We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honey Moon under the Full Moon”
Review of Assiniboine Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Assiniboine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

After being re married at Lake O'Hara this August, we travelled to the Mt Shark heliport for the exciting heli trip into Mt Assiniboine Lodge for our two night / three day honeymoon. Two friends, Pierre and Kelly Lee from Ontario, joined us at Lake O'Hara and Mt Assiniboine Lodge and Provincial Park.

Having riden helicopters many times in the past, it was exciting for me to see this 8 minute flight through Margaret's neophyte helicopter eyes. Exciting, fast and safe, it was GREAT ! The support staff at both ends of the flight were well prepared and well versed in the needs of both the guests and the safety of the flight crew.
It just so happened, that the official Reopening of the Lodge, was occuring just after we arrived so we were able to listen to interesting speakers and stories of the history of the lodge over the last 100 years or so. The new leasees are the third in the long family line of operators.

The entire lodge has been revamped by Parks BC over the last year. Moving the lodging part, refurbishing the logs in both the main building and the residents' building and then putting the entire complex on a firm foundation. They did a great job. The place is like new after decades of use. Aaaand, they have a composting toilet for your use and enjoyment.

We spent three days hiking, viewing landscapes, walking high ridges and low meadows on well defined trails that are very well signposted and distance set on the signs. The wild flowers were profuse and vivid. They were everywhere.
In a word, especially for families, and even with little people of 4 or 5 years in age, this a great place. If you are into high mtn pitons and death defying drops, you can do that activitiy. If you want meadow walks and meadow flowers, you can do that and/or walk the ridges either guided or non guided day trips.

Our foursome went out to Windy Ridge for the full day hike. I chose to walk into Og Pass and into the adjacent National Park only to find on my return, that the area was / is Restricted access due to Grizzly activity. Oops. But no signs off trail to indicate any such restrictions.
I was very fortunate to find, laying in the heather and sedge grasses, a 40 lb rock with approximately 35 or 40 fossiles protruding from the rock. It is the most amazing fossil rock I have ever found in some serious hunting in BC / Alberta and the NWT's.
After a 6.5 km carry back to the Lodge, I learned that such rocks cannot be removed from Provincial Parks. News to me, so I donated the fossil rock to the Assiniboine Lodge folks who now have it settled over the fire place mantel in the dining room. Check it out, it's still in the provincial park.
The huts adjacent to the Lodge are wonderful for greater privacy than the lodge rooms. And then, if you don't want the "Lodge / hut " experieince, you can check out the Nissan Huts. $25 / person / day, a common cooking cabin very well stocked and you can fly in and out, your gear and your feet if you choose. Great for families and little folks as well.

Margaret and Kelly Lee walked out through Wonder Pass and down past Marvel Lake back to the parking lot. But . . . it was the wrong parking lot, The heliport was another 2 km further, and up hill. Ooops and ouch after about the previous 25 km walk out.

All in all, a very great experience for our 2nd time around honeymoom under the full moom those nights as well.
What a life.

Room Tip: A suggestion for you the traveller, if you had a film camera, take lots and lots of film. Since we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

This place is a rare gem of hospitality and location. The same family has been running it for over 20 years and possesses the knowledge and lore of the location to provide guests with amazing hospitality and a very fine outdoor experience. I have been here multiple times and my family has partaken in its splendor since it opened. Bring your boots, your walking sticks (or skis if in winter) and your passions for great vistas, wildlife, wild flowers and wild tranquility.

The Internet wifi is lousy because, thankfully, there is none - and no cell coverage either. Electricity to charge your devices is available only in the lodge.

If you don't enjoy the outdoors and don't tolerate the privations of the wilderness, don't consider this place. Leave it for those who do.

Room Tip: The walls in the lodge rooms are very thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ShodoSho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My wife and I spent 3days/2nights recently at the Mt. Assiniboine Lodge in British Columbia. The entire experience was exhilarating. Starting with the helicopter flight in from Canmore, Alberta, the views passing over numerous peaks and valleys was breathtaking leading to a thrilling landing on a helo pad high in the Canadian Rockies. We were escorted from the pad by one of the lodge staff while our luggage was transported to our room. The lodge has several rooms in a main building and several out cabins - we chose to stay in one of the cabins. Couldn't have made a better choice. The main building also houses the dining area where breakfast and dinner are served daily and a buffet is set up for making lunches. Our cabin was outstanding - a large, somewhat primitive, one room log cottage with a comfortable queen-sized bed and a twin. Only cold water is available in the cabin but a shower/sauna building with hot water is nearby. Hot water is brought in a bucket to the cabin every morning as well. The meals served in the dining area were superb, even more so considering the challenge of cooking in such a remote environment. The lunch buffet was substantial. No one goes away hungry. By far, the most impressive part of the experience was the opportunity to experience the amazing rugged scenery and wildlife that surrounds the lodge. Impossible to describe in words, hopefully the attached photos help. Lots of hikes available for hikers of any ability from strolls through meadows to scrambles up steep mountain slopes. Good fishing in the area as well. The staff was fabulous and each day, guided hikes are offered for those unaccustomed to the area. All in all, if your looking for an unusual adventure, somewhat rustic but with some very sophisticated touches, not to mention a wild ride in and out via helicopter, this is the trip to do.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cheber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We spent 3 nights at Assiniboine Lodge. This was our second trip there. The Renners who manage the lodge our amazing. Everything is so well organized and their knowledge of the mountains, the flora, fauna and history is second to none. This is truly a jewel of the Canadian Rockies.

The food at the lodge was great. There is not a selective menu, rather incredible food is brought out on platters for the tables. After a day of hiking everything was excellent. If you want lots of choice on a menu than stay in Calgary.

This time we stayed in a cabin. What a great experience! Eash cabin has a sink with cold, and I mean cold, water. The bathroom is an outhouse. This said warm showers are available in the shower building which also has a sauna. None of this was an issue and infact added to the whole experience.

I understand that next summer the lodge will not be open due to the need to renovate portions of it. This is a real loss as I think we will becoem annual visitors to Assiniboine Lodge.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Travellingfamily287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We spent 3 nights in Mount Assiniboine Lodge and 2 nights in one of the private cabins. Sepp, Barb, Andre and the staff did an amazing job with the fantastic food, incredible guided hikes and making us feel like family in this world class locale. If it is a once in a lifetime opportunity or an annual retreat, here is a place everyone should experience!
There will be many fond memories of waking up to a gourmet breakfast, packing your custom lunch for the day out hiking, returning for an afternoon tea and sauna before an exquisitely prepared supper and later retiring to a snug and cozy log cabin, a bottle of wine in hand with these incredible mountains as the back drop.

What an experience!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LIVET0LOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed at the lodge August 23rd for 3 nights. The minute I stepped off the helicopter I knew this was a special place. We stayed in a lodge room (Glacier Lily) which was small with a double bed but was adequate for the two of us. The room was clean and there was a hot/cold water sink outside our room and a shower and flush toilet downstairs. However, the next time I visit, I will stay in one of the cabins as they are much bigger and the views from the porch are incredible. The lodge rooms can be a little noisy as the walls are very very thin. Most of the lodge guests were sleeping by 10am and up by 7am for breakfast at 8am. The cabins have only cold running water and a walk to the central shower house which was spotless and a separate outhouse. The weather was perfect, the food and staff were excellent. We went on two easy/moderate hikes with the same guide on both days. We hiked to Wonder Pass and view and the next day hiked to Nublet and around Elizabeth Lake. We had an opportunity to speak with Sepp and he said that the lodge will close for the 2011 season for renovation (logs rotting) and reopen in 2012 with electricity. They were building a hydro plant near the lake when we were there. I'm not sure I agree with putting in electric as this is supposed to be a backcountry lodge and it might take away from the charm. Overall we had a wonderful time and plan to return. If you have any questions, please contact me.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank decoydonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We were unable to book into the lodge but booked into the huts nearby. It was truly a memorable experience. The accomodation is rustic, like going back to another era. The view from the lodge deck is of Mount Assiniboine. The casual atmosphere in the lodge encourages all visitors to meet and socialize. Talk centres around hiking and wildlife sightings of the day. Although we did our own cooking in the huts, the cookhouse was well equipped, clean, well maintained with large pine tables and a great place to meet fellow hikers. Joe, the resident caretaker, is around frequently to answer questions and address any problems. We went for "tea" at the lodge each day while visiting, The lodge offers tea or lemonade (but not coffee) and cake plus beer or wine from 4:00-5:00 PM. You can also purchase bottles of wine to accompany your camp dinner. Prices are high, similar to buying at a restaurant, but saves you from carrying in heavy bottles if you are hiking in. If you stay in the huts, I would suggest bringing a battery operated lantern. The huts are very dark inside, even in the daytime. Some of the huts have overhangs on the porches to protect from the rain, but the one we stayed in did not. During the rain, it would have been great to go into the hut to play cards, but it was too dark to see. The cookhouse was packed with a large group who were hosting a birthday party and it made it difficult to enjoy our game. There was a wood burn stove in the huts and you can buy logs from the lodge to warm up the hut. Please know that the huts sleep 8 people so you never know who you will be sleeping with. After 3 nights in the hut, we went to the campground and I would recommend this. The sites are widely spaced, with plenty of space for each site. The newly constructed cook shelter made of large wood timbers is constructed as in earlier days. It was easy to find a site near an outhouse, water tap and the cook shelter. Many of the sites had terrific mountain views. The campground is about 2 kilometres from the lodge and there are 2 routes to get to it. We took the helicopter in and out and things were well organized with little waiting around to catch your flight. If you prefer to hike out, the helicopter can take your stuff so that you hike with a lighter load. This is one of the best hiking experiences I have had. 3 outstanding hikes in 3 days with plenty of options for the hard core hiker or the person who prefers a short walk. The staff at the lodge are helpful and greet all visitors as though they are an old friend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KatydidCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Assiniboine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assiniboine Lodge

Address: 56 Lincoln Park, Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park, British Columbia T1W 2T8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Price Range: £93 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Assiniboine Lodge is Canada's first backcountry ski lodge that has kept its historic charm. It is set in a remote mountain setting amongst some of the world's most spectacular peaks. Mt. Assiniboine is the lodge's sentinel, watching over all who venture to this remarkable place. Known as the Matterhorn of the Canadian Rockies, Mt. Assiniboine is the highest point in the area. Whether you are skiing, snowshoeing, hiking, walking or simply taking in the majesty of this place, we will ensure your time here is a luxurious escape. No phones, no flat screens, no connectivity. Simply you and nature. We look forward to welcoming you to this magical place we are so lucky to call HOME!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Assiniboine Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing