We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Suites Hotel”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed in a first floor room near the lobby, facing the patio and pond at the back of the hotel. Pretty standard studio suites hotel room, with full size fridge, dishwasher, two element stove top, microwave, dishes and cutlery for two. In addition to the comfortable bed, the room had a loveseat and table suitable for eating at and as work space. Surprisingly small bathroom. Breakfast was pretty ordinary and breakfast area was too small and under-furnished.

Good location just before the bridge into Charleston.

Few issues - noise from lobby/check-in area, after flushing toilet and tank had refilled, there was annoying gushing sound a few times a minute as the toilet was apparently trying to top up the amount of water in the tank.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear RonW,
Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites near Historical downtown Charleston. We appreciated your business, and also that you took the time to write a review. Thank you for mentioning our close proximity to downtown and our convenience to attractions. It is only through guest feedback that we can improve, and we have addressed the need to keep a more quiet front desk area to prevent noise from filtering into the upstairs rooms. We hope that you will return to the beautiful Charleston Low Country again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed in room 215, just over the lobby. Throughout the day and night, we could hear the front desk phone ring and most conversations that went on in the lobby. I wish we would've asked to stay in another room, because I did not sleep well my entire stay. It was very difficult to get hot water to take a comfortable shower.
The hotel was clean, and near everywhere we wanted to go, and very accessible, right off of 17.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollybr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Hollybr1,
Thank you for staying at Mainstay Suites. We appreciated you mentioning that the hotel was clean and close to Charleston attractions. Our apologies that your room was not restful due to noise filtering up from the lobby telephones and conversations. We will be sure to remind all staff members about quiet time. Thank you again for being a guest of Mainstay Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in June on part of our vacation it was the second time stayed there. Great rooms nice having a full size fridge to take food and fix small meals in the room on the stove. Just a tip we ate one meal a day out to cut down on cost. We had breakfast there which was good and then chose which meal to eat out for lunch or dinner. Teeters market just down the road for grocery shopping all with many stores for mall shopping. The YORKTOWN is a must do, it's a full day! Lots of history and very reasonable! When you leave it makes you proud and thankful to be an American! It's a beautiful area to just dive around as well. We went to Isle of Palms beach, beautiful area as well! We will always come back here because the staff will coming back we especially love Amy and Seth they create a great atmosphere the first time we were there Amy had a cook out for all the guests lotsa fun!! Y'all are stuck with us!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Savannah-124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Savannah,
It is definitely our pleasure to be stuck with y'all! We only hope that you will come back very soon. Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites and for taking the time to write a review. I'm sure that other guests will find your dining out tips and information about our close proximity to shopping helpful. We are truly fortunate to have a great team at Mainstay Suites. Seth and Amy say "Hey."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

When my sister invited my mother. We found the rest of the hotel staff to be the same, probably because of the fun atmosphere Amy creates. The continental breakfast is very basic, because you can cook in the rooms with Counter top burners. You get a full size fridge, microwave, toaster, and all the dishes and cutlery. This hotel is dated, but we found the room to be fairly quiet, and clean. There are also a couple of charcoal required BBQ,s on which you could cook. This location is just over the bride to Charleston, in Mount pleasant, and only minutes to get downtown. If you are OK with not having your sheets and towels changed daily, this is a great location.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paresh09051968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Paresh,
Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites, and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciated you mentioning our close proximity to the historic downtown Charleston area. Guests can also walk the beautiful Ravenel bridge and take in the breathtaking views of the Charleston Harbor. We hope that you will return to Mainstay Suites again real soon. Amy sends a big hello!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Minor billing issue as they charged us small safe usage and marketing fees which were not on the original reservation. We did not use the safe. In all honesty I did not contest it as we were very happy with the stay as a whole. I'm sure they would have removed the charge had I asked.
Pricing was average for the area, but rooms are bigger.

The rooms were very clean, big and comfortable. Lots of closet and private space. Flat LCD TVs in each area of the suite. But the tubs were rusting through; which was a concern giving my kid a bath. But otherwise would not prevent me from coming back.

Staff were extremely polite and cheerful and provided everything we asked for. Breakfast area is a little small, but food and drink were great. We really enjoyed the outside courtyard and wildlife. Too cold to use the pool, but it is small. Probably sufficient though for hot days.

Had a strange episode with someone yelling outside the window at 3am, but otherwise feels like a very safe area.

Hotel is convenient to the Ravenell bridge/park, Patriot Point, Charleston, Isle of Palms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gh465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear GH465,
Thank you for being a guest at the Mainstay Suites of Mt. Pleasant. We appreciated your business and also thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. Thank you for mentioning that our suites are large. The two bedroom suite features two bedrooms with two separate bathrooms, and there is a common living room and kitchen. I'm sure that other guests will find it helpful that you noted that there are three flat screen TV's in the two bedroom/two bath suites. We hope to see you and your family again soon. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

From the time we walked in to book a room, Amy at the front desk was fabulous. We found the rest of the hotel staff to be the same, probably because of the fun atmosphere Amy creates. The continental breakfast is very basic, because you can cook in the rooms with Countertop burners. You get a full size fridge, microwave, toaster, and all the dishes and cutlery. This hotel is dated, but we found the room to be fairly quiet, and clean. There are also a couple of charcoal required BBQ,s on which you could cook. This location is just over the bride to Charleston, in Mountpleasant, and only minutes to get downtown. If you are OK with not having your sheets and towels changed daily, this is a great location.

Room Tip: If you like the sun and a nicer view, choose the West side, odd numbered rooms to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Joe M,
Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites of Mt. Pleasant. We appreciated you taking the time to write a review of your experience. The entire staff strives to offer "Wow" service, and it was gratifying for each of them to read your review. Thank you for mentioning that every room is equipped with a stovetop and the pots/pans/utensils for cooking. I'm sure that other travelers will find that information helpful. Each room also features a full size refrigerator, full size microwave and a dish washer. We hope that you will return to the beautiful low country and Mainstay Suites soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

When my oldest son got married in Charleston, my wife, daughter, younger son and I wanted to stay someplace reasonably priced. We got a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite for less than half of what 2 rooms in a hotel would have cost, plus we had a full fridge (didn't need the rest of the kitchen). The facility is clean and well-maintained. The suite was comfortably sized, though there wasn't much closet space for the suits and dresses we brought for the rehearsal and wedding. Like most of these longer-term stay hotels, there's no daily cleaning and towel replacement, but we were able to get everything we needed, and the rooms were made up once while we were there. The staff is excellent (kudos to Seth, who works evenings - extremely helpful). The place is great. Very good value and excellent service.

Room Tip: Roads in Mt Pleasant are a little confusing if you don't know the area -- ask at the desk for di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobsoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Congratulations, Father of the Groom!
Thank you for allowing Mainstay Suites to provide your lodging during the wedding celebration. It is our goal to provide guest service that exceeds expectations, and your review is so meaningful for us. Thank you for acknowledging Seth, we are fortunate to have him on our team. We hope that there will be many more family celebrations in the Low Country and look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
#18 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#21 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Mt. Pleasant
Extended Stay America - Charlest...
#22 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt...
#19 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Patriots Point
Best Western Patriots Point
#13 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
749 reviews
4.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt Pleasant
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt ...
#11 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 400 Magrath Darby Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2971
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: £62 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Mount Pleasant
Mainstay Suites Mount Pleasant
Main Stay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing