We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend this place”
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Dunes Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aiken,SC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would recommend this place”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent the night on Fathers day. Overall the Boardwalk Inn is very nice. The rooms are fairly spacious. No micro wave in the rooms. No problems with Room keys, but I did ask for more towels and they never arrived , ( that's why I took a star off). The only parking at the hotel is valet parking (complementary). No breakfast is included with the hotel stay. Beach is just 100 yards from property with a very pleasant " side walk" to get in. Safe environment!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,904
    967
    493
    275
    179
See reviews for
1,849
969
56
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Overall the Boardwalk Inn is very nice. The rooms are quite small and the balcony is small (only two people, one chair). No micro wave in the rooms. Room keys and room door locks are terrible and work one time out of five without going to the front desk for rekeying. The front entry to the hotel is narrow and gets very crowded during check in. The only parking at the hotel is valet parking. Otherwise you must park about 150 yards away and haul your luggage to the hotel from the off site parking area. The onsite restaurant looked nice and classy but was very pricey so we never ate in it. Average room rate per night Saturday night thru Wednesday night was around
$ 375.00 (room rate, resort fees, taxes, etc.). No breakfast is included with the hotel stay. Beautiful property, pools and beach with plenty of places to ride bicycles.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east or west get direct sunlight so rooms facing the ocean are a better choice.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel strives to be environmentally proactive with recycle baskets and balcony door controls that shut down the HVAC if the balcony door is not completely closed.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Wesley,
Thank you for sharing details of your recent stay. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our Resort’s location, pools, beach and bike paths during your vacation. Your comments regarding the issues with the room keys and locks are greatly appreciated, as this feedback is most valuable to our leadership, innovation and facility teams to improve the arrival and entry experience for our guests. We apologize that you were unsatisfied with the size of your hotel room and balcony, but hope the highlights of your visit will bring you back for another stay, perhaps in one of our condo or vacation home rentals.
Best,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just returned from our 2nd year in a row at Wild Dunes. Last year, we stayed at a Seagrove condo in September, and were a bit bummed that it got too chilly to make much use of the pools, and was too windy on the beach for my young children. The service was still great, and the resort was beautiful, so we definitely wanted to come back this year during the summer season.

This year, we stayed in a 2BR suite in Village A, and had a fabulous time! The condo was beautiful, beds were comfortable (living room furniture could've been more comfortable to lounge on at night), and kitchen was fully stocked. We've stayed at other beach rentals where "fully stocked kitchen" turned out to mean some old, dirty pans, and a mismatched, random assortment of dishes. In the Village, we had everything we needed, and it all looked nearly brand-new (a good bit of it was even from Crate and Barrel!) :-). The balcony was huge and had a nice view of the Palm Cove pool and the Plaza. Room service and bell service were fantastic and very timely, and housekeeping did a great job. Any time we called the front desk or valet, the people we spoke with were extremely friendly and took care of whatever we needed.

Since we have 2 toddlers, our days consisted of going for a run on the bike paths, then going back on the path for a bike ride, hitting up the Palm Cove pool, returning to the suite for nap-time, then going to the beach in the afternoon. We also went to the onsite market, deli, ice cream shop, and Lettered Olive restaurant.......prices were higher than we would prefer, but it was expected, as it's not a very inexpensive resort. Would love to see drink prices and market prices go down a bit in the future (though not holding my breath for that to happen).

Things we LOVED:
- The constant flow of activities in the Village plaza -- a variety of drop-in crafts for kids, bingo, and a nightly firepit/outdoor movie
- The outstanding service
- The fact that we had enough to do on the resort, so we never had to get the kids in/out of carseats to do stuff off-site
- You never have to walk far for food, drinks, ice cream, or a pool
- Easy (and fun!) to rent bikes at the resort, and utilize the awesome bike paths (and the resort map, which has mileage markers on it)

Things we weren't crazy about:
- Going during summer season is fantastic....but going any other time gets a little boring for kids. We went in September last year, and the weather was good enough to be outside, but too chilly and windy for swimming. The Swim Center pool is apparently heated, but it felt colder than all the other pools. Wish they had an indoor pool, or heated their pools after Labor Day. Also wish some of the family activities continued outside of the summer season (aside from the various holiday activities they have available over major holidays). We ended up doing a lot of stuff in Charleston, off the resort, last September.
- They have a ton of camps/activities/half-day trips available for kids older than 5....but not much for younger ones. My husband and I would've definitely made use of the kayak/paddleboard excursions, if there was a drop-in childcare for the younger kids
- The Palm Cove pool was awesome, but it was really the only pool for little kids (zero-entry, bubbling fountains, baby pool).....so it was quite a bummer when the pool was closed 2 days in a row due to "accidents in the pool." We used the Boardwalk pool one of those days, but it just wasn't nearly as good for little kids (had lots of bigger kids trying to jump around and play catch). A large splash pad with play structures and waterfalls would be SUPREME.

Overall, this is a great resort. If you have kids who aren't in the baby-stage, or if you have no kids, you'll have a great time. It's quiet, beautiful, definitely perfect for older couples or those looking for a romantic getaway. If you're young adults looking to party on the beach, it isn't the place for you......though it's very easy to go into Charleston for a quick trip or to go out at night. We love that you have so many options accessible on the resort, and can't wait til our kids are old enough to go on kayak trips with us. Best suggestion would be a drop-in childcare, so parents can have a nice dinner, or go for a swim without kids for a bit. That being said, my 2 toddlers had a blast and didn't want to leave (and neither did mom or dad).

Room Tip: The Village was the perfect blend of hotel and condo.....all the space of a condo, with the housekee...
See more room tips
Green Features: The $5 food/beverage credit for any night that you give up your housekeeping services was a nice touch.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lrig81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I would have given this resort all 5 stars for overall service but there was a couple of problem. They did get resolved. You won't go wrong staying here. Beautiful place to stay for families and couples.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Januce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Januce,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience, for noting exceptional service and for recommending us for both families and couples. I am sorry to hear that you had a couple problems during your recent stay, but we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for that overall 5-star experience you deserve. Please feel free to contact me directly at ffredericks@destinationhotels.com if you would like to discuss the details of your recent stay or if I may be of any assistance in booking a future return trip to Isle of Palms.

Take care,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

It was our 30th wedding anniversary and we were treated with gifts upon arrival. We had not realized that this place was a resort with many amenities. This place is huge and we just did not have enough time to explore all of the things that they had offered. I loved the beach and spent many hours walking there.....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckles12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Buckles12, Congratulations on 30 years of marriage! Thank you for choosing Wild Dunes Resort as the destination to celebrate your very special occasion. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the little touches and hours spent walking down the beach. We appreciate you being our guest and would love to welcome you back for another visit soon to enjoy even more of our many amenities. Best wishes for a happy year ahead!
Kind regards,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had another opportunity to come to Isle Of Palms for a few days and decided to come back and stay at the Wild Dunes Boardwalk Inn again. From the moment of arriving Monday afternoon to check out Wednesday morning I was greeted with welcoming smiles from every aspect of the staff. Valet drivers, concierge, front desk, restaurant, the person who handed out beach towels, the bartenders at the pavilion, the golf pro at the clubhouse, the tee time starter all were warm and accommodating people.

I've stayed at Wild Dunes several times now and I intend to continue to book my stays with them in the future. Only next time I'm going to bring a dozen more golf balls. The course is brutal if you can't hit the ball straight. ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi there, Matt - How wonderful to have a review from a return guest! On behalf of the entire Wild Dunes Resort team, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with future Charleston and Isle of Palms travelers. I am thrilled you enjoyed your accommodations in the Boardwalk Inn and sincerely thank you for commending our hard working and hospitable team. Our associates are essential to delivering memorable guest experiences and I will be sure and pass along your kind words! There’s nothing better than hearing that you’ll continue to book your stays at Wild Dunes Resort in the future. And just in case, we’ll have a few extra golf balls cleaned and ready for your return to the golf course! We hope to accommodate you many more times again and send our best to you back home in Texas.

Please contact me any time at ffredericks@destinationhotels.com if I may be of any assistance in planning your return visit.

Take care,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director
Wild Dunes Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

For five years, my family rented a house at the Wild Dunes Resort in South Carolina. Accommodation offers much variety as you can stay at The Boardwalk Inn, an apartment, townhouse, beach house (of all sizes), etc. There is lots to do within the resort, such as tennis, swimming, a spa & gym, bike rentals, trail walks, restaurants & shops, golf, and of course beach accessibility. The island is only 20-25 minutes to downtown Charleston, which made it an ideal location: central, while still a relaxing vacation retreat. We loved the beauty of the property, the variety of fun family activities and the great location. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
24.8 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
214 reviews
11.3 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,340 reviews
11.1 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,823 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Pa...
#10 of 24 in Mount Pleasant
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Property: Wild Dunes Resort
Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing