We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting, quiet and tranquil”
Review of The Red Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Red Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Landrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting, quiet and tranquil”
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came up for a night for my birthday, and were so happy we chose this place! It's beautiful! Stunning views, horses, walking trails, very welcoming and kind staff! When we made a reservation they sent us an activity pack of places to go and fun things to do in the area. Loved that! Breakfast was yummy, and nice in our cozy and romantic room! It was perfectly quiet too! Landrum has tons of antique stores, and yummy cute restaurants. We will definitely be coming back!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RCain23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    14
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
176
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed here twice in the past (won't let me pick earlier than April 2012)..once for an anniversary and once "just because". Both times were incredible. Such a lovely, peaceful setting to just enjoy each other's company without many distractions. The cottages are quaint and the horses on the grounds are gorgeous! The owners pay a lot of attention to detail. Not one negative thing to say about this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbags33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

A beautiful, tranquil (and quiet!) place, with lovely amenities and attention to detail. Mary and Roger were abundantly welcoming but we also had complete privacy. They even accommodated our desire to "hibernate" rather than have housekeeping visit, and arranged for a discrete switch-out of dirty dishes for next-day breakfast, yet still managed to sneak in to tidy up the room in the brief time we were gone. Wonderful! They thought of everything, and all the little extra touches really made it a special experience. It was everything we hoped for and needed. P.S. For lunch (and/or dinner, if you don't want to take advantage of the in-house food possibilities, which did look good), I recommend The Hare and Hound pub in Landrum.

Room Tip: The East Room is absolutely lovely! You feel like you're in your own upscale bungalow. Even bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEP1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Augusta, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

After reading all of the reviews on this website, we decided to book the Springhouse Cottage at the Red Horse Inn. It was beautiful! The setting is gorgeous, and Roger was incredibly friendly and informative when we checked in. They have maps of the area and local stores and restaurants that we were given to help us find our way around. He even gave us several recommendations for antique stores that turned out to be wonderful!

The cottage we stayed in was simply perfect. Everything we needed was already provided. (They even put band-aids in the bathroom in case you cut yourself shaving.) My husband even commented that they didn't provide cheap toilet paper like so many places will. They provide "the good kind" as he put it. The cottage was also incredibly clean! I don't believe I've ever stayed in such a clean place. The bed was so comfortable that I wanted to bring it home with me!

We were content to just relax in the cottage and didn't really need much else, but I'm sure if we had needed anything, Roger or Mary would have answered any questions we might have asked. I would highly recommend this inn to any couples looking to escape hectic lives for a weekend! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickens
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My husband and I spend the weekend here after we got married. The little cottage was super cute and cozy. We had a stay in pizza night and they brought it to the cottage along with dessert and there was breakfast for each day. I would recommend to anyone looking for a short trip not to far from home!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanttotravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

"...than to be in Carolina in the morning", unless it's to be in S. Carolina at the Red Horse Inn!!! Just recently became a tripadvisor member, and wanted to add a review because both of our visits to The Red Horse Inn were fabulous! We have stayed in the Gable room twice, decor is so romantic, bathroom is huge and beautiful with a big jacuzzi tub, cozy robes. Loved standing out on the balcony that looks out over the horse pasture with a beautiful view of the Blue Ridge mountains. There was delicious pre-prepared breakfast in the mini-fridge each morning, accompanied by OJ and champagne! Also a nice selection of books in the room, it's just perfect! Mary and Roger have thought of everything, it really is a haven for those who just want to get away from it all! Chilled champagne and roses in the room, you can't go wrong at The Red Horse Inn! Landrum is also a quaint little town, just a short drive from the Inn, and we enjoyed delicious meals at four of the restaurants there; Stone Soup, Persimmons, and the Lake Lanier Tea House (which is a further drive), and the Hare and Hound pub. Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our two trips to The Red Horse Inn, and we'll be back to check out one of the cottages there soon!
On another note: Mary and Roger have a fabulous BIG black standard poodle, we fell in love with the breed when we visited the Inn. Then we came back home (live within 2 hours of the Inn), found a breeder, and got our own Standard boy! He is amazing, we are crazy about him, and will probably take him with us when we go back to the Inn!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The Red Horse is even more beautiful than the pictures indicate. We spent a long weekend in the Granary Cottage and can't say enough how wonderful it was. The setting is peaceful and magical, and Mary and Roger left no detail unattended. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Landrum
16.2 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
16.2 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glassy View Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
1906 Pine Crest Inn
1906 Pine Crest Inn
#1 of 2 in Tryon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
11.3 mi away
Saluda Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Horse Inn

Property: The Red Horse Inn
Address: 45 Winstons Chase Ct, Landrum, SC 29356-8761
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Landrum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Landrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping mountain views, pastoral vistas and endless sky create the perfect setting for six charming cottages and six luxurious rooms in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains of South Carolina. Whirlpools, fireplaces and outdoor spas are just a few of the amenities guests can enjoy in the serene setting of The red Horse Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Red Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Horse Hotel Landrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing