We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok place to stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We had a ok stay at this hotel. The entire staff were very frendly and helpful. Had great access to the cooper river bridge, great views if your willing to make the walk. The rooms were very clean, however seemed a little older to me than they let on. They had a water pipe burst our first day at the hotel but were quick to get it fix and the water turned back on( things happen). The pool pump also went down while staying at the hotel, and FYI the pool and area is small. The deluxe contenital breakfast was just ok. The food was hot but I would steer clear of the biscuits, they were so hard you could play around of hockey with them. I thought maybe the first morning we ate there it was just a off morning, but the biscuits stayed the same our entire stay. Basically I have had better deluxe contienal breakfast at other hotels. A recommendation to this hotel would be to do a little more updating and put a refrigerator in every room.This place is a good place to stay if your just staying a night or two but not a week. Probably would stay some where else when visting Charlston next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firedaddy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_travisross, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Thank you for lodging with during your recent trip to the Charleston area. We appreciate the kind words regarding our staff. We appreciate your understanding regarding the plumbing issues you experienced during your visit. We are constantly improving the hotel guests experience with updates to our hotel during the winter season we were able to complete upgrades to our common areas (breakfast area, meeting rooms and lobby). Plans for this coming winter are to replace all upholstered pieces in our guest rooms as well as finishing the phasing in of flat screen TV's. Our franchise designation as an Inn and Suites requires that we offer a choice of standard or suite style rooms. We would have offered you an upgraded room had it been available. We would appreciate the opportunity to host you again on a future visit to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    116
    49
    32
    26
See reviews for
123
114
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,278 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,377 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

We found the Quality Inn and Suites, located at Patriots Point, very convenient for visiting Charleston, SC. It is right at the foot of the Arthur Ravenel Jr Bridge that crosses the Cooper River. It is near a marina, golf course, park, and near any "service related business" you would need during your vacation in to the area.

We had a double queen room. The beds were very comfortable, but as usual (at least in my experience) the pillows were poor. They are 4 pillows to a bed, which is very nice. We pulled the pillowcase out completely (they tuck it in) and pounded on the pillow-lol-and that seemed to make them more usable. Nice bedding. There is a nightstand between the beds with a lamp, clock, one drawer and an open space beneath.

There is a 4 drawer dresser that has the old TV on it-this needs replacing, though it worked fine. And one, old, funky blue remote (that also worked well...lol).

There is a very large closet with mirrors on the doors. One luggage rack, some hangars. I suggest you bring some of your own plastic hangars. Iron/board. Plenty of room to store everything you brought.

A/C works very well here-in fact, maybe too well. We had to turn it down often, as it cooled the room quickly. A good thing in the summer!

The kitchenette area was very nice. Beautiful, dark cabinets provide plenty of room to store any food items you might want to bring. There is a sink, and some counter space. A good size mini-frig is provided and it keeps things mighty cold. Microwave. Ice bucket/tray. Coffeemaker.

The living area had a two person couch, end table with lamp. There is a comfortable chair with standing lamp in the bed area of the room. A desk is provided with one drawer, lamp and plugs and a phone. Nice desk chair.

Bathroom is nice, decent sized, one sink, large mirror, large counter to put your things. Bath products were average, as were the towels. Water pressure was very good, the shower curtain not so good.

Everything was very clean and organized-the room, lobby, pool area, halls, etc.

The desk personnel were friendly, helpful. There is a computer in the lobby.

Breakfast is served on the 2nd floor and it had the usual variety of breakfast foods, but it was so overwhelmingly busy, we basically did not experience it. Went back two or three times, and still crazy! We did get some juice, fruit, couple of other items, and took them back to our room, but they need to extend the hours til later in the morning for better service. You receive a ticket for your breakfast and from what I have read, you don't want to lose it.

The parking lot is a bit small, though well lit and convenient.

Overall, this is a very nice hotel to stay at while visiting Mt. Pleasant and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor. Elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_travisross, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this review, 12 June 2011
Thank for taking time to write such a thorough review of our property. You have addressed many points that other travelers to the Charleston area will find helpful. It is helpful for us as hoteliers to be aware of the pros and the cons of the guest experience. We are pleased that your overall experience with us was a positive one. We are currently phasing in flat screen TV's at our property. We have most recently updated all our common areas, lobby, meeting rooms and breakfast area. We are considering expanding our breakfast hours as our hotel occupancy level has increased significantly this year. Our breakfast offering is expanded beyond the franchise requirements and continues to be one of our most positive assets. Of course, as you experienced, our location is central to all the attractions of the Charleston area. We will look forward to the opportunity to host you again on a future visit to the Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

We were traveling on a two week vacation. Our itinerary brought us to Charleston on a weekend and had wanted to stay in the historic district. Unfortunately, the weekend hotel rates were just too high so we decided to stay on the other side of the harbor in Mt. Pleasant. When I booked our reservation at the Quality Inn, I knew that it was an older hotel. Nevertheless, it was a very good choice as it was well kept and was very clean. From the smell and look, we could tell that the hallways had just been recarpeted.

We had a room with a king bed. The room was huge! By far the largest hotel room we had on our trip. It was clean and the bathroom was spotless. The breakfast was very good and included items such as eggs, bacon and sausage that you don't find at comparable hotels.

Although Mt. Pleasant is across the harbor from Charleston, it is just a 10-15 minute drive away -- almost as good as staying in Charleston. If you're going to visit Patriot's Point, you won't find a closer hotel; you can walk there in nice weather. If you're going to visit Boone Plantation, it's just minutes from this hotel.

The only negative comment we have is that the cold water wasn't cold; actually it was almost luke warm. (Being northerners, I guess we expect cold water to be cold.) When we mentioned the warm cold water to the desk staff, we were told that's how it is, that the water lines in the area aren't very deep and the water gets warm when the ground gets warm. The hotel had small, complimentary bottles of water on ice for the guests. That was a nice touch.

We had a good stay and well worth the price. Although it's on the other side of the harbor, it's still convenient Charleston. We would stay here again and highly recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: For large rooms, you can't beat this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky7149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_travisross, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this review, 12 June 2011
We appreciate your positive comments regarding our property. Indeed, it can be very costly to stay in Historic Charleston--we are pleased that you have become aware of staying in the Mount Pleasant area. Our property is only minutes away from all lowcountry attractions. We are very committed to maintaining our property and we remain consistent in our efforts to improve our guest experience. We hope that you will return to the Charleston area and lodge with us as we are sure that you were not able to partake in all that our area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

What a peasant surprise, after just staying at a very bad Quality Inn on Ocean Blvd in Myrtle Beach we were relieved to check inn to this one. Everything was spotless, and in good working order. Hot breakfast had bacon, sausage, eggs, grits plus all the standard stuff. And a very clean area to eat. We had a whirlpool suite, the large tub made taking a shower a treat with lots of room to move. The location is great for the naval museum and the Fort Sumter tour. A short drive over the bridge gets you to Charleston (taking Bay Street back to the Hotel brings you right on to the Bridge. No tolls on the bridge. If I get back to Charleston, this is where I will stay.

Pros: Large room
Clean
Good hot breakfast
Good price
Did I mention spotlessly clean….

Cons: Smallish parking area
You do have to drive to get to Charleston. I found a lot at Concord and Market Sts for $8 for the day (a Saturday) with come and go privileges. A block from the Market Area

Tips:
There is a Great Outback Restaurant a couple of blocks north of the hotel. Just a cut above all the others. The house salad is Wedge style, the wine come in a small carafe, perfectly done steak and shrimp, things like that.

All the Carriage rides are the same, sort of. Every Carriage Company gets into the same queue, and a city run ping-pong ball system tells each carriage what route to take. There was a screaming kid on our ride that ruined it for everyone. I know there is one that does and adults only run at 10 AM. The ride is way too long, and frankly boring, for a child. Ask your guide what the round bottom flag markers are for.

There is a Visitors info center under the bridge on the Mt Pleasant side, they sell tickets to some things at a good discount (Carriage ride, Naval museum, etc) . Ladies, try the Salt Hand Lotion in the rest room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_and_Diann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_travisross, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this review, 12 June 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience during your recent stay. . We appreciated you sharing helpful tips for future travelers to the Charleston area. We feel our location is one of our greatest assets! We continue to strive for the best guest experience possible. We feel our attention to detail--enhancing our breakfast offering,forming a warm rapport with our guests and maintaining a high standard of cleanliness are all very important components. We would love the opportunity to host you again on a future trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

First of all, I don't know why there are bad reviews. Maybe they had problems in the past, but not now!

The hotel is really nice. The rooms are updated, very comfortable, and clean. Breakfast was really great for a hotel! Yogurt, fruit, grits, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, juice, coffee.

The staff were nice and helpful.

The hotel is right by the ferry for Fort Summter and USS Yorktown.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJ1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_travisross, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this review, 27 May 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive comments. We are especially glad you enjoyed our lowcountry breakfast offering. Our breakfast hostess prides herself on offering above and beyond our franchise requirements. We are always striving to improve our guest experience. We hope you will allow us to host you on your next visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackinac Island, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

This hotel was very nice and clean, but older looking. The proximity to Patriots Point (walking distance if nice day) and just over the bridge to downtown Charleston made it a nice stay. The rooms are extremely spacious (we had 2 Queens and a Pull out Sofa Suite).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MI-Travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_travisross, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this review, 15 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive thoughts. We continue to update the property so that our guests can comfortably enjoy our central location and have a positive guest experience. We will look forward to the opportunity to host you again on a future trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
298 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

Spent one night here 3/19/11. Hotel itself is an older property, but very CLEAN. The check-in area looked bad, but they are remodeling it. Staff is very, very friendly and offered tips on where to get the best seafood. Our room was not updated to the usual Choice Hotels bedding, but at least we had fitted sheets and a good mattress. Rooms need updating and lighting could be a little brighter, but it is okay. Bathroom was SPOTLESS and the shower pressure was great! We slept well considering the entire floor above us had been reserved for the Shriners who had been there for the last 3 nights and were to check out next day when we did. NOW, FOR THE VERY BEST PART OF THIS HOTEL: Breakfast is a pure delight!!! The wonderful lady who does the cooking wears a white chef's coat and a cute big, floppy big chef's style hat! This wonderful lady kept the food area spotless and plenty of food supplied! There was your usual chilled mixed fruits in huge bowl, a variety of small pastries, cereals, toast, coffee, variety of juices.....AND.......bacon, sausage, REAL scrambled eggs, REAL homemade gravy, a different type of biscuit that was cut in half and maybe put under a broiler???? (DELICIOUS), and my favorite----the hot grits did not a a single lump in them! They were the creamiest grits and even had flavor to them! She also made some kind of cinnamon pastry the was crunchy on the outer edges yet soft inside! Lots of the men were asking for that recipe and she told them that the Corporate office would not let her give out any recipes! Too bad! YUM-O!!!! I told the management this breakfast alone was worth returning to this hotel! (HEADS UP: Do not lose your b'fast coupons or you pay $7.50 to get another one! Or so it says on the coupon). Another reason for returning is its proximity to the USS Yorktown carrier and the Spirit of Charleston Cruise dock; also at the foot of the beautiful new bridge! If you can get over the dated room decor I think you would be very pleased with this hotel! We will be returning there in October and I can hardly wait!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_travisross, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this review, 15 April 2011
Thank you so much for your elaborate review. You are correct, we were under renovation during your recent visit. We have completed the renovations to the common areas of our property. We received a waiver to add custom bedding to our guest rooms that were more in keeping with our property. We were not pleased with the sheer coverlets otherwise required by Choice Hotels. We also added down alternative blankets to our bedding rather than poly-fleece. We are so glad that you enjoyed our Southern Style breakfast. Lynese, our breakfast hostess, truly is an asset to our property and we feel that her passion for her position at the hotel shows through in the quality of our breakfast offering. We will look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Patriots Point
BEST WESTERN Patriots Point
#17 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#18 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
#13 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Address: 196 Patriots Point Rd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-4377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt. Hotel Mount Pleasant
Quality Inn Patriots Pt
Quality Inn Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing