We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getaway for late spring”
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Dunes Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Getaway for late spring”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I had a great time, we did the $25 credit toward breakfast daily package and that about covered it every day. Breakfast was awesome, we didn't stay for other meals. I am a big fan of the gulf coast of FL mind you, but this was a unique location to enjoy a chill beach resort, but the interesting city close by to explore. Resort was an excellent value for what we enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,842
    922
    466
    260
    168
See reviews for
1,746
939
54
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

2 stays in past 9 months. Boardwalk hm- shabby, dirty, broken, moldy, hole in ceiling. Yuck! Way overpriced for condition! Villages - Nicer, still problems. Staff completely indifferent to service. Avoid

Room Tip: Villages better than boardwalk homes but do not expect resort treatment anywhere on site. You have t...
See more room tips
Green Features: Does not recycle trash from rooms. We separated ours out daily, housekeepers mix all trash into one bag for disposal. Located bins in basement of parking deck and did it ourselves. There are bins around pool, but not on path to beach.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHB-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear AHB-NC,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am terribly sorry to hear that your two stays did not live up to your expectations and that you experienced frustration time and again. This is certainly not indicative of the experience we aim to provide our guests, no matter what accommodation they stay in. Likewise, the unsatisfactory level of service that you experienced while on property is certainly inexcusable and unacceptable. Please accept my sincere apology. I assure you this is well outside of our own internal standards for providing attentive, exceptional service to our guests. While nothing can take back your experience, please trust that I am sharing your valuable feedback with our leadership team. We appreciate your review as it is highly valuable to us for understanding and improvement moving forward. If you have any further comments you would like to share with our team, I invite you to reach out to me directly at ffredericks@destinationhotels.com.
Regards,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at The Boardwalk Inn for a long weekend getaway. Weather was awful (not their fault) but they had basically nothing going on. Half of the facilities were closed, there was no music, no festivities, no anything. The weather wiped everything out, and there seemed to be no effort to make up for it. We ended up spending most of our time in Charleston because there was no shortage of things to do there, and this was just a place to lay our heads at night. Combine that with a mechanical issue that kept us out of our room for half a day then resulted in us having to move (with no offer to compensate or make it up to us at all) and I was underwhelmed. Other aspects of our stay were great. The area is lovely (when it isn't raining), lots of good restaurants close by (the ones on the property were meh) and plenty to do once you drive into Charleston. If the weather is perfect this may be a great place to be. If not, run away. Their cancellation policy is draconian, so check the weather in advance. The lack of a heated pool is also a negative. As is the prices for pretty much everything you may way to buy, and the beds were not particularly comfy.

Having said all of that, the staff, except for the one issue, was very friendly and attentive. The bell hops were particularly good. They do seem to hire nice people and encourage them to be nice. That was really the only highlight of our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view, and try to stay away from the elevators. The walls aren't...
See more room tips
Green Features: They had a good recycling and reuse program, even giving a credit if you decline maid service for a day.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were at Isle of Palms for a wedding in mid March. The area is very nice. However when I stay at a "RESORT" I expect, rightfully or not, a higher level of service and available amenities.
We stayed in a Village suite. it was roomy but decor was dated as was the rest of the resort. There are very few amenities at the resort and even fewer on the rest of the island. No grocery stores (the one was closed for remodeling) and almost all of the other restaurants or stores were at the island end of the causeway.

The area is almost ENTIRELY private beach homes, some VERY nice and others in complete disrepair. The shoreline is protected by about 100 yards of natural grasses and dunes so beach access was not what we expected. None of the properties we saw were "on the beach" because of the physical separation. This is not necessarily a bad thing but was not what we expected. We are used to walking out of the room onto the beach. It is NOT convenient to go back and forth from the room to the beach.

For those wanting a place near the water and expecting to cook and fend for themselves it is a lovely place. I would think it is great for families. However for those looking for services and amenities you will not find them here. Nothing is exceptional other than the price and image the area has developed.

I am sure this is what the local community wants and that is great. Just not our cup of tea.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aggowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at Wild Dunes this week with two teen girls. The Resort is beautiful and both our condo and Boardwalk Hotel stays were nice. However, the weather was cold and windy for April and the resort offered limited activities. The day trips off site were not practical in the rain. The pools are not heated and there were no activities at night despite the resort having ample space to do so in the convention center or numerous community buildings around. They could have had movies, game night, evening Karaoke, even beach volley ball at night. It was very disappointing. This would require limited staff and planning and made a huge difference for our family and many others we spoke to on during this week.
I would like to come back again in the good weather but for me this is not a place I would visit again unless I am sure the weather is good and the pools and and outdoor facilities can be enjoyed.

Green Features: Staff friendly but had no suggestions as to why there were no activities for families at night.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank global727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Service was exceptional. We went into a market on the promenade just before closing. I was unsure if we would be able to get served. The 3 young women there went out of there way to get us everything we wanted. They were just wonderful, even though they were at the end of their shift.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
M C,
Thank you for your amazing review and recommendation! It’s very rewarding to receive personal feedback like yours about memorable experiences with our staff members. On behalf of our Hudson’s Market staff and the entire Wild Dunes Resort team, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It was truly our pleasure to welcome you as our guests, and we all look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
248 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Wild Dunes Resort is one of our favorite places to stay in the Charleston area. We love the relaxed pace at the resort, the ability to walk and ride bicycles, and the proximity to the ocean, no matter where you stay on the resort. We have stayed in the Boardwalk Inn twice. This hotel is really nice-- and expensive, except in February when the lowest prices of the year are available--just sign up for email alerts at the Wild Dunes website and you will get notifications of special deals.

On our last visit in February, we stayed in an oceanfront condo,12B at Mariner's Walk. This condo could use an update since the fabric on the dining chairs, sofa, and living room chairs is stained and faded, but one could tell that the upholstery and draperies were custom-made for the condo whenever it was new. The kitchen and bath looked like the 80's and was minimally equipped, but the location was nice and the bed was comfortable. The view was great. From the living room, the condo overlooks the ocean through a wall of windows and a screened porch that opens out into the dunes. The bedroom was upstairs and had a side view of the beach and ocean. We had an issue with the battery going out in the door lock while staying here and the maintenance crew was quick to show up and take care of the problem.

When it was time to check out, there was a major ice storm along the route we would take to go home.The resort staff graciously accommodated us for another two days by transferring us to a condo at the Village--#111 since there were other guests checking into the oceanfront condo. This place was fabulous with a state-of-the-art kitchen complete with granite countertops and a huge bathroom featuring a soaking tub and a walk-in shower. The bed was very comfortable and although the condo overlooked the street on the back side, it was quiet in the condo. We would definitely stay in the Village Condos again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60742Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
Seaside Inn
#3 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Property: Wild Dunes Resort
Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing