We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect halfway stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Latta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A break from the tedious 95 road trip, going north or south. Spacious rooms, great food, outstanding property. The six course meal sounds overwhelming, but the portions are just right, and the wine pairings perfect.

S & O

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sml20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Right off 95 in Latta S.Carolina
A perfectly appointed Manor House. A very large and lovely room . Just as if you are the guest in very sumptuous home/which you are. A Lovely breakfast served in the sunroom. This is a perfect stop on the way North or South. Highly recommended! It also has a cooking school.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank wackazoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We found The Abington on the registry, read the reviews and decided to give it a try. We are glad that we did. The Inn and grounds are letter perfect; clean, beautiful and relaxing., and

The breakfasts and dinners are superb and we looked forward to each one. The rooms are spotless, and the trains rumbling past throughout the nite, add a real sparkle of romance.

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fine. We stayed in the Savanah, which was the smallest, but totally adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polecat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Suggested to us by a snowbird who motors down to Vero and back to Connecticut, we went an hour out of our way. In reserving early Friday morning for that evening, we were asked if we wanted the 6 course meal. It sounded like more than we wanted, but Latta is pretty small, so we called back and said yes. Glad we did. 6 courses included palate clearing sherbet and the proportions were perfect. We had various pleasant wines by the glass, which Michael poured from the bottles.
The bed room was tasteful, and the decorations, including a Herend rabbit, were not glued down.
The sheets were the best an inn or hotel I can remember.
Breakfast was fine. The total was a little more than $400, well worth the $35 more than we paid the next night in a 4.5 * "excellent" B&B and restaurant in Northern Virginia.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coccinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have been stopping at Abingdon Manor for several years while traveling from Virginia to Florida. The inn has never disappointed us - the accommodations are excellent, the dinner and breakfast are superb, and the service is impeccable down to the smallest detail. The manor is a large, beautifully restored early 20th century home with perfect period appointments. All the rooms are lovely, comfortable and well maintained. Having traveled extensively in the the US and Western Europe, we can say without the slightest reservation that Abingdon Manor is worth a journey.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REDHAUTESAVOIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

All you could want in an inn. Beautiful property and home ,perfect furnishings, large comfy and elegant rooms, wonderful hosts and a beautifully presented and tasting gourmet dinner and breakfast.
If you are looking for the perfect inn experience, this is it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachfanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

For years, my parents have raved about the great service, atmosphere, dining and room accommodations at The Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant. On their most recent visit after Christmas, traveling back North from Florida, my Mother realized she had lost a special earring. She called the Abingdon, and their staff was extremely responsive. They went above and beyond searching the Inn for her earring. They found it in a vacuum bag. Such Customer Care and Attention is rare! !
We send our praise, gratitude and highest recommendation ! Thank you to the owners, management and staff of the Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latta
6.0 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
21.7 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#1 of 41 in Florence
449 reviews
7.4 mi away
Quality Inn Dillon
Quality Inn Dillon
#1 of 7 in Dillon
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327
23.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Bennettsville
42 reviews
22.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant

Address: 307 Church St, Latta, SC 29565-1357
Region: United States > South Carolina > Latta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Latta
Price Range: £168 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abingdon Manor provides the only luxury accommodations in the Carolinas or Georgia close to interstate 95. The Inn is listed by AAA as a “Classic Country Inn” and had received the prestigious Four Diamond rating for fifteen consecutive years. The property, on the National Register of Historic Places, was built at the beginning of the 20th century as an opulent private home and, while now an Inn, retains the feel of an opulent private residence. A member of Select Registry, Distinguished Inns of North American, Abingdon Manor is ranked among the best Inns in the country. Located in a residential section of the historic district in the charming village of Latta it is just 25 miles north of Florence. The Inn is halfway between New York City and Palm Beach as well as Washington DC and Jacksonville, Florida and it is just 5 miles east of 95. Purchased by Michael and Patty Griffey from Miami, Florida in 1995 to operate as a luxury Inn, extensive renovations, decorating and landscaping have turned this magnificent building into a refined, elegant setting for travelers. The seven guest rooms in the 10,000 square foot building insures privacy, peace and tranquility. The award winning restaurant, The Dining Room at Abingdon Manor, also rated Four Diamonds by AAA, provides fine dining nightly, with full liquor and wine listing. At a fraction of the cost of comparable properties, the Inn offers the discriminating traveler looking for upscale accommodations a particular value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing