We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I was still there” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wild Dunes Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wish I was still there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Ocean, boardwalk, shops, great food, music, many accommodation choices, bicycle rentals, golf (I don't play) ... What more do you need? We REALLY love this resort and strongly recommend it for couples or family. Eat at their restaurant one night, Sea Island Grill at the Boardwalk Inn, for amazing chef creations; then drive a few miles and check out Acme Lowcountry Kitchen for the best seafood fixins you can get (very fresh seafood at a very reasonable price) ..... YUM

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calle03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Calle03,

We wish you were, too! Thank you kindly for your five-star review of Wild Dunes Resort and for sharing your vacation experience with other fellow travelers. It’s wonderful to read that our many amenities seem to hit the spot when it comes to your vacation style! We also thank you for your thoughtful words about the Sea Island Grill at the Boardwalk Inn and the appreciation for our talented chefs’ creations. I will be sure and pass along your words to our chefs and culinary team! Thank you again for recommending us as a place to stay when visiting Charleston. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!
Best,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director
Wild Dunes Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,751
    868
    439
    243
    161
See reviews for
1,642
908
51
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place in search of a quick last minute weekend vacation. We loved it! It was just me and my husband celebrating my birthday, and I can't wait to take the whole family back! Definitely the best by far place to stay in Isle of Palm. We viewed the rooms at the only other two hotels on the island and there was no comparison! The village surrounding it has restaurants and any sports you would like to take part in, all in walking distance! It was beautiful and clean. Pools were excellent with a poolside bar and grille. There was even organized games for the children! Can't wait to return with my 3 boys!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MomSC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Board Walk Inn located within the Wild Dune Resort. The hotel has very nice amenities, including several pools, a beautiful boardwalk from the hotel to the beach, nice restaurants, and gorgeous views. The staff was very helpful and we loved the breakfast credits included in our promotional rate. We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Donnie, Hope your summer is going well in Tennessee! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your vacation experience at the Boardwalk Inn at Wild Dunes Resort with others. We are glad you enjoyed many features of your visit and had a wonderful overall stay. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, too. A definite plan to return - I’m thrilled to hear that! We look forward to welcoming you back to Wild Dunes Resort in the near future!
All my best,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director
Wild Dunes Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We loved every minute of our stay. We resided in the sirene Shipwatch condo area. Our condo had an awesome view of the ocean right off of the patio. And the private beach was literally in our backyard. Our condo was clean and well stocked. The seemingly endless hot water in the showers was perfect! My husband really liked the provided bath soap. So much that he would like to order some. Lol. The bedding (mattress/pillows) was ohh so comfortable. Bike riding, swimming pools, and workout sessions are just a few of the amenities that were offered. Grocery stores very near bye for convenience. I honestly didn't want to leave. I can't wait for our next visit to Wild Dunes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sizzle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Boardwalk Inn at Wild Dunes in room 406 and loved it. The hotel lobby is elegant with wood floors and comfortable furniture. There is a bike rental close by and easy access to the beach and pools. The only annoying part of the entire trip was that the room key - it was so finicky that it took several attempts to get into the room and a few trips to the front desk to confirm it worked. The elevator is also very slow, but i am not against taking the stairs.

Our room was clean, bright and large. The pillows were not the best, or they could have provided an extra in the room. Breakfast downstairs was delicious, although pricey

I would definitely like to go back and stay with family / extended family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rinmo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear rinmo04, On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your five-star review of Wild Dunes Resort and for taking time to share highlights from your recent stay! We appreciate your comments about the finicky room key as we always welcome the insight from our guests as to how we may improve. It’s wonderful to hear that you’re set on returning to Isle of Palms for a future visit with more family in tow. Please feel free to contact me directly at ffredericks@destinationhotels.com if I may be of any assistance in helping you book future travel plans to Wild Dunes Resort. Until next time….
Best wishes,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director
Wild Dunes Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soddy Daisy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We have made several vacations at Wild Dunes. This time we stayed at 33 Fairway Oaks. The house had not been occupied is a while and took a few hours for the musty smell to go away but otherwise was a great place to stay. Wild Dunes is a top knock resort. The amenities are great. The staff is well trained and always guest focused.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank meb395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Boardwalk Inn at Wild Dunes Resort on Isle of Palms for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We stayed June 1st & June 2nd. The staff treats you like you are royalty. It was a very enjoyable time. I had requested a room with a 'nice view' for our Anniversary, and Wild Dunes, you folks were awesome on delivering! The Resort is done up 'Charleston Style'. There is a boardwalk, that you walk from the Boardwalk Inn down the boardwalk to the Grand Pavilion. You can enjoy the ocean breezes from the pavilion and the food was terrific at the Grand Pavilion! From the Boardwalk Inn, looking out, you have to overlook the Charleston Style Village house roofs to see little glimpses of the Ocean, so you are trying to see through the little alleys and down the boardwalk! The pools directly outside the Boardwalk Inn are reserved for adults from 9am to 5pm which is TERRIFIC, as the children get very loud and noisy as noted in the evening hours! Our biggest disappointment was that there were No Hot Tubs at Wild Dunes Resort, but that was our only disappointment. We ate at the Grand Pavilion for lunch and it was super! We had supper at the Lettered Olive, a bow tie pasta with pesto, cream sauce, olives, and chicken. I was not a fan of the particular dish, but my husband said he liked it. This is a unique resort. The grounds are well maintained and it is a beautiful get-a-way! For folks that enjoy gulf, there are some nice courses at this resort! Thank You Wild Dunes for a Great Anniversary Celebration!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Property: Wild Dunes Resort
Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing