We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Local, Southern Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Boathouse

Boathouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Boathouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Breach Inlet
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Local, Southern Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I laugh reading some of these reviews. This is a seafood restaurant, specializing in local South Carolina seafood. It is not meant to be fancy and if you ordered Alaskan King Crabs or Maine Lobster and were disappointed...I have no sympathy for you. For those of us that love fresh, LOCAL, Southern seafood, the Boathouse will not disappoint. The fried shrimp are simple but perfectly battered and cooked. The hushpuppies are absolutely delicious and the bleu cheese coleslaw is wonderful. The rest of my table had the fish specials, seafood fettucine, pan-seared scallops and shrimp and grits, all with good reviews. The collard greens especially got rave reviews. Service was perfect and we had a group of 12. Drinks up at the upper level bar near sunset with fab views of Breach Inlet and the marsh is a must.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebbieS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    215
    123
    67
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Allentown/Lehigh Valley
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What More Can You Want From a Seaside Seafood Restaurant?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just returned from yet another great Boathouse experience. Time after time it always delivers. Simple, fresh, yet elegant and flavor-filled cuisine. (I had a wonderful blackened tuna - everyone else in our party raved about their meals - mussels, swordfish, scallops, lobster, steak and the to-die-for mac and cheese). Abundant choices. Great drinks and draft beer selection. Friendly, southern service - makes you feel welcomed like a "local". Beautiful location between Isle of Palms and Sullivans with the preferred seating in a great screened room overlooking the boats and inlets with jumping porpoises usually adding to the view. Have a drink in the Crow's Nest where you can see the ocean, marsh and intercoastal and be served by engaging bartenders like Wally. They have also expanded their downstairs water-side bar area. This is a "can't miss" if you are looking for East island Charleston water-side seafood dining - way, way beyond fried shrimp.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pkrajsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Boathouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife and daughter loved it. I am not a sea food person. The seafood was great and the chicken was acceptable

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go for a drink to catch the view..but not for dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great view of sunset. I was disappointed in food especially for the price. My fish was rubbery. I got it because of the special sauce and I think they gave me 1 teaspoon of it. Bread doesn't even come with the meal. Good service though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank candy30087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, poor ambience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent place to eat. The food was fantastic and service super. The only major drawback is that it's very very very tight in the dinning area. Even the staff has problems getting around. The tables extremely close. For a four star restaurant the dinning room is more like two star. I would only go for the food,if I had no other choice. A person should be able to dine in comfort without the guests at the next table banging chairs into my wife or the waiter having to turn aside ways just to walk to our table. I should not need to feel like I am navigating through a city maze just to get out or go to the restroom.

But the food was great and service. For two people expect to spend at least $100.00 for the feeling of being packed into an an overstuffed room eating great food. But glad when it's over.

I wish I could rate it higher, but the ambience pulled the rating down

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 65940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boathouse also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing