We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nearly ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed two weekend nights at peak season and were pleasantly surprised by how affordable our stay, what an excellent value, and how convenient it was to all we wished to see and do. Rooms were clean and quiet - even on the second floor (hotel has 3) we heard not a peep from anyone above or below us in a full hotel. Staff all over were friendly and accommodating. The ladies who organize the daily breakfast go above and beyond to make an excellent - and complementary - meal for the guests: warm blueberry muffins, sausage gravy with buttered biscuits, fresh scrambled eggs, crisp bacon and creamy grits to name a few yummy items. Not the best coffee in the world but the food more than made up for that. The pool area was tiny but clean. Really the only downside was the loud and leaky air conditioning unit in our room that badly needed upgrading. While temperature-wise it worked to keep us cool and comfortable during a very muggy weekend, it also chugged like a freight train throughout the night, caused a slight musty smell in the room and a wet carpet underneath the window. We'd love to return for another visit, especially in a room with a newer AC unit!

Room Tip: The complimentary breakfast area is on the second floor. While not distracting to us, we noticed th...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you for staying at Quality Inn & Suites. We appreciate your business. My apologies for the hard working although noisy AC unit. The wet carpet tells me that it was not working properly. Our service technicians are on property to address exactly these situations. I hope we took care of this promptly for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

(Price) We paid $130 for weekend nights and $110 weekdays, which is average for Mt Pleasant in peak season. The cheapest hotels within Charleston are at least $50 more. North Charleston and West Ashley are also around the same price as Mt. Pleasant. Senior, AAA, government, and Choice Hotel discounts may lower the rate. Signing up for the Choice Privilege program allegedly gives customers a lower rate if they book in advance- I haven't tried this, but thought it was worth mentioning.

(Location) 6 minutes away from the center of town. The drive into Charleston is enjoyable on the Arthur Ravenel Jr bridge. I prefer staying in Mt. Pleasant since it is close, yet separate from noisy nightlife and crowded streets. Being able to see your car in the parking lot from the room is another plus. Quality Inn is close to the Patriots Point attraction, ferry to Fort Sumter, and walking Wonder's Way on the bridge.

(Rooms) All rooms are smoke-free. It is one of the only hotels with two queen bed (versus full sizes) room options in addition to a single king option. The suites have pull-out sofas too. Mattresses and pillows are cozy and the sheets are very clean. The traffic was inaudible from the room due to the a/c's adjacency to the window. Curtains blocked out of the daylight well. I like a "white noise" like a running a/c, but some may find it too loud. Free local calls, wifi (ask front desk for password), and cable! The mini-fridge is large enough for 3 standard to-go boxes, 6+ cans of soda, and a half gallon of milk. The freezer compartment can fit about two frozen tv dinners. The microwave and coffeemaker are small. The bathroom was equipped with many towels, a convex shower curtain, and the typical tiny soap amenities. Showers are awesome- pressure of the water stream is changeable (light drizzle to firehose blast). No noise from the neighboring rooms was audible.


(Breakfast) A major benefit is the complimentary breakfast served every morning until 9:30 am on weekdays and extended to 10 am on weekends. Eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy, hashbrowns, muffins, and fruit are provided daily by an endearing group of ladies. I feel like I am dining in their home kitchen! If you tip anyone on your trip to Charleston, these are the ladies deserving of it. The coffee machine is on all day, but it is not kept fresh.

(Other Features) The outdoor pool is small, but will keep kids entertained. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful! The day we arrived, fresh cookies awaited the guests at check-in. Near the vending machines, one can find numerous brochures and coupons to local attractions. One thing I noticed that was atypical- guest room ceilings were higher than average. The decor in the lobby is tasteful and inviting as well as in the meeting rooms.

This was our second stay at the Quality Inn and Suites at Mt Pleasant- we will book this hotel for our future trips to Charleston!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the parking lot if you like keeping your vehicle in sight. Request a...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SamanthaTeal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

We appreciate your business and nice comments regarding your stay with us. Our summer weekends are busy indeed with many guests using the hotel. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our new beds. We are happy to place a request in your next reservation to place you on the 3rd floor. Come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were very satisfied. Staff was very pleasant, room was clean, beds were comfortable and location was perfect. We did not use the pool area but it looked nice. Easy access to Mount Pleasant shopping, restaurants, and downtown Charleston. Reasonably priced especially considering the location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yankeefromct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Wow! I loved your comments. We do have a very convenient location, nice outdoor pool on the golf course side of the hotel so it gets nice breezes during the summer months, and complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet. Come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Boy did we luck out in finding this place!! First off, it was the only hotel with vacancy for both Friday and Saturday night... Second, the nightly rates weren't asking for your first born child (aka reasonable for those that are scrunching your eyebrows in confusion)... And third, the location was perfect for 4th of July weekend!

Located in Mount Pleasant, the fireworks were being displayed just a few blocks down the street near the Navy ship. The only downfall to this was the roads being blocked off, so we had to be parked back at the hotel by midafternoon for the festivities. But as far as location goes... Perfect!! Taxi ride to the hustle of downtown was only about $10, which was totally worth the stress of finding parking :)

The rooms were clean and hotel staff were friendly. Even helpful in providing a razor (though not the desired 5 blade Mach lol) when I realized I forgot mine. Room rates included parking AND buffet style breakfast, just wish the pool had a little more room to tan... And Quality Inn also honors AAA discounts. Woo hoo! Beds were clean and comfortable and the air conditioning in our room worked great (very important as I hate sleeping in a warm environment).

Definitely planning on booking another room here when we return to the area on our next trip, whenever that may be! :)

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank BravoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Your comments are correct for the July 4th festivities we have the perfect location. Only minutes to the beaches of Isle of Palms or Sullivan's Island and less than 5 minutes to Mt. Pleasant's Waterfront Park. Come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at this property for a family wedding. Wouldn't stay again. The room was freezing cold with a/c when we arrived, so we turned the temp down. Big mistake. The unit continues to run, just brings in damp air. Your choices were cold, damp, or turned off. The second night we opted for turned off. One of the beds was found to have hair all over the sheets. When we called down to the office, they said they were sold out, but they could send someone to change the bed. They did. The next morning, I found the same hair all over the shower, along with mold on the solid surface walls. This was not in the grooves, but on the flat surface. Could have easily been cleaned by a housekeeper paying attention. When the tub water was initially turned on, it was brown. I realize this can happen if the room has not been used in a while. If that was the case, the room should have been re-cleaned before sending a guest in there. In addition, the hair dryer when removed from the holder was covered in dirty, greasy residue. The bathroom floor was also filthy. I purposely requested no housekeeping after the first night because I had wiped down surfaces with disinfecting wipes and did not wish the housekeepers to touch them. After seeing what supposedly passed for clean, I did not want it "cleaned."

The breakfast buffet was good, but always crowded with not enough tables. The baked goods were not replenished often enough, as there were not enough ovens to heat the food. This was not the fault of the kitchen staff, but of the management. Give your staff enough equipment to do their job correctly.

Parking was insufficient for a summer weekend night. Some guests had to park on the shoulder of the road or next door.

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VWL2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to detail your stay with us. While hard to hear we have corrected all items mentioned. The summer months are an especially busy and humid time here. There is no excuse for the items mentioned during your stay. Our overflow parking lot is next door at the Shriners Auditorium parking lot. We have a foot bridge that connects their lot with our hotel parking lot. We will undergo a major bathroom renovation later this fall. Stay tuned for updates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our first visit to the area, specifically Fort Sumter. The location is the best for the boat launch to the Fort and was clean, friendly, and had a great breakfast buffet. Not far from historic Charleston, just across the river.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wdwmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for the nice comments. Our guests love our location, convenient to downtown Charleston, the beaches and Mt. Pleasants Waterfront Peir. We appreciate your business and hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our bed was infested with bugs crawling around. Some of the bugs were in clusters. The hotel did give us another room with no other compensation. If it were not midnight, we would have changed hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Please note that we take BUGS very seriously. Both our Director of Housekeeping and Maintenance Director inspected your room. I also inspected your room. We did find a few very small ants most likely picked up at the beach. We were sold out and could not move you to another room. But when we did move you we also upgraded your room type.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Patriots Point
Best Western Patriots Point
#14 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#20 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Mount Pleasant
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.

Address: 196 Patriots Point Rd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-4377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: £73 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt. Hotel Mount Pleasant
Quality Inn Patriots Pt
Quality Inn Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing