We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We traveled to the island in early Aug with a teenager. we arrived at the hotel after a long travel day to find out out room was upgraded. We found the staff to be courteous, the food delicious the pool and beach areas were amazing!
this was a very relaxing trip. Local transportation was included with your stay to neighboring sites . This was an outstanding experience!!!!!!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank campparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    148
    59
    24
    18
See reviews for
300
548
10
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed there in the last week of July 2010. We're from Europe and have stayed in many top European grand hotels over the years, so know a bit about what good service should look like. You will be hard pushed to find anywhere that exceeds this hotel in location, service, facilities, staff training, cleanliness, room quality and sheer atmosphere. It is often intangible things that mark out a good hotel from a great one, and this hotel is great. Every single member of staff we encountered was trained to the highest standard, and provided their service without fuss, and without letting you know they are trying.

The hotel itself is spotless and beautiful, tastefully decorated and beautifully maintained. The rooms (we had sea-facing rooms) are very generous, fabulous beds and excellent large bathrooms with Elemis consumables - always a good sign!

All the facilities are designed for ease of use. There's a great fitness centre and spa faciliy, it's just a short walk to a fabulous beach where the hotel staff supply loungers with soft mattresses, overlaid with fitted towelling. You feel like you are being tucked up in bed for the day. The pool-side service is first rate, with a great menu, and constant but not overbearing attention from the pool staff. There are 3 pools.

There's a resort shuttle that will take you anywhere on the Island almost on demand, and you have a wide choice of restaurants which are affiliated to the hotel. Teenagers are well-provided for, with all sorts of activities throughout the day.

In short, if you want a beach side golf resort hotel, you won't get any better than this.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rooinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

This is simply the best and nicest hotel that my wife and I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. The rooms are beautiful and large, and ours had an ocean view. The hotel is unbelievable and the grounds are immaculate. The beach is very nice as well. The staff is truly 5-star and they cater to your every request. We felt like special dignitaries during our entire visit. The restaurants (especially Jasmine Porch) were all top quality and are just as good, if not better, than the best restaurants in nearby Charleston. If you are coming anywhere near Charleston or Kiawah, staying at the Sacntuary is the best decision you could possibly make and will guarantee a great visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed at The Sanctuary in June for several nights and found the hotel to be spectacular! We went for mostly a relaxing getaway and this hotel was perfect for that as there is not much else to do on the Island other than golf.

Hotel is gorgeous! Every place we dined on Kiawah was fabulous. We chose to stay in less expensive room because we are never in the room! Beds were super comfy, breakfast buffet was included and was delicious! Pool is small but was fine. Someone was constantly walking around to take drink/food orders or bring you ice water.

Service was TOP NOTCH in every aspect and every where on the property. We are seasoned travelers and I would rank the service right up there with Ritz Carlton. I couldn't find one complaint with this hotel. If you are looking for Good food, Great service and a place to relax...The Sanctuary has it all!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triplover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

i go to golf resorts. i tend to look for the best golf resorts. this is a fabulous hotel. very attentive service. beautiful hotel. my wife, who is a bit particular [understatement], rates this hotel just behind the four seasons on maui and linae; and ahead of the ritz carlton at kapalua.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwmjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Even though we are not golfers, we wanted a relaxing stay "away from it all" and found The Sanctuary online. The drive-up appeal was very nice, but even better upon entering. Large, open entry hall with open seating overlooking the beach. Grand staircase to both sides, left and right. We found all employees from bellmen to front desk to wait staff to concierge all friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 5th floor wing ocean view. Unbelieveable view and ammenities. The only criticisms we had for the entire stay involved the room itself. It seemed the air conditioning was not as strong as it could have been. For the price of the room, I would have expected to be able to hang meat or at the very least see your breath if you had wanted to cool down the room. We turned the thermostat down to 60 and the fan on "hi" but did not get much relief. Somewhat better at night, but disappointing. The second area was the balcony chairs. For the 3 center rooms on the two wings of the hotel the balcony is a very nice size with wonderful views, but the railing is made of concrete pillars. Unfortunuately sitting the two chairs provided, the balcony is too high to enjoy the ocean view. The two "end room" on each wing more than likely do not have this problem due to the fact that those railings are metal. Therefore not as high nor "thick". We had stayed previously at the Harbour View Hotel in downtown Charleston in one of the penthouse rooms overlooking the harbor. Even though the balcony was much smaller, they provided the bar stool-type chairs that allowed for much better viewing. A nice little extra touch. This is a very minor issue since there are only 18 rooms that have this view. But for the price, one would think it would be nice to enjoy the view. But we would most certainly return. A wonderful relaxing environment.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viper45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

I came here on a conference but this place is probably one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at. It reminds me of the Four Seasons in Maui. Superb service and rooms were beautiful. Beach and pool service were also amazing. It was relaxing from the second we walked in and just has such beauitful views. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Property: The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Five Star/ Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly island in the U.S. It features five golf courses including The Ocean Course, site of the 2012 PGA Championship. Tennis magazine ranks it as America's No. 3 tennis resorts and it has one of the top-ranked beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Sanctuary Hotel Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Hotel At Kiawah Island Golf Resort South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing