We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of The Red Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Red Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Landrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We spent our 15th wedding anniversary at the Red Horse Inn. It was fantastic! We stayed in the Grainary Cottage which was beautifully decorated and comfy. The cottage was completely stocked with beautiful towels and linens, a full kitchen, lovely porches and a spa outside. The grounds are exquisite and the views are, too. Mary and Roger are wonderful and they truly want their guests to be happy. We had dinner in our cottage one night. Mary cooked filet mignon to perfection and the shrimp scampi was divine. Thank you, Mary and Roger for a special weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    16
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
179
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had an amazing weekend away from the busyness of our jobs and hectic schedules. Mary and Roger seemed like old friends at check-in and provided suggestions for activities and restaurants in the area. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking and you can tell that they have put considerable effort into the beauty and privacy that the property offers. Mary cooked us a private dinner, delivered by Roger on Saturday and the meal was fantastic. Mary will tell you she's not a chef, but the fact is the meal was just as good as any at an up-scale restaurant. Very close to many wineries, covered bridges and waterfalls. Just an hour from Asheville. This place was the perfect inn for a getaway and a lovely engagement weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

6 private cottages overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains provide the perfect spot for a weekend get away. The inn keepers Mary and Roger Wolters see to all the details and make sure that all your needs are taken care of. Have dinner served in your cottage looking at the mountains and beautiful pastures. It doesn't get any better than this! 10's across the board.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scwaterfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fountain inn
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I bought a package deal for my husband and on on living social, not realizing you have to make your own breakfast which is in the mini fridge. The property is beautiful, but lacks all the luster of a bed and breakfast. No gathering times/reception in the afternoon, and a nukable breakfast in your mini fridge??? It is defiantly overpriced and mislabled as a bed and breakfast. I also bought two stays for family on separate occasions and they were all disappointed. You pay a lot for just a room, and don't go when it's warm because they wouldn't turn on the air for us and we were hot all night. Very disappointed, and it's a shame because that property has great potential.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jennifersanders74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedHorseInn, Owner at The Red Horse Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Jennifer, we greatly appreciate your comments. We want all the input we can get.

It saddens us that you and your husband were disappointed with your stay. We hope you will let us make it up to you. Meanwhile, here are some facts that may enhance your understanding.

Since 1999, we have striven to be very clear on our website through our photographs, offerings and all the extras we provide that we are a "horse of a different color" and not the typical bed and breakfast. We don't want to be typical. If this was not clear to you, we seriously welcome your suggestions so that we may further clarify this point for everyone in our online presence.

Throughout our history, we have continued to survey countless b&b's to really see what else is offered in our industry. We MUST do this in order to remain competitive. We have learned that there are different levels of bed and breakfast establishments. So far, we have not found much that even comes close to our level of going beyond the status quo. That is our focus.

Our guests have truly shaped what we are today. Understandably, we discovered that different guests have different preconceived ideas about what a bed and breakfast should be. These ideas are always formed based on the guests' previous experiences. As I am certain you understand, any successful business will cater to the wants and needs of its customers. So, we needed to experiment to get the pertinent facts. In the beginning, we tried having an afternoon gathering in our Gathering Room, but no guests came. For years, we tried to serve breakfast in the beautiful dining room, but time after time, the gentlemen came to the dining room and brought breakfast back to their rooms because their partners didn't want to get out of their cozy bathrobes, be on a schedule, or talk to strangers. Therefore, we could only conclude from this real evidence that most of our guests prefer their breakfast privacy. The "breakfast in bed" experience became another area where we could excel.

We responded. We accommodated those requests by putting in the "kitchen closets" that house the small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The egg dishes, muffins, fresh fruit parfaits, orange juice, coffee and tea, along with the extra oatmeal and grits packets, are put into the fridge frozen before arrival to ensure they are as fresh as possible the following morning. Our guests have repeatedly commented about how much they love being on their own schedule and they enjoy the leisurely morning.

Had we not taken our clues from guests as we did, there is no way we could have grown to where we are now.

If you were too warm, we wish you would have called us. As we tell every guest, "We are here for you, 24/7, just call." It was in the binder in your accommodation and on every piece of literature. We are in the business of serving our guests to the best of our ability at all times, 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Our motto is "God is in the details" and we do everything with a loving touch of hospitality to every guest we host. That is a key reason why we get so many repeat guests, and why you see that a huge majority of our guest comments here and elsewhere are so positive.

Again, we hope you will let us make it up to you. We wish you and your husband many blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

When my husband and I got married in November of 2002 I was in nursing school. We couldn't take a week long honeymoon because I had nursing exams coming up. My mother-in-law found us this cute little chalet at the Red Horse Inn to stay at for a couple of nights that was just 30 minutes away from home. At least that way would could have some sort of honeymoon. We arrived late that night (way after normal check in..probably around 12am) and it was pouring down rain. We called just before we arrived thinking everyone would be asleep and we wouldn't get to check in until the next day. Mary answered the phone and assured us that we were welcomed to come on. She met us in her PJ's and was such a sweet spirit and made us feel as if we were arriving home. The chalet we stayed in was called The Grainary. It was magnificent!!! When we laid our heads down that night we were pleasantly inspired by the beautiful writings of love and romance artistically inscribed on the walls. The breakfast basket that was left for us was the best. I would highly recommend the Red Horse Inn to anyone. It is a perfect getaway!! We will for sure be going back next year for our 10 yr anniversary.

Room Tip: We've only stayed in one of the chalets, The Grainary, but I'm sure all are equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I cannot say enough good things about the Red Horse Inn and Mary, the proprietor. When we arrived, we were amazed at the beauty of the Inn property. You could tell, at the moment you arrive, that this property was well taken cared of. The room we had selected was the Gable Room. It was wonderful as well. It had a beautiful king size bed (very comfortable!), a gas fireplace, a balcony, and a whirlpool tub in a large bathroom. The views of the Blue Ridge mountains were from every window. The room was large and included all the comforts. Mary told us several times to pick up the phone to reach her anytime. We ended up calling a couple of times with questions and she was very helpful. The balcony was great in the morning as we had our coffee, quiche, fruit, and muffins provided in the breakfast closet. Every evening before bed, we would sit out on the balcony, taking in the peacefulness of the area. There are cottages there also if you prefer more privacy. We asked to tour one of the cottages when we 1st arrived just to see what they were like. Very nice. We traveled each day up into the Blue Ridge Mountains and along the scenic roads at the foothills. It was a great time and very different for us as we are from Florida. We would definitely come back in the future. This is the ultimate place for a couples getaway.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PleasureTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My husband and I decided to get married on 11/11/11. Being one that is very particular and detail-oriented, I searched and searched South Carolina and the surrounding states for the perfect wedding space for an intimate, meaningful ceremony. After stumbling upon The Red Horse Inn on-line, I knew I had finally found it. This feeling of certainty was affirmed many times over from our first trip to the property and with every communication from Mary and Roger. The pictures do not do justice to the vast, beautiful, rolling fields and the gorgeous mountain range that you see wherever your head may turn. Needless to say, the wedding ceremony and our stay was seamless, serene, profound and perfect. Mary and Roger think of everything and care for you in an unobtrusive, comforting way. After our first introduction, I felt like I'd just spent time with an old friend.

I've mentioned their impeccable attention to detail, but something that needs to be mentioned is the incredible edibles Mary makes. My husband is a steak snob and devoured the filet that he had, as part of our elopement package, in minutes. Once, his mouth was no longer full, he went on and on about how he's never eaten a steak with the flavor that was so close to his own grilled steak. The homeade pizza that we had the second night was incredible, as well. You will be well-fed if you choose to eat at the Red Horse Inn. The food is delicious!

Lastly, I wanted to mention, the winery tour that Mary arranged for us. Their are four wineries within 10 miles of the Inn and are surprisingly varied in type and taste of wines. We made it to three of the four and enjoyed the different ambience and personalities at each one. Enjoying a glass of wine, sitting near a campfire and taking in the Fall colors from a hillside vineyard, is a wonderful way to spend an afternoon. We look forward to repeating this tour, as often as possible.

If you are considering staying at the Red Horse Inn, just do it. You will not be disappointed. Thank you again, Mary and Roger. The Inn is even more lovely, because of the two of you.

Denise and Graham

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2cuinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Landrum
16.2 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
215 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#15 of 64 in Greenville
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
19.0 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
7.8 mi away
1906 Pine Crest Inn
1906 Pine Crest Inn
#1 of 2 in Tryon
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Horse Inn

Property: The Red Horse Inn
Address: 45 Winstons Chase Ct, Landrum, SC 29356-8761
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Landrum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Landrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping mountain views, pastoral vistas and endless sky create the perfect setting for six charming cottages and six luxurious rooms in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains of South Carolina. Whirlpools, fireplaces and outdoor spas are just a few of the amenities guests can enjoy in the serene setting of The red Horse Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Red Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Horse Hotel Landrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing