We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Horse Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Mountain Lodge(Flat Rock)(Great Value!)
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Inn & Suites(Flat Rock)(Great Value!)
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Flat Rock)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
246
18
4
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
246
18
4
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bthe cottagesthe blue ridge mountainsromantic getawayour honeymoonred horsehot tubamazing weekendantique shopsegg casserolegas fireplaceget away from it allprivate balconypeace and quiettake your breath awaybeautiful propertywalking trails
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I rarely get to get away from our busy lives so when we do we like to make the most of it. Sometimes the relaxation of a trip gets lost. Not so this time. The inn is beautiful and Roger and Mary were wonderful hosts. We were able to travel the back countryside and find some beautiful hiking trails as s well as have some wonderful dinners as well as breakfast in up exquisite cabin, THE GRAINARY.

All in all the attention to detail the quiet private setting and the ease to which to get to some great little towns and hiking trails ensure that we will be coming back here again and again.

Thank you Roger and Mary.

Room Tip: We loved the Grainary, but my wife wants to try out the Springhouse next time...I really doubt you can choose a bad cottage here.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We loved the Springhouse cottage at The Red Horse Inn! Everything was very clean and comfortable! The bed was divine! ! Would definitely recommend to get away from the hustle and bustle! Bring a bottle of bubbly to relax in the outdoor jacuzzi under the stars!

Room Tip: Spring house
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriMikeCharlestonSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had been to the Red Horse Inn before, and it was wonderful. It still is! We went for our anniversary, and it was great again. The setting is beautiful, the cottage comfortable. Roger and Mary make sure you have everything you need. Rather than dine out in Landrum, we elected to have delicious home-made pizza our first night, and a lovely special dinner brought to our cottage the second night. My husband had a filet, which was very good, but I had the delicious coq au vin. Great salads, garnished with nasturtiums. The cottage was clean and airy, lovely porch to sit on. The back deck has a hot tub with views of the mountains, and sunsets. Gorgeous! Mary has a little filly, Secret, a descendant of Secretariat who completes the bucolic beauty of the pasture. Great place. You should go!!

Room Tip: All the cottages are lovely and private. You can't go wrong. One is even pet friendly.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed to celebrate our 10th anniversary. The setting was gorgeous, set in the foothills of South Carolina with views of the Blue Ridge Mtns nearby and overlooking a meticulously manicured hilly pasture surrounded by white fences and a horse roaming on it. Room was very clean, thoughtfully decorated, very roomy and functional, and with a back porch facing the mountains and hilly fenced fields. Looking out at this for breakfast was a priceless experience. The owners were very warm, hospitable, and helpful in every way. They put a package together of things to do in the area, including visits to wineries in the area, a waterfall hike, and restaurant recommendations with coupons. We absolutely want to come back. Great for a quiet, peaceful getaway when you want time to just stand still.

Room Tip: We selected the Gables Room, but all of the Inn rooms have a great view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this beautiful bed and breakfast this past week. The in-keepers, Roger and Mary, are the most gracious hosts and will make your stay completely stress free. Their attention to detail is impeccable, the room was simply beautiful and the surroundings are so special. I wish we could have stayed more than one night. Of course we loved the robes hanging by the jacuzzi tub!!!!

Room Tip: Mention to them if you need a first floor room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews