We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meet your Meat”
Review of Brown's Bar-B-Que

Brown's Bar-B-Que
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Kingstree
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meet your Meat”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and family always go to this spot when they come to Kingstree. I don't eat meat but I've heard its very tasty and satisfying !!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TRod76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home cooked, fresh and delicious”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Just stopped at Browns Bar-B-Que north of Kingstree on highway 52. We're en route to Charleston from Charlotte, picked a back country route as a change from the interstate. Delicious, freshly cooked, southern food in abundance, all you can eat for around $12 a head with a side plate of salad from the salad bar. We had pulled pork, meat loaf and lots of other choice savouries. The lunch deal includes soft drinks and a choice of white cake, carrot cake or scrummy pecan pie. Open for lunch every day and dinner Weds thru Sat. Take your fill of wholesome, authentic, homemade, not fancy, but friendly southern fare.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple Hills, Maryland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good Food.”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Very good food everytime we go here. A large clean eating area, lots of parking, and they serve buffet style. Their BBQ is the best with that slightly tart flavor, tender and tasty. My husband had their fried chicken and it looked very good, he enjoyed it. Greens, mashed potatoes and banana pudding were great, and the staff is always friendly and helpful. We go to SC 3 times a year, pass here everytime, and try to stop by at least 2 times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank timecop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Brown's is consistently good food. Staff are very friendly and helpful, amazing they have such a good attitude when you consider the number of people they serve each day. Real low country BBQ

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lowcountry88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island SC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

An ongoing search for SC's best bbq led us to Brown's in Kingstree. They have been around for quite awhile and are widely known throughout the PeeDee and upper coastal areas of SC. Their bbq is the vinegar and red pepper sauce, common in this part of SC and eastern NC. Consistent with this area's custom, the bbq is served primarily as part of a buffet. They apparently have a menu but we never saw one, and everyone there was either eating from the buffet or preparing a take-out box. The restaurant is simple, with plenty of seating.

The main event - the bbq - was tender, moist and tasty. This style of bbq can get over-the-top spicy, but Brown's was pleasantly mild, with enough kick to keep it interesting. There was a good mix of outer bark in the bbq, but no hint of any smoky taste or smoke ring on the meat. I take them at their word that it is cooked over wood, but you couldn't tell it from what I ate. Still, the bbq was very good and worth the trip. Their fried chicken was also delicious and a welcome addition to the buffet. My wife tried their sliced pork, and thought it was good, although once again, there was no hint of smoked flavor or a smoke ring on the slices, assuming it was prepared in an oven.

Unfortunately, we thought the rest of the buffet was weak. Their mac and cheese had been recommended, but we found it to be runny and lacking much flavor. The yams had a shape resembling a can, which is a sin in this part of the world, where many farmers grow sweet potatoes. I enjoyed their pileau, which had good chunks of both chicken and sausage. The buffet also included a selection of desserts, which were just average.

If we find ourselves in Kingstree again, I'd stop by just for the bbq, but I wouldn't drive an hour each way again to eat it. If you love good bbq and not worried about the other frills that go with it, Brown's is worth checking out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PawleysDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brown's Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Brown's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing