policy. We have ordered additional signage throughout the hotel to advise of the no smoking policy on top of the registration card to help curb this to get the message out. Thank you again for taking an opportunity to provide a review and hope you will consider us for future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    171
    107
    93
    90
See reviews for
197
246
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here over memorial day weekend.(2 nights) Our stay was nice, office staff was nice and helpful. Upon checking out which was Monday, the hotel charged our account over $600 2 days after leaving. We were charged at check in $615 and then a few days later charged $630. I have not been able to talk with a manager and I have called 3 times. This is very poor customer service once leaving. We will find different hotel arrangements when returning in September.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merisss118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to provide your feedback. I am glad to hear that you had a great experience while here at the hotel aside from the charges associated with your account. I know you had an opportunity to speak with our Front Desk team and they advised the double charges were actually authorizations held on your card. Upon speaking with your bank last week, we were able to send them a copy of your invoice and release for the additional amount. If this has yet to be resolved, please contact me directly and I can further assist where I can.

Again, I appreciate you taking an opportunity to provide a review and hope you will consider us for future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isle of Palms hotels

Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

In need of a few days break after taking care of a sick family member, I was looking forward to a couple of days at the ocean. Due to Biker's Week in Myrtle Beach, we drove to Isle of Palms and found this oceanfront hotel. Again one of those spur of the moment choices that I regretted. Priced very high for this old hotel that is crammed between two restaurants that played music loudly. If you want peace and quiet at the beach you will not find it here. Swimming pool was not open even though it was mid May and 80 degrees. That was a disappointment since I could have enjoyed getting the sun that was non existent on my balcony. They did let us check in early- 1 pm - which was appreciated. Beach view was awesome and so sad it is wasted on this old building. Beware that parking is an additional $6.00 per night on top of over $200 per night room charge. (oceanfront room)

Room Tip: If over 30, do better research than I did and choose another hotel. The music from the two restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinggma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to provide your feedback. As always we appreciate guests taking the time to write reviews for our hotel informing us of their stay. We take our guest's comments seriously and use them to make needed improvements. This case won't be any different, we will make the needed changes to things we have control over. I will say, however, that we are located between restaurants that offer music seven days a week during the summer peak months. Again, I appreciate you taking an opportunity to provide a review and hope you will consider us for future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I was very pleased during my stay at The Palms. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would like to thank Kia for all her kindness. The room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel is very convenient to shops, restaurants, and of course, the beach is right outside your room. This is the perfect beach hotel! I will return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smonee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to provide your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

For the off-season high rate we paid, and considering the higher in-season rates, much should be done for the condition of the property. The common areas were fine, but the room is showing it's wear. Outdated furniture, bathrooms that sorely need updating, poor quality repairs visible on the walls, and the main door to the room in serious need for replacement.

Room Tip: If requesting ocean front balcony room, ask for one of the hallway ends - the middle rooms open up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KehoeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking an opportunity to share your feedback with us. In February, management presented the ownership a property improvement plan to renovate the hotel. We are started the renovation with our garage and swimming pool areas and hope we can get into the rooms after the summer season.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a spacious oceanfront room, with balcony, that was very comfortable. Staff were friendly, and the bars and restaurants on either side of the hotel were all great. I'd recommend this over The Dunes any day of the week.

Room Tip: The oceanfront is the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to provide your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms are nice, beds & linens ok. A little pricey BUT For quick getaway I'll pay it. Food, shopping and of course the beach right at your doorstep. Nice & helpful staff. Wedged between to restaurants/bar could get a little noisy in the summertime but if you are a people watching person it would be perfect. Had a great experience, I will book again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to provide your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Property: The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1126 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palms Oceanfront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** ATTENTION as of Friday, December 18, 2015 *** The Palms Hotel officially closed on Friday, December 18, 2015 due to extensive renovations to common areas, guest room, and guest areas! We look forward to re-opening the hotel late 2016. Thank you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Isle Of
Palms Isle Of

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing