We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EVERTHING WAS GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“EVERTHING WAS GREAT”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I took our 3.5 year old grandson to The Palms for 3 nights.We stayed Monday through Thursday. We were able to check into our room an hour early. The room was clean and cool. The staff was attentive, hard working and always available for anything we needed. The availability of coffee, tea, and juice for the entire day was great!
We highly recommend this hotel. Everything you need is in walking distance. We hope to go back each year and maybe twice a year.
Thank you all so very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOMLOR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking an opportunity to write about your wonderful experience at The Palms Hotel. We greatly appreciate it and hope to see you again soon on your next visit to the area! Don't forget to call us directly to take advantage of our great Loyal Guest rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    171
    107
    93
    90
See reviews for
197
246
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our family stayed at the Palms Hotel for a couple of nights while visiting family nearby. We did not spend a lot of time in the rooms, but when we did they were reasonably comfortable and quiet. Our rooms were in an interior hallway so you were treated to the hot exhaust from a/c units on your walk to your room. Free breakfast was nothing fancy and a pancake "machine" was the only hot item available. We were quoted a room rate but found our credit card was also charged $7.50 per night for parking in the lot. We were never told of this fee when provided the parking pass at check-in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkloui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! I glad you had a wonderful experience and appreciate you taking an opportunity to post about it via TripAdvisor. The parking is a common challenge at the hotel as our guests utilize a city lot that puts us at their discretion when we charge. Typically, there is a charge for parking from April-October each year; however, this year, it was started in March due to demand in the area. We have placed this fee on all websites, including Third Party sites. It is an optional fee and guests can park in other lots; however, for our pass and to park in our lot with unlimited in and out access, the $6.00 fee is available for guests.

We thank you again for your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

4:30 and still waiting for room! Will not stay here again! Check in is 4:00pm! No one appears to care. Manager has walked by several times and should be able to tell I am aggravated!!!! Writing 200 characters for this would be redundant!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to provide your feedback. I appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences experienced upon your arrival at the hotel.

Over the course of the past two weeks, the hotel has experienced many challenges with staffing in our housekeeping department that we have worked diligently to ensure minimal to no impact on our guests. This has even resulted in me personally cleaning rooms on several occasions. In this instance, we clearly fell short of our efforts and commitment to you, our guest. I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and do hope you will consider us for future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isle of Palms hotels

Jenkins, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June of 2014 and had a great experience. We had an ocean view room with two doubles for $179.00/night. The room was extremely clean and we were able to get an early check in of 10:30am. The hotel is literally steps from the ocean and all of the restaurants and shops. The breezeway and rooms could use some updates as far as cosmetic issues like paint and things. Our room overlooked a restaurant patio that featured live music at night. We were able to sit on our balcony and listen or go back into the room where you could not hear anything once you shut the patio door. The pool was in a great location and was clean and well maintained. It also had laundry facilities available for charge and the continental breakfast was very nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a comfortable, clean place to stay that is right on the ocean.

Room Tip: They offered ocean view rooms for $179 or ocean front for $250. I would not recommend spending the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serbie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your most recent stay at The Palms! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Don't forget to call us directly for special Loyal Guest discounts for future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Not much to say about this hotel. Yes it is on the Beach, a short walk to the Ocean but that is about the best I can say. For the price ( $349 for a Room with a King Bed and Ocean View with Tax and Parking is was $400 for one night) is was not worth it. Everything about this hotel was in need of a face lift. The bathroom paint was stained and in need of a paint job. It wasn't very clean or fresh looking. The patio furniture on the balcony was old and worn. The Linens too were on the old side, small very thin towels in the bathroom that were once white but now sort of gray. A small breakfast area serving the very basic complimentary breakfast but at $400/night not really complimentary is it. It has a small rooftop pool that was ok, again nothing special. More like what you would get at a less expensive Motel Chain.
The Staff at check in was very friendly but I would expect that. Not that is was a big deal but just know that Parking is a block away. I just feel that these type of mid range hotels need to be priced accordingly. There web site makes the Hotel appear to be much more elegant and nicer then it is. If it was no more than $150 a night I'd say it was worth it for the location. I would never stay here again for what we paid.

PS by accident this review also got posted under my old Mangia Bene TA account which I no longer use so I reposted my review here.

Room Tip: From what we saw the inside rooms are very small and very dark. Unless you have an ocean front room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borninthebronx54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Not much to say about this hotel. Yes it is on the Beach, a short walk to the Ocean but that is about the best I can say. For the price ( $349 for a Room with a King Bed and Ocean View with Tax and Parking is was $400 for one night) is was not worth it. Everything about this hotel was in need of a face lift. The bathroom paint was stained and in need of a paint job. It wasn't very clean or fresh looking. The patio furniture on the balcony was old and worn. The Linens too were on the old side, small very thin towels in the bathroom that were once white but now sort of gray. A small breakfast area serving the very basic complimentary breakfast but at $400/night not really complimentary is it. It has a small rooftop pool that was ok, again nothing special. More like what you would get at a less expensive Motel Chain.
The Staff at check in was very friendly but I would expect that. Not that is was a big deal but just know that Parking is a block away. I just feel that these type of mid range hotels need to be priced accordingly. There web site makes the Hotel appear to be much more elegant and nicer then it is. If it was no more than $150 a night I'd say it was worth it for the location. I would never stay here again for what we paid.

Room Tip: From what we saw the inside rooms are very small and very dark. Unless you have an ocean front room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mangebiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking an opportunity to share your feedback with us. I am glad to here that you enjoyed your stay and had positive experiences with the staff. We are aware of the work needed at the hotel and have begun work in common areas and other areas of the hotel to include our parking garage, and swimming pool. In February, management presented the ownership a property improvement plan to renovate the entire hotel, including guest rooms. As we finalize and wrap up other common area items, we hope to get into the rooms by next season.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay here, the staff is friendly and the rooms were nice and clean. Upon our arrival however, our room wasn't ready even though it was after check-in time. We checked in and left our cell phone number being assured they would call us within the hour when our room was ready. Long story short, sometime after 7pm we finally returned to the hotel and were given our key, no one had touched base with us prior to this to let us know our room was ready, nor was the front desk apologetic for forgetting to notify us that we could check in. A nice place but a big strike against them in my book.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnastasiaNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to provide your feedback. I appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences experienced upon your arrival at the hotel. I am glad to hear all of the other wonderful things experienced while here at the hotel and appreciate you notating them as well.

Over the course of the past two weeks, the hotel has experienced many challenges with staffing in our housekeeping department that we have worked diligently to ensure minimal to no impact on our guests. In this instance, we clearly fell short of our efforts and commitment to you, our guest. I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and do hope you will consider us for future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
Seaside Inn
#3 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Property: The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1126 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palms Oceanfront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** ATTENTION as of Friday, December 18, 2015 *** The Palms Hotel officially closed on Friday, December 18, 2015 due to extensive renovations to common areas, guest room, and guest areas! We look forward to re-opening the hotel late 2016. Thank you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Isle Of
Palms Isle Of

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing