We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect beach vacation spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wild Dunes Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect beach vacation spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was our second visit to Wild Dunes for a long weekend, traveled Wed 8/20 - Sunday 8/24. Last year we rented a condo in Port o Call and decided to give the Village a try. Traveling as a couple, no children. The description online for the Village 1 bedroom appeared to be comparable to the condo options in terms of amenities. Monday prior to Wednesday arrival I sent an email to confirm the Village 1 bedroom included a 'full' kitchen, as described online. I did not receive a response. Unfortunately upon arrival we discovered the room did include a cooktop, microwave and dishwasher, but no actual oven. I had prepared a great deal of food as we did not plan to eat out (mixed reviews on the restaurants online and I am a picky eater). Very upset, we returned to the welcome desk. Thankfully the front desk person (Chris I believe was his name?) was apologetic and went above and beyond to be accommodating. Instead of simply moving us to a basic condo, we were happily moved to a 2 bedroom in Seascape which is beachfront at no additional cost. I also received a follow up call immediately from the GM whom gave his name/number and made sure we were happy with the arrangement.
Seascape is an excellent property and location for us as we were overwhelmed with the amount of people milling around the village area. Our preferred beach vacation is not a 'myrtle beach' type of experience. The beach around Seascape was amazing, not crowded whatsoever. The condo itself was not new by any means but had a nice big kitchen (including oven), comfortable bed (beyond 4 nights might have been tough) and very very clean. I cannot comment on the restaurants/activities but I can provide very positive feedback on customer service and the beach itself which is absolutely beautiful. The erosion that is occurring is a shame but that is nature, not the fault of Wild Dunes property. We will be back to Wild Dunes!

Room Tip: Seascape condos appear to be the best on the entire property
See more room tips
Green Features: Wild Dunes does an excellent job of keeping the beach natural and very clean.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraZepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,751
    868
    439
    244
    161
See reviews for
1,642
909
51
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Wild Dunes did not live up to expectations. Our stay at the hotel was littered with customer service issues that disappointed us and affected our visit in a negative way. For example, we purchased the breakfast package, which allowed us to eat in the hotel restaurant every day. We went yesterday to sit down for breakfast. The restaurant hostess told us they couldn't seat us because they didn't have enough staff. When we came down for breakfast on our first morning, there was no one even to greet us or seat us. I had to ask someone in the front lobby if there was anyone working or if we were even in the right place.

Overall, this is just a sample of the slow and inattentive service we received throughout our stay. It seemed uneven - we did have some nice people help us, but the lasting impression is negative. I am embarrassed since I suggested Wild Dunes. Our experience was not up to the standards of a top-notch hotel. Excellent service and attention to detail set great hotels apart. Wild Dunes did not distinguish itself.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are large with a large bathroom. Made it easy to hold a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacyP4272PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear stacyP4272PS,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay. I am saddened to hear your experience was a negative one and am extremely disappointed in the less than exceptional service you received. We dropped the ball plain and simple and for that, I wholeheartedly apologize. Please know I am reviewing your specific experience with the restaurants leadership team to ensure the reinforcement of our service standards and assure you action will be made so that doesn’t happen again in the future. Thank you again for sharing your review as it helps us understand unique incidents such as yours and make immediate improvements moving forward. If you would like to further discuss any details from your stay, I invite you to reach out to me directly at ffredericks@destinationhotels.com. I hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future to win you over.
Regards,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Trail
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is our 3rd year going to Wild Dunes Resort. Great customer service, accommodations and activities. Kid friendly and relaxing. Highly recommended this for families. Don't miss the beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasandjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We enjoyed every facet of our stay at Wild Dunes Resort!! The staff, bell assistants, and amenities could not have been better! We appreciated the fact that they recycle. Also, we appreciated the three outside pools. We weren't limited to one pool as other places.

Room Tip: higher floors have less a/c unit noise....also if you want to see the beach from your balcony, you n...
See more room tips
Green Features: We loved the fact that they are recycling everything because we do that at home, so we are very comfortable with that.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Lovely, spacious one bedroom apartment in the village provided a great vacation for my family. Wonderful amenities, pool, beach. A bit crowded, which made for long waits for food pool-side, but who can blame families for visiting in droves?! Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACL5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
ACL5678,
Hope things are well back up in Charlotte. Thank you for sharing this review of your 5-star vacation experience at Wild Dunes Resort! I'm so glad to hear that the Village one-bedroom accommodation was the perfect fit for your family. We hope it's not too long until you can head south again for another beach getaway!

Kind regards,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director
Wild Dunes Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We woke up Sunday morning and decided to go to the beach for two nights before school started. Wild dunes had a room available so we packed our car and off we went.

Check in was easy once we figured out which area we were staying in. The staff at checkin is very helpful and accommodating. We stayed in the village rooms and had a great two bedroom hotel type room. Clean and convenient location to the beach.

We had dinner at the lettered olive on property and all was good there. Got sandwiches the next morning at the market for the beach and happy to say they had Boars Head cold cuts :)

We rented chairs and umbrellas and were traveling with a 15 month old. The beach area was well maintained and not overcrowded. We were there on a windy day and the only issue we had was that our umbrella flew away from its post and hit my grandchild in the face, resulting in a big bruise and black eye :(

Only negative comment I have is that the attendant that came, after the people next to us went to tell guest services, seemed to not care about what happened to my grandson, just wanted to know if we wanted the umbrella drilled deeper or closed. We left the beach for the day a little disappointed.

When I got up the next morning and saw my grandsons eye looking worse I decided to tell someone.
I have to say when I went to guest services the supervisor showed genuine concern and apologized for the issue, even credited us for our chair rental.

So all in all we will be back, it's a great place for families.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DotsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, NJ
Level Contributor
192 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This resort complex has it all; it's on the beach, has a hotel, condos and homes for rent, restaurants, fitness centers, pools, 2 Fazio golf courses, huge tennis facility, and is not far from downtown Charleston, SC. It is a great vacation destination option for couples and families with children of all ages. We have teen boys and they had a blast. We thought the service, from check in through check out was exceptional. The concierge helped us schedule and change (multiple times) our activities and reservations (Tip: book the best restaurants and excursions BEFORE you arrive they fill up early, especially jet ski, fishing with better captains and the better restaurants (FIG, SNOB, Husk).

You won't be disappointed (unless you are looking for high end luxury). This is a great resort with lots of things to do.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Madison_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Property: Wild Dunes Resort
Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing