We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Day At Sea”

Captain Jack's Kiawah Sailing and Dolphin Watching
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Great Day At Sea”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We went on a 3 hour tour with Captain Jack on the Palmetto Tide and it was awesome. The Captain was very informative and we saw tons of Dolphins. It was a very relaxing sail. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank erikjp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful and majestic day on the sea.”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Captain Jack took us on a wonderful trip on a perfect day. He was very amusing and knowledgeable of the area. The captain knew the exact spot to find dolphins that were eager to strut their stuff. It was an experience like no other on a very peaceful, quiet, desolate bay.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank carguy_z28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintersville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great day of memories!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My family recently sailed with Captain Jack and we had an awesome day. We booked a 5 hour picnic tour to shell island. Captain Jack showed us all the sights along the way and was very knowledgeable about the area. The dolphins put on a great show for us too. Captain Jack was very accommodating and a pleasure to spend the day with. While sitting in the front of the boat with my 2 children, my six year old son turned to me and said, "mama, this is amazing." Everyone had a great time. My mom, my children and I ventured to shell island and the fellas stayed on the boat and lunched with Captain Jack. What a wonderful day and one of the highlights of our trip. Amazing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hayes2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sailing Lessons With Captain Jack”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I had an excellent and informative session with Captain Jack. The trip was as "hands on" as we wanted, and we learned so much about sailing. Captain Jack was flexible, professional, and patient in the face of our many questions. If you want a great day on the water, whether sailing, dolphin watching, or fishing, we are sure you would have a great time with Captain Jack.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ahoy! Sailing and dolphins with Captain Jack!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My best friend, my four year old twins and I boarded Captain Jack's Palmetto Tide mid-week just before July 4 holiday. After many stressful, travel related issues, Jack was a kind, hospitable, professional. He gave us a little geographical layout, talked about dolphins and his sailing experience all while sailing the boat.

My kids had never been on a boat before and were very curious, if not slightly mischievous. My best friend is afraid if water. Captain Jack was very gracious and quickly put everyone at ease.

The wind was perfect. We did a tack and on our way back to the marina saw several dolphins playing, then strand feeding. What a truly delightful memory!

This was, hands down, the very best part of our trip. Everyone should experience sailing and dolphin viewing, in this way.


Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Giselle1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Jack's Kiawah Sailing and Dolphin Watching also viewed

Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Seabrook Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Captain Jack's Kiawah Sailing and Dolphin Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing