We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Reviewed 2 June 2014

1. Understaffed, your room will not be ready on time.
2. Dirty, our bed had food, sand or something in it when I went to get in bed; didn't like I had to change the sheets after a long day.
3. Outdated; rooms, elevators, bathrooms all need to be updated feels like the earlier 90's ( beside the tv; however it did have a chip in the middle of the screen)
4. Don't expect to hear the waves until after 10 or 11 at night; you a surrounded by two very loud bars that you hear through the walls.
5. Ice machine does not work well; makes a cup of ice every 15 min.

The good: the limited staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elrod843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for taking an opportunity to share your feedback with us. In February, management presented the ownership a property improvement plan to renovate the hotel. We are started the renovation with our garage and swimming pool areas and hope we can get into the rooms after the summer season. We apologize for the experience you had at the hotel and are working diligently with staff training to increase the hotel's standards in our housekeeping department.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Three nights and 4 days at The Palms is exactly what the Doctor order for my wife and I. We did it right this time, by staying in the Oceanfront King Balcony Suite. It was Awesome. The Staff, especially Susan, Stacy and Kia made our stay even more pleasurable. Everyone at this Hotel; Front Desk, Maintenance, and Housekeepers could not have been more accommodating and pleasant. I know when we are at the Isle of Palms again, we'll be staying at this Wonderful Hotel.

Room Tip: The Oceanfront Balcony Suite is worth every penny and will make your Beach experience so much more m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vinny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write about your wonderful experience. I will share your feedback on the staff with each on individually.

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Isle of Palms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked this room for our Honeymoon. Check in was at 4pm, we arrived about 10 min after 4 only to be told our room was not quite ready. We were given a voucher for parking and told it should be ready in 10 min. We parked, walked around and returned about 4:30 to find out our room STILL was not ready, we canceled. Upon arriving we noticed that the entrance and elevator were very dirty, people cutting through the breezeway, things were just not what they portray it to be. We will never return. Mrs. Dixon, unhappy bride

Room Tip: We went into Mt. Pleasant and stay at the Holiday Inn Xpress, a very beautiful CLEAN place to relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the opportunity to provide your feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your recent stay with us in being unable to check-in at 4:00 PM. Again, I appreciate you taking an opportunity to provide a review and hope you will reconsider us for future visits to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Website claims the hotel is 100% smoke free and this is 100% false. People were smoking at the pool, in the stair wells and even the common areas outside of rooms. The pool was closed 2 out of the 3 days we were there for various maintenance updates. The room did not have a balcony. I reccomend paying extra for beach view rooms. The music from the restaurants on either side was definitely loud. The free breakfast is nice but could definitely use some updates. The pancake machine worked half the time.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EN124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the opportunity to provide your feedback. As always we appreciate guests taking the time to write reviews for our hotel informing us of their stay. We take our guest's comments seriously and use them to make needed improvements. This case won't be any different. Smoking is definitely a challenge at the hotel. At the beginning of the year with the change to being smoke free, we still have guest's challenging the policy. We have ordered additional signage throughout the hotel to advise of the no smoking policy on top of the registration card to help curb this to get the message out. Thank you again for taking an opportunity to provide a review and hope you will consider us for future visits to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here over memorial day weekend.(2 nights) Our stay was nice, office staff was nice and helpful. Upon checking out which was Monday, the hotel charged our account over $600 2 days after leaving. We were charged at check in $615 and then a few days later charged $630. I have not been able to talk with a manager and I have called 3 times. This is very poor customer service once leaving. We will find different hotel arrangements when returning in September.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merisss118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the opportunity to provide your feedback. I am glad to hear that you had a great experience while here at the hotel aside from the charges associated with your account. I know you had an opportunity to speak with our Front Desk team and they advised the double charges were actually authorizations held on your card. Upon speaking with your bank last week, we were able to send them a copy of your invoice and release for the additional amount. If this has yet to be resolved, please contact me directly and I can further assist where I can.

Again, I appreciate you taking an opportunity to provide a review and hope you will consider us for future visits to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

In need of a few days break after taking care of a sick family member, I was looking forward to a couple of days at the ocean. Due to Biker's Week in Myrtle Beach, we drove to Isle of Palms and found this oceanfront hotel. Again one of those spur of the moment choices that I regretted. Priced very high for this old hotel that is crammed between two restaurants that played music loudly. If you want peace and quiet at the beach you will not find it here. Swimming pool was not open even though it was mid May and 80 degrees. That was a disappointment since I could have enjoyed getting the sun that was non existent on my balcony. They did let us check in early- 1 pm - which was appreciated. Beach view was awesome and so sad it is wasted on this old building. Beware that parking is an additional $6.00 per night on top of over $200 per night room charge. (oceanfront room)

Room Tip: If over 30, do better research than I did and choose another hotel. The music from the two restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank travelinggma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the opportunity to provide your feedback. As always we appreciate guests taking the time to write reviews for our hotel informing us of their stay. We take our guest's comments seriously and use them to make needed improvements. This case won't be any different, we will make the needed changes to things we have control over. I will say, however, that we are located between restaurants that offer music seven days a week during the summer peak months. Again, I appreciate you taking an opportunity to provide a review and hope you will consider us for future visits to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I was very pleased during my stay at The Palms. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would like to thank Kia for all her kindness. The room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel is very convenient to shops, restaurants, and of course, the beach is right outside your room. This is the perfect beach hotel! I will return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smonee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to provide your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
239 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt Pleasant
12.7 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Pa...
#11 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
256 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
8.4 mi away
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1126 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range: £90 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Palms Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening in December 2017 after a complete renovation, The Palms Oceanfront Hotel combines seaside serenity with Lowcountry luxury. Turn to us for a wonderful vacation destination, wedding or get together with friends, family, or business associates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Palms Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Isle Of
Palms Isle Of

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing