We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Southern Mansion”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilburnie, the Inn at Craig Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Waxhaw, North Carolina
1 review
“Exquisite Southern Mansion”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

"Beautifully restored mansion in open country with all modern amenities but authentic historic southern charm. My wife and I have stayed in B&Bs in England, Scotland, Italy, Spain, and France and Kilburnie Inn is by far the hign point. The owner/host is most genial and has impeccably decorated Kilburnie. We didn't want to leave."

Martin & Anamaria Hogue
Sonoma County, California

P.S. Perfect place, perfect host, perfect time! C. Waltz (tag-along relative)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAARS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
29
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We can wholeheartedly support previous reviews! It was just great to stay at this wonderful place, shame we live so far away, which makes it difficult to return anytime soon ... and we would love to do so! Johannes is a great host, outstanding breakfeast - we really felt a bit like in paradise. Thank you so much - we'll keep best memories!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elki_Pepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Kilburnie, the Inn at Craig Farm, is without doubt the finest B&B we have ever experienced, and we have been in very many! The setting, home and rooms, the food, and, most importantly, the Inkeeper Johannes, all combine to give an exceptional experience. There are just no other words to use. If you only ever go to just one B&B, stay there!
COL and Mrs. B. Hayward

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLONEL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

After a splendid one night stay last year, we came back for two nights.

Having spent a few days driving, and staying in (albeit very good) chain hotels, Kilburnie has a very magical feel.

It was just as nice this second time, and we had time to enjoy the area. A walk in the woods, and a tour of some of the farm gave a better idea of the estate. Due to a heat wave (90F+) it was also just enjoyable to sit on the balcony or in the comfy sitting room.

I think next year will be two nights as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_East_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We sought reasonably priced, comfortable lodging, close to our business destination. To our great surprise, we found this historical gem in the midst of gorgeous countryside, and the penultimate innkeeper, Johannes. We stayed an extra day to enjoy the wonder. You must stay here, whether on business, on the road to another destination, for a romantic getaway, or for another special occasion. There are trails from the inn through the adjacent countryside that are particularly spectacular with fall leaves this time of year. If you wish (and you should), Johannes will give you a fascinating history and tour of Kilburnie and Craig Farm. While serving a scrumptuous breakfast he has prepared himself, he will also share his personal life achievements, adventures and plans.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SevenContinents16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

I wanted a nights accomodation near Lancaster in the middle of a 675 mile drive. Normally I chose a Best Western or equivalent, but could not find one the area that I liked the look of. Kilburnie was in the correct location and we thought, even though it is a bit more expensive than our normal $100 rate, it looked nice.

We arrived about 6pm, the welcome was warm, and we had a tour of the house. Everything was perfect and the website cannot do the place justice. The rooms are beautiful, the bathroom pure luxury and the setting perfect. As we had had a large lunch we decided to have a picnic on the balcony, outside our room. It was like being royal guests for the night.

Breakfast in english B&Bs is normally very good. This breakfast was exceptional in both cooking and presentation.

We left 15 hours after arriving. We talked about the experience a lot over the next 6 hour drive

Next year, we will stay two nights.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_East_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

This B&B is wonderful find in Lancaster, South Carolina I would highly recommened a visit. Lots of history beautifully furnished. Alittle off the beaten path for all you who like it that way.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad55_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Lancaster
Super 8 Lancaster
#1 of 3 in Lancaster
164 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Lancaster
Quality Inn Lancaster
#2 of 3 in Lancaster
43 reviews
15.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 7 in Richburg
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
#2 of 22 in Rock Hill
651 reviews
17.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rock Hill / Charlotte / Metro Area
15.1 mi away
Days Inn Richburg
Days Inn Richburg
#4 of 7 in Richburg
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilburnie, the Inn at Craig Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilburnie, the Inn at Craig Farm

Property: Kilburnie, the Inn at Craig Farm
Address: 1824 Craig Farm Rd, Lancaster, SC 29720-8781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to this elegant and marvelously restored 1828 Country Home. Recommended by Southern Living Magazine, Kilburnie is appointed with all modern conveniences including hydro therapy whirlpools and Bose radios. Your innkeeper, the Dutch born Johannes Tromp will make sure that you’ll enjoy your stay. Like most of our guests, you’ll not want to leave this bed and breakfast. Kilburnie is an idyllic getaway known for its European laced Southern hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing