We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ribs I've EVER had period !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brown's Bar-B-Que

Brown's Bar-B-Que
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Kingstree
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Best ribs I've EVER had period !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Every time I was near Kingstree or Lake City S Carolina I make it a point to leave with a large carry out of ribs . The vinegar base is the best I've ever found - of course the recipe is a "family" secret - Don't ask for it - I did ! Great people .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DownSouth503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meet your Meat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and family always go to this spot when they come to Kingstree. I don't eat meat but I've heard its very tasty and satisfying !!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TRod76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home cooked, fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Just stopped at Browns Bar-B-Que north of Kingstree on highway 52. We're en route to Charleston from Charlotte, picked a back country route as a change from the interstate. Delicious, freshly cooked, southern food in abundance, all you can eat for around $12 a head with a side plate of salad from the salad bar. We had pulled pork, meat loaf and lots of other choice savouries. The lunch deal includes soft drinks and a choice of white cake, carrot cake or scrummy pecan pie. Open for lunch every day and dinner Weds thru Sat. Take your fill of wholesome, authentic, homemade, not fancy, but friendly southern fare.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple Hills, Maryland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good Food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Very good food everytime we go here. A large clean eating area, lots of parking, and they serve buffet style. Their BBQ is the best with that slightly tart flavor, tender and tasty. My husband had their fried chicken and it looked very good, he enjoyed it. Greens, mashed potatoes and banana pudding were great, and the staff is always friendly and helpful. We go to SC 3 times a year, pass here everytime, and try to stop by at least 2 times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank timecop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Brown's is consistently good food. Staff are very friendly and helpful, amazing they have such a good attitude when you consider the number of people they serve each day. Real low country BBQ

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lowcountry88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brown's Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Brown's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing