We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantation Oaks Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This B&B was everything we'd hoped it would be! My husband and I stayed here for two nights as part of our anniversary vacation. We chose to stay in the Cotton Room and it didn't disapoint. It was very clean and quaint and we didn't really have a problem with the detached bathroom as it was just across the hall. Breakfasts were delicious both mornings and the owners and the hostess were very welcoming and informative about the area. The location is great, not too far from the city and the property itself is beautifully situated on the marsh. It is also right around the corner from Boone Plantation, which we enjoyed touring. Great value for the price and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
104
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our recent stay at the inn. The delicious 3-course breakfasts kept us going long past lunch time. The host and his assistant, Shelley, were very friendly and glad to help out with suggestions or information about the area. We liked sitting out on the covered porch to watch the sunset and taking walks out onto the dock. It was also nice to have a TV in our room for after the sun goes down. You will, however, want to remember to bring your own hairdryer.

We enjoyed touring Boone Hall Plantation, which is just a short drive away - it is also a handy spot to turn around if you should miss the inn's driveway. If you turn left out of the inn's driveway, you will soon reach Boone Hall and then Route 17, which makes it easy to drive to either the beach or Charleston. If you turn right, it is just a short drive to Belle Hall Shopping Center, which has plenty of restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: The Indigo Room does face the road, but there is some space and shrubbery in between. Also keep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WNCWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Oh, this place a sweet southern gem of a B&B, with two wonderful owners Steve and Phyllis. I was welcomed into the home and given a tour of the B&B from Phyllis and was instantly excited I chose this place to stay. You can tell the home and grounds are well taken care of and loved from the owners. I own a group travel business and will highly recommend this place to my clients for a comfortable stay. I personally can't wait to return again-hopefully next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trsta75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
340 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in lieu of staying in Charleston. Excellent welcome from our hosts, clean room, covered veranda and outdoor spaces if desired. Right next to Boone plantation can be a plus. Mt. Pleasant is but a 10 minute drive away with a number of good eating locations and downtown Charleston is but 20 minutes away even in "rush hour". Its a B&B so you should not expect the granite and (often fake) marble look of a chain but it makes it up in personality. Huge breakfasts that can see you through to dinner!

Room Tip: Take a room en-suite so you don't have to cross the (small) hall to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank statestreet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

If I could give this place a rating higher then 5, I would! You will not be disappointed with this quaint place. I can not say enough wonderful things about Shelley the hostess, Phyllis & Steve the owners. Real, genuine people who have figured out the secret to running a B&B successfully. Their genuine care and attention to detail is exemplified in every thing they do and in every piece of the property. If only I lived within driving distance, it would be my weekend get away on a regular basis! Their breakfast is top notch and different each day. Seriously, the best B&B ever!!!!! Thank you for raising the bar! If there would be a way for others to learn from Phyllis & Steve, they should. Maybe they can host other B&B runners to see how it's done! :)
One last thing: the most comfortable bed ever. So much so, I am hunting down the exact mattress & pillows to purchase myself. We stayed in the Palmetto room.
It is just down the road from Boone Hall Plantation which was a wonderful day trip.
We even tried to bribe them to let us stay one more night even though they were booked up, even if it meant sleeping on their back yard hammock. Lol

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChocoholicLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights to use it as a base for exploring Charleston and received a real South Carolina welcome. Our room was clean and a good size with a lot of little quirky touches and with a wonderful view of the creek. We really appreciated the shared spaces - each evening we ended up on the covered veranda, chatting with the other guests. And like everyone else, I'm going to mention the breakfasts. Delicious food, multi courses, different every morning, served by Shelly, the housekeeper, who couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.

I would definitely recommend here to any friends who were in the area, and it's on our list of places to visit again without a doubt.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Wildpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

There are too many good things about the Plantation Oaks Inn to mention them all. Beautiful house and rooms in a wonderful setting, just a short 20 minute drive to downtown Charleston. Steve, Phyllis and Shelly are great hosts. Breakfasts were excellent. Rates are extremely reasonable and way better than what you will pay in the city. We enjoy the city a lot but prefer the serenity and peace of a place like this to return to after a busy day. Love this place and will absolutely return.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about the Cotton Room's bathroom being across the hall, don't be. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Pleasant
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Charleston Marriott
#24 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Oaks Inn

Property: Plantation Oaks Inn
Address: 1199 Long Point Rd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-8214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Oaks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the historic property of what was once part of Snee Farm Plantation that was owned by Charles Pinckney signer of the United States Constitution, this luxurious log exterior bed and breakfast is surrounded by 300-year-old oak trees and features a tidal creek and marsh backdrop. There are five cozy guest rooms available, all individually decorated. Whether you seek a comfortable guestroom for your out of town guests or a romantic getaway for yourself, we have the right accommodations for you. Each room is named for symbols of South Carolina and Low Country living. All of our guest rooms have a private bathroom. Whether it's relaxation or recreation, Plantation Oaks Inn in Mt. Pleasant is ideally located for your vacation outings in the Charleston area with many places of interest. At the same time, you will find the peace and quiet you need to relax from the stresses and strains of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Oaks Hotel Mount Pleasant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing