We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met Our Needs”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were in town for the Charleston Triathlon and stayed the weekend. The hotel could use an update but it was clean and quiet even thought it seemed to be full, especially the first night we were there. The one thing that really stands out about this facility is the staff. I can not say enough about how friendly and helpful they were. The only complaint was that housekeeping came to clean the room two hours before we had checked out our last morning and knocked on the door even though the "Please Do Not Disturb" sign was on the door handle. Great location with easy access to locations in Mt Pleasant and downtown Charleston.

Room Tip: Surprisingly, a first floor room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJL_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for visiting the beautiful Charleston area, and for the opportunity to earn your business. Our team strives to deliver "Wow" service, so it is quiet gratifying when they are recognized. I'm sorry that housekeeping disturbed you on your last morning. We will be sure to address the importance of quiet when Do Not Disturb notices are on the door. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is in a pleasant neighborhood and well-situated for easy access to most tourist attractions in the Charleston area. Staff at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. The continental breakfast bar offered a good variety of pastries, bagels and even oatmeal,

One issue we had is that since housekeeping is not provided daily for extended stay guests we checked twice with the front desk to determine which day our room would be attended to during a 5-night stay. We were assured it would be the day after the third night; but that didn't happen. Staff explained that there had apparently been a mix-up in scheduling.

Minor issues were that one of the two bedrooms in our suite was small and cramped, and an air circulation fan over the doorway to that room was very loud; there was no switch to turn it off. Also, the hotel charges an extra fee per day for use of an in-room safe even if it is not used. This is automatically added to one's bill unless the guest remembers to specifically mention during checkout that the safe was not used.

Overall, however, we enjoyed our stay and would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear TS,
Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites in Mt. Pleasant. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the beautiful Charleston area, that we will have the opportunity to earn your business once again. We apologize for the confusion on the housekeeping schedule and we will check into the breakdown of communication. Hope you have a great summer, filled with wonderful journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We got a decent rate of 99, but there were issues. First, the positives. Staff was very friendly and helpful, location was excellent, and the grounds are nice, especially the outdoor seating by the pond. We had a queen suite that felt small. When we got in the room, our pillows were in the middle of the bed with no pillowcases on them. Our tub was stained and the adhesive mat in it was half unstuck and stained or dirty. The AC unit was noisy. The cable went out for about 30 minutes. Worst of all was that the hot water kept running out. Might have just been our bad luck but can't recommend this one.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear PamnKyle,
Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites. We regret that the accommodations did not meet your accommodations. We appreciated you mentioning our friendly staff and the nice outdoor area in the rear of the hotel. We apologize that there were housekeeping issues, and appreciated you bringing it to our attention so that we could correct it. Again, we are sorry that your room did not meet your accommodations, but do hope that you will return to the beautiful low country of Charleston, SC soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The staff was helpful and always present. Good breakfast with a variety of pastries and old fashioned oatmeal. Yum! I was never kicked off the WIFI system. Kitchen in my room was well stocked and conveniently organized. I'll stay here anytime I'm in the area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank btrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Btrus,
Thank you for visiting the beautiful Charleston area, and for staying at the Mainstay Suites by Choice Hotels. We appreciated the opportunity to earn your business. Sometimes, we are remiss in mentioning that the hotel does provide complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the public areas and the guestrooms. We're glad that the Wi-Fi service was useful to you.

Our franchise just added the old fashioned oatmeal station, and your feedback was most appreciated. We sure hope that your travels will bring you back to the Mainstay Suites of Mount Pleasant, SC very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is my second stay at this property and it was very disappointing. The biggest issue is the staff completely lacks any customer service skills. At this pricing level, people expect to be treated like guests.

We checked in and paid cash for our stay. We had to go back and ask for a receipt. After we went to the room, we noticed there was no drink pitcher. There was one when I stayed there before and I expected it to be there. The front desk clerk, rather than simply offering us another pitcher and apologizing for the inconvenience decided to talk in circles about how there should be a pitcher in the room. If there wasn't, he said, we could use the ice bucket, however that was also not in the room. So we went to bed. No apology, no resolution and no pitcher.

I decided I would try my luck with the day shift clerk. I went down to get breakfast from the continental breakfast (which had no bananas, by the way.) I walked up to the man at the counter who was not friendly and did not greet me. I asked him for a pitcher and he insisted it was in the refrigerator. I assured him it was not. He told me housekeeping would bring me a pitcher. Again, I was treated like an interruption, a nuisance....a problem. That's actually incorrect. I am the customer. I am the source of revenue for the hotel. I am the reason this guy has a job. Too bad he doesn't know it.

15 minutes or so passed and no pitcher. I sent my girlfriend to ask about the pitcher and she was treated rudely and assured the pitcher was coming. Finally, the cleaning lady brought the pitcher. No apology.

When we checked out, the same clerk who was rude earlier was rude again. No thank you, no asking "how was your stay." Nothing. No apology, no customer service, no personality.....nothing.

It's unfortunate that this hotel has earned a bad review on TripAdvisor because of their inability to be nice and provide a $2 plastic pitcher to a guest. The irony is they had a business card out soliciting people to come to this site and write a review. So here you are, MainStay Suites.

The entire staff at this hotel desperately needs retraining. I've stayed at 5-star hotels in big cities and I've stayed at $29 a night motels next to the highway. There is *no* excuse for poor service. So here, for free, are some pointers for their next staff meeting:

-Greet every guest
-Always smile
-Ask the guest how they are doing
-Apologize when there is a problem. Own it and make it right on the spot.
-You have a job because of your customers, not the other way around.

It's too bad, because despite some minor cleanliness issues (a prehistoric potato chip on our kitchen table, dirt around the edge of the shower) this is a decent property with a good location. The customer-facing staff is just terrible.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlestonSC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear CharlestonSC2014,
Thank you for being a repeat guest of the Mainstay Suites at Mount Pleasant. I apologize for the lack of customer service that you experienced during your stay. It is our goal to not just meet, but exceed expectations, and again we apologize for not delivering the customer service that you received during your prior stay. Our franchise, Choice Hotels, establishes the items that we serve at breakfast, but those items do change so perhaps bananas will be offered in addition to the fresh apples in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed in a first floor room near the lobby, facing the patio and pond at the back of the hotel. Pretty standard studio suites hotel room, with full size fridge, dishwasher, two element stove top, microwave, dishes and cutlery for two. In addition to the comfortable bed, the room had a loveseat and table suitable for eating at and as work space. Surprisingly small bathroom. Breakfast was pretty ordinary and breakfast area was too small and under-furnished.

Good location just before the bridge into Charleston.

Few issues - noise from lobby/check-in area, after flushing toilet and tank had refilled, there was annoying gushing sound a few times a minute as the toilet was apparently trying to top up the amount of water in the tank.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear RonW,
Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites near Historical downtown Charleston. We appreciated your business, and also that you took the time to write a review. Thank you for mentioning our close proximity to downtown and our convenience to attractions. It is only through guest feedback that we can improve, and we have addressed the need to keep a more quiet front desk area to prevent noise from filtering into the upstairs rooms. We hope that you will return to the beautiful Charleston Low Country again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed in room 215, just over the lobby. Throughout the day and night, we could hear the front desk phone ring and most conversations that went on in the lobby. I wish we would've asked to stay in another room, because I did not sleep well my entire stay. It was very difficult to get hot water to take a comfortable shower.
The hotel was clean, and near everywhere we wanted to go, and very accessible, right off of 17.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollybr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Hollybr1,
Thank you for staying at Mainstay Suites. We appreciated you mentioning that the hotel was clean and close to Charleston attractions. Our apologies that your room was not restful due to noise filtering up from the lobby telephones and conversations. We will be sure to remind all staff members about quiet time. Thank you again for being a guest of Mainstay Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
#18 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#21 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Mt. Pleasant
Extended Stay America - Charlest...
#22 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt...
#19 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Patriots Point
Best Western Patriots Point
#13 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
749 reviews
4.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt Pleasant
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt ...
#11 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 400 Magrath Darby Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2971
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: £63 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Mount Pleasant
Mainstay Suites Mount Pleasant
Main Stay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing