We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"In the heart of it all"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Landrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wilmington, nc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"In the heart of it all"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

There are 3 reasons I titled this "in the heart of it all." #1, the Red Horse Inn is in the middle of great hiking and mountain adventures in not only SC but NC as well. Super location! #2, the innkeepers (Mary and Roger) have a heart of gold and generosity. Evidenced by the well-kept grounds and interiors of the house, the 2 of them prove to be the dynamic duo that make anyone's stay a welcome and heartfelt one. Top-notch customer service! #3, this beautiful place (the ambiance, the scenery, the hospitality, the attention to detail) does wonders to renew and lift your heart. For example, I stayed in the Gable suite and was amazed at its beauty, its private balcony, and perfect view of the sunset over the mountain range in the distance. Truly heart-filling!
I definitely suggest this place to anyone looking to get away "in the heart of it all"!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank live2love_love2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    14
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
175
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The Red Horse Inn is first class. We've stayed at quite a few B & B's but this was a by far the best. Our room was great, the view of the mountains is incredible, and it is definitely not lacking on the romantic end. Roger and Mary have done a fabulous job!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcarterx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

A colleague and I were invited to coach the executive leadership team for a hi-tech manufacturing company based in North Carolina. A review of the property on the web only prepared me for a "romantic getaway," but it turned out to be a really good location for this small team. There were no other guests on a Tuesday and Wednesday and the location was quiet amid the rolling green forested hills. Amenities and furnishing were all magnificently designed and the whole operation is clearly a labor of love for the innkeepers. When I admired a well-made knotty pine door, Roger proudly described how he'd constructed it. The plantings around the inn are dazzling in early summer and we lucked into beautiful weather with cool mornings and evenings and only periodic showers. The meals were simple and a little overly heavy for this Californian, but were ample and fresh. A highlight was the fresh peach crisp and some hearty brownies were also inspiring.
I flew into Greenville-Spartanburg airport and was able to drive to the Inn in around a half hour. After the first day's meetings, several of us drove to Chestnut Ridge heritage preserve and wildlife management area and took a pleasant 4 mile hike only a couple miles from the Inn. We disturbed a copperhead snake on the path but were not eaten by bears. There are several restaurants available in Landrum which is about 11 miles away. I still think it would have been a better place to take my wife than the business team, but it was also perfect for our use.

Room Tip: I only saw the Inn itself, but I'm told the cottages, which are some distance from the Inn's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
269 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

How can you go wrong with day time views of rolling hills, night view of millions of stars and fireflies at dusk? The sounds of nature are complemented by the Innkeeper's addition of classical music, running water feature in the garden, and windchimes. The television only went on in the morning to check the days weather. Sunset is late in the evening, and it does not get totally dark until almost 9PM. With so much natural beauty all around, why turn on the TV. The Red Horse Inn is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alps110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayson
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I recently stayed at The Red Horse Inn on a business trip and I could not have asked for a more relaxing, beautiful place! Mary and Roger are wonderful - they have thought of every detail to make your stay more comfortable. Should you need anything (which you won't), they are just a phone call away. When traveling as frequently as I do, it is imperative to have clean linens and accommodations, plus space to work and relax. I felt as if I was at home and slept amazingly well. The kitchen "closet" is brilliant...I appreciated having a delicious spread with fresh fruit, quiche, muffins, coffee, juice, etc...in my room. I was able to wake up, stay in my PJs, enjoy breakfast at my leisure on the balcony and work quietly, while watching Secret graze below. Make sure and take the time to explore the property...it is good for one's soul to receive natural beauty. My husband and I are now planning to return with no business on the agenda!

Room Tip: My advice would be to call Mary and discuss your preferences; she will make the perfect recommendati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littletraveler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We spent our 15th wedding anniversary at the Red Horse Inn. It was fantastic! We stayed in the Grainary Cottage which was beautifully decorated and comfy. The cottage was completely stocked with beautiful towels and linens, a full kitchen, lovely porches and a spa outside. The grounds are exquisite and the views are, too. Mary and Roger are wonderful and they truly want their guests to be happy. We had dinner in our cottage one night. Mary cooked filet mignon to perfection and the shrimp scampi was divine. Thank you, Mary and Roger for a special weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Japj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had an amazing weekend away from the busyness of our jobs and hectic schedules. Mary and Roger seemed like old friends at check-in and provided suggestions for activities and restaurants in the area. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking and you can tell that they have put considerable effort into the beauty and privacy that the property offers. Mary cooked us a private dinner, delivered by Roger on Saturday and the meal was fantastic. Mary will tell you she's not a chef, but the fact is the meal was just as good as any at an up-scale restaurant. Very close to many wineries, covered bridges and waterfalls. Just an hour from Asheville. This place was the perfect inn for a getaway and a lovely engagement weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Landrum
16.2 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Spartanburg Marriott
Spartanburg Marriott
#2 of 28 in Spartanburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
7.8 mi away
1906 Pine Crest Inn
1906 Pine Crest Inn
#1 of 2 in Tryon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
11.2 mi away
Saluda Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Horse Inn

Property: The Red Horse Inn
Address: 45 Winstons Chase Court, Landrum, SC 29356
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Landrum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Landrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping mountain views, pastoral vistas and endless sky create the perfect setting for six charming cottages and six luxurious rooms in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains of South Carolina. Whirlpools, fireplaces and outdoor spas are just a few of the amenities guests can enjoy in the serene setting of The red Horse Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Red Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Horse Hotel Landrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing