We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific barbecue buffet in charming Moncks Corner setting”
Review of Music Man's BBQ

Music Man's BBQ
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Deep Sea
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terrific barbecue buffet in charming Moncks Corner setting”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We're big fans of the South Carolina barbecue buffet and this one is right up there with Duke's in Walterboro for me. The barbecue is pretty good, they use the whole hog. The pork is divided in two pans, one with vinegar and one with mustard. I liked them both but the vinegar stole the show. It was a little spicy and had a little mustard and other spices as well. The sides were terrific. I had yams, mac and cheese, slaw, hash and all were really good. For desert, you just can't pass on the bread pudding. Apples and raisins aren't traditional and there isn't a hard sauce but this version is going to leave a smile on your face. All this for $10/ person. Don't pass up a chance to eat here while in the Charleston area.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank weiszguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, SC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best southern BBQ discovered”
Reviewed 2 April 2011

If you can find Monks Corner, this is the place to go. Fantastic seasoned cheese with macaroni. Good corn caserole. The mustard based BBQ was my favorite but my wife liked the vinegar based better. Great selection. Another factor that separates this BBQ place from others is the service. Tea glasses are never allowed to be empty. Price includes the tea and desert. Reservations are needed second Wed. for beach night's steak, ribs, and live entertainment.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frogmoretiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
871 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 943 helpful votes
“Great fried chicken”
Reviewed 22 March 2011

It's funny because this is a BBQ joint but I think their best dish is their fried chicken. The best I had in the area.

Good lunchtime buffet. Amazingly tasty puddings. Reasonable prices.

We would return.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Music man's was the best! We were part of...”
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Music man's was the best! We were part of a very large group and the service was awesome. It was the best South Carolina BBQ I've ever had. It was a cold and raining day and I was warmed with "better than my grandmas" chicken soup. I'd like to go back and listen to their live music sometime.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncks Corner
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Steak night excellent also”
Reviewed 3 May 2009

A great place to eat, nice atmosphere friendly staff. Steak night with the live band is the tops on the second Wednesday of the month, but it is so popular you have to make reservations the month before! Friday lunch is Fried Chicken Friday when it is added to the already great buffet. We really love it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbird64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Music Man's BBQ also viewed

Moncks Corner, Coastal South Carolina
Moncks Corner, Coastal South Carolina
 
Moncks Corner, Coastal South Carolina
Moncks Corner, Coastal South Carolina
 
Moncks Corner, Coastal South Carolina
Moncks Corner, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Music Man's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing