We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay at 4693 Tennis Club Villa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay at 4693 Tennis Club Villa”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We lucked out. My family (6 adults and 3 young children) stayed 3 days at this well appointed villa that looked newly renovated. There was no ocean view, but we really enjoyed the screened porch overlooking a tranquil pond. Even the children were impressed with the villa, and commented that "it's pretty." My sister was attending a conference so we got a very nice rate on the villa. I think it would be much more expensive later in the season, too.

The kitchen made it very easy to cook...plenty of dishes, cooking pots, utensils, etc. Some of the cups were brand new with price stickers still on them. Hotel style drip coffee included, but no other condiments. Since we had planned to cook here, we brought everything including salt, oil, sugar, etc. Dishwasher was great; detergent tablets included. The tap water had a slight taste; it's normal (we used to live in Charleston 20 years ago). For this trip, we brought bottled water.

House cleaning service was included! Overall the customer service was excellent. Easy check in. Very responsive with calls and questions.

The Shuttle services were very friendly and convenient, although we also drove around in our cars because the children needed car seats. It was easy driving to the Night Heron Park where there were plenty of parking spaces. The beach was an easy 10 min walk, but with 2-year-old children, it was more like 20 min trek while carrying lots of beach toys in bulky bags. The next day we used the shuttle service.

The living room was comfortable and child-friendly, but the dining room had a table with a rather sharp cornered glass top. Each of the 3 bedrooms had its own bathroom, which was great. The mattresses had squeaky springs and not very comfy; it was OK for a short stay. Also, for bedrooms/bathroom doors there were press-button privacy locks, which our 2-year-olds quickly learned to press the locks, step out, and pull the doors shut! Good thing that those doors were easy to pick with a pointy tool. I must admit that these were nitpicking complaints, or more like, suggestions for improvement. We really had a great time staying here and would love to come back to the exact same villa if we could.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HopHopBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    39
    23
    9
    15
See reviews for
63
40
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kanssas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Turtle Cove villa and it was beautiful! Lovely decor, spacious, and great view of lagoon and golf course. The deck allowed us a great place to sit to watch the waterfowl and golfers. Thoroughly enjoyed the villa and the island. Kiawah is spectacularly beautiful. Staff at resort is top rate.
The villas are each privately owned and managed by resort ( or outside companies or vrbo). So it's worth your time to review website and talk to reservations to find what you want. So reviews that mentions Akers-Ellis or VRBO didn't actually stay with resort! I looked at several online before speaking with reservations staff. So was very happy with my choice.
Also anyone who mentions roaches isn't familiar with palmetto bugs....they're just part of SC. Our experience has been to see 1 or 2 (often dead) throughout entire stay. But the island is part of a nature conservancy in a subtropical climate.....you'll see pelicans, terns, herons, ducks, deer, squirrels, alligators, and the occasional bug. Tiny price to pay for all of the natural beauty.
So do your homework then relax and enjoy this lovely island and resort!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the tennis villa 4743. It was a last minute problem with our dog sitter, and the Sanctuary moved our reservation to a villa that allowed dogs, so nice of them! No fee or fine for late changes. We wanted the fancy of the Sanctuary (which was beautiful for New Year's Eve celebration), so at first the utilitarian apartment was disappointing. It grew on me. Clean, firm mattressed, king size bedroom plus nice double twins for our daughter.....and the pooch was happy. Close to the Sanctuary and shuttles get you all over. Restaurants very good.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissymahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drgolfermd
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at WEST BEACH(furthest away from the Sanctuary)- #3624 Seaside Villas for a weekend golf getaway. The 1 bedroom lower level was very basic and not the cleanest place unfortunately. The unit was very dark and gloomy..almost made it uncomfortable to stay there. No view except for the road..It was very quiet because it was during low season. Fortunately, we were out and about with amazing golf, strolls on the beach and dinners at the sanctuary! The bed was horrible..there was the thick foam "mattress" on top of a mattress that did not even fit the size of the bed so your pillows would fall into the large gap. The bathroom was grimey with poor water pressure.

The golf was spectacular...We only played Ocean and Turtle Point. Ocean Course was magical...with the fresh ocean air...varied and interesting layout...great shape of the greens and fairways...the guy that checked us in at the clubhouse had a bit of an attitude and the caddie was sneaking alcohol and smoking..not pleasant. it didn't matter because the experience was amazing!!!

Turtle Point was a nice course...some lagoon water holes...3 ocean holes(14-16)..completely empty which was soo nice. it's a good shape..the staff were all so friendly.

I can't wait to check out the other courses and replay the OCEAN COURSE!!!

As for the Sanctuary Hotel--- we will definitely be staying at the hotel next time around(although we have a little pug so might have to stay in a nicer villa). The main restaurant impressed, and i've eaten ALL AROUND THE WORLD..including French Laundry(it's NOT french laundry as nothing compres...but...The service was wonderful(except the dishes were served very slowly..not sure why because the place was not full)..but what a treat..the filet mignon melted in your mouth...the trout cooked to perfection...the "cheesecake" stripped down was wonderful.. etc etc. the fixed menu with wine pairings is the way to go. in addition, the valet guys were awesome both nights at the sanctuary...they baby sat our pug in the car..5++++ for that!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drgolfermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed in the Windswept villas, the proximity to the beautiful beach is amazing. Everything is very convenient, the pool, bike paths and town center are all great. The only problem is that not all the villas have been updated to the same extent so choose wisely. Regardless I would definitely recommend it, I loved it and can't wait to get back

Room Tip: Check out the Kiawah Island website and you can look at picture of the individual villas - it's...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallGirlBigWorld11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at Shipwatch Villas, #2369. These are all privately owned and rented out through the resort, so each villa will be slightly different from its neighbors. Ours was on the third floor (of four) which allowed a great oceanview. It's a two minute walk to the beach via a boardwalk over a dune area that didn't obstruct the view. First floor units might have difficulty seeing the water over the dunes, however. The elevators are fast and rarely shared with other guests.

Our furnishings were of reasonable quality--a very comfortable bed, a serviceable kitchen, a great bathroom with twin sinks and a nice shower. Lighting is adequate, especially with the windows open. Very private. The ocean views were perfect out both the living room windows and the sliding door/terrace off the bedroom. We saw deer playing on the beach. We walked the beach and found a nice assortment of shells. We did not see any palmetto bugs (first weekend in Nov.), and only a couple of flies. This is probably not the best family vacation spot for small children, but a great adult destination. And a golfer's paradise.

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor villa if you want to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Kiawah Island is a perfect vacation spot for visitors to Charleston or residents. Beautiful golf courses, scenery, beaches, walking/hiking trails. Fabulous restaurants and wonderful villa's for the entire family. Loved that they provided resort transportation for guests where ever you needed to go. Every employee that I had the opportunity to come in contact was nothing short of exemplarily - they know what customer service is all about. They are informative & friendly. This resort is pure Charleston and I highly recommend it for a short weekend or a week long family retreat or business conference. Charleston at it's best!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsimonsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
1.8 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
1.9 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
453 reviews
11.4 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
226 reviews
17.1 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,186 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
#3 of 3 in Kiawah Island
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts

Property: Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts
Address: 12 Kiawah Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kiawah Island
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Kiawah Island Hotel Kiawah Island
Villas At Kiawah Island Resorts South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing