We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love coming here!”
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wild Dunes Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Wild Dunes is a beautiful place to come if you love the beach, golf and southern cooking. We stayed in boardwalk inn unit 108. This unit is classified as deluxe. We are overlooking the beach and the pool. The resort is very clean and has excellent service. We played the harbor golf course, which is quite beautiful but narrow....lots of alligators! all in all, excellent place to come.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Laura,
Thank you for sharing that you had an excellent stay at Wild Dunes Resort. I’m delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy the beach, golf and our wonderful southern cuisine – three of my personal favorite things about living here in Isle of Palms and Charleston. Likewise, I’m pleased to hear that your accommodations at the Boardwalk Inn met your expectations and that you enjoyed your deluxe view of the Boardwalk Inn Pool, beach and Atlantic Ocean. We appreciate your kind comments about the cleanliness of the property and the excellent guest service you experienced during your stay – your feedback is most valuable to our team! You do have to keep an eye on those gators on the Harbor Course…they seem to love Wild Dunes too! We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay. Take care!
Kind regards,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,949 - 2,955 of 4,247 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful resort. You literally have everything you need right here. Well maintained inside and out. We booked our condo for our honeymoon and the room is right next to the shopping and dining. Like I said absolutely wonderful service, location, and value!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThisTrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at Wild Dunes for only one night in April 2014, and wished it could have been several- we plan to go again when we can stay longer. Although our room was not ready for some unexplained reason when we arrived 10 min past check-in time, and we waited about 30 minutes before checking in w/ front desk again, an apology was given, and we were finally given a fantastic room overlooking the main outdoor pool, which was beautiful. We walked on the beach and had a fantastic breakfast the next day in the restaurant. Highly recommend. Great place for families- all kinds of activities going on all the time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llc195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear llc195,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your April stay at Wild Dunes Resort! I'm delighted that you found beauty in our island surroundings and Resort amenities. I am sorry to hear that your room was not ready upon arrival, but I'm glad that our staff was able to accommodate you soon after and offered their sincere apologies, as I equally extend to you now and thank you for your patience. It's wonderful to know that you were greatly pleased with your accommodation and the view of the outdoor pool, as well as our daily breakfast in the Sea Island Grill. I second your statement in wishing your stay could have been longer – one night is far too short! I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back for another relaxing stay in the near future to enjoy even more of our many Resort activities and island paradise. On behalf of the entire team here at Wild Dunes Resort, I thank you for sharing your recommendation with future travelers.

Best wishes,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This resort had lovely clean rooms, easy access to the beach and pools and decent restaurants. We stayed for two nights in mid March and resided in a two bedroom/2 bathroom condo apartment with a lovely balcony, full kitchen, washer/dryer and other amenities.This place must be hopping in the summertime and is conveniently located just about 25 minutes from Charleston on a lovely isle. While we arrived late in the afternoon and had to wait for the room and parking, once checked in we had no problems with the facilities. It was a bit chilly for swimming but there was a heated lap pool in one section not far from the golf shop that we did not use. There are several large pools throughout the resort, including behind the hotel. The tennis courts were great for my son and the instruction ranged from good to excellent. We stayed in Charleston for one night but enjoyed this condo/ hotel resort more. There are great plantations to visit not far from here and we took the ferry to Fort Sumter from the Mt. Pleasant side. Shopping malls, a huge Barnes & Noble bookstore, a P.J. Chang and other restaurants and stores within 10 minute driving distance between Mt. Pleasant and the Isle.We ordered breakfast with room service that my son enjoyed and had one dinner on the premises. We mostly relaxed and played tennis. . The beach was clean with beautiful sand and we walked on the beach and boardwalk leading to the beach from the main hotel. Some of the staff were pretty young and inexperienced but they were all cheerful and friendly. We got our money's worth. My teenage son enjoyed it and wants to return. They also had bike rentals which we did not have time for. I enjoyed the privacy in the condo and it was not overcrowded or noisy at all during our stay. The is a casual family friendly resort that is not over the top. We did not use the spa or fitness center. The room was very spacious and comfortable and the bathrooms were clean and spacious as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in a condo complex close to the Hotel. I think we were in the B building near the swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I had a great time, we did the $25 credit toward breakfast daily package and that about covered it every day. Breakfast was awesome, we didn't stay for other meals. I am a big fan of the gulf coast of FL mind you, but this was a unique location to enjoy a chill beach resort, but the interesting city close by to explore. Resort was an excellent value for what we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

2 stays in past 9 months. Boardwalk hm- shabby, dirty, broken, moldy, hole in ceiling. Yuck! Way overpriced for condition! Villages - Nicer, still problems. Staff completely indifferent to service. Avoid

Room Tip: Villages better than boardwalk homes but do not expect resort treatment anywhere on site. You have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AHB-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear AHB-NC,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am terribly sorry to hear that your two stays did not live up to your expectations and that you experienced frustration time and again. This is certainly not indicative of the experience we aim to provide our guests, no matter what accommodation they stay in. Likewise, the unsatisfactory level of service that you experienced while on property is certainly inexcusable and unacceptable. Please accept my sincere apology. I assure you this is well outside of our own internal standards for providing attentive, exceptional service to our guests. While nothing can take back your experience, please trust that I am sharing your valuable feedback with our leadership team. We appreciate your review as it is highly valuable to us for understanding and improvement moving forward. If you have any further comments you would like to share with our team, I invite you to reach out to me directly at ffredericks@destinationhotels.com.
Regards,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at The Boardwalk Inn for a long weekend getaway. Weather was awful (not their fault) but they had basically nothing going on. Half of the facilities were closed, there was no music, no festivities, no anything. The weather wiped everything out, and there seemed to be no effort to make up for it. We ended up spending most of our time in Charleston because there was no shortage of things to do there, and this was just a place to lay our heads at night. Combine that with a mechanical issue that kept us out of our room for half a day then resulted in us having to move (with no offer to compensate or make it up to us at all) and I was underwhelmed. Other aspects of our stay were great. The area is lovely (when it isn't raining), lots of good restaurants close by (the ones on the property were meh) and plenty to do once you drive into Charleston. If the weather is perfect this may be a great place to be. If not, run away. Their cancellation policy is draconian, so check the weather in advance. The lack of a heated pool is also a negative. As is the prices for pretty much everything you may way to buy, and the beds were not particularly comfy.

Having said all of that, the staff, except for the one issue, was very friendly and attentive. The bell hops were particularly good. They do seem to hire nice people and encourage them to be nice. That was really the only highlight of our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view, and try to stay away from the elevators. The walls aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
239 reviews
3 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Isle of Palms
605 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Pa...
#10 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,393 reviews
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt Pleasant
6.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range: £111 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wild Dunes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing