We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Service but Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Patriots Point
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK Service but Good Location”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

No frills and tiny rooms. Bed was somewhat comfortable but acceptable. Front desk polite but housekeeping service sucks. We left one morning and left sign for new towels on the door. Housekeeping still making rounds because they were in the room across the hall. Later that evening we returned with no towels and no towels at the front desk. Perhaps they should buy a few more to have on hand. Also make sure you travel with someone else. We were packing on our departure date at 9am (check-out is not until 12 noon). Come back to the room and the key card was already deactivated! How frustrating. But, this hotel is in a good location. So, if you are looking for a cheaper place to stay with no frills and aren't claustrophobic, this is for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froogletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    223
    111
    69
    45
See reviews for
230
246
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
BurghGirl71
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Clean hotel with bright though rooms. Our room with one queen bed, a sleeper sofa and a dorm size fridge and microwave (including a small set of cabinets and a granite counter top (!) and small sink) was on the small side. Instead of a closet it had a wardrobe that took up a good bit of space. It had a window seat and a desk in the sitting area. The bathroom was small. That was OK for a few days since we weren't in the room all that much. It was clean. Had all the usual amenities including a coffeemaker and a hair dryer. The pool was quite small and there was no changing area. No restaurant. Decent free breakfast, included make-your-own waffles, a variety of bread, small bagels, muffins and danish. Scrambled eggs were shaped and sized like thin-sliced hockey pucks. Also, hot items included biscuits and gravy. Cereals and instant oatmeal. Yogurt was Dannon LIght N Fit with loads of artificial sweeteners ( but no regular yogurt.) Coffee, hot water, teas, OJ and apple juice, milk. Fruit included bananas and apples.

The big appeal here was the proximity to Patriots Point, great local restaurants and the historic area of Charleston across the stunning Ravenel Bridge. (10-15 min and you are parked)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurghGirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights while in the Charleston area. You literally drive across the bridge and you're in Charleston (5 minutes max.). Rooms were clean and comfortable. A/C was quiet. Seems like a safe area to stay in. The room was a little on the small side, but adequate. Continental breakfast was decent, but had the same thing every day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Stayed here passing through Charleston, great location!, the room was fine. Service is great!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We enjoyed our stay there for 3 nights. The rooms were spotless, comfortable,quiet and if that were not enough extremely affordable!! Our house keepers even folded our towels in pretty little fan shapes (last time someone did that for me was on a cruise ship).
At breakfast we enjoyed biscuits and gravy, eggs and even fresh waffles we made ourselves, all included of course. The Location couldn't be any better. Downtown Charleston was right over the bridge 5- 10 minutes, Fort Sumter cruise right down the street. Sullivan's Island and Isle of Palms beaches were approx a 15 minute drive, in fact we drove to the beach every evening to sit , relax and cool off. A perfect end to a day full of site seeing and extreme heat!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fezziewhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, WA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Spent one night at the Patriots Point Best Western and while everything wasn't perfect it was a good place to stay. The location is great. Charleston is only minutes away. We could easily jump on the highway and cross the bridge into old Charleston in less than 10 minutes. The room was clean but not overly spacious. I noted a pecular odor in the hallway but my wife/family did not. The pool area needed some cleanup from both mother nature and previous guests (leaf debris, wrappers, etc). My only real "complaint" would be the breakfast area. It is WAY too small for a place this big. We struggled to get a place to sit and eat. The food was good though. All and all I would give this place a thumbs up for its location and good pricing.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_from_Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

First and foremost, if you are planning a trip to the Charleston area and are entertaining the idea of visiting the historic sites on either side of the harbor, then the location cannot be beat. It is literally just across the bridge into Mt. Pleasant, and located minutes from the major attractions at Patriots Point, within short walking distance of several restaurants, and just a short 10-minute drive into downtown Charleston.

The rooms are not huge, but at a small "highway hotel", that isn't what I expected. We had a king bed and had plenty of room, especially since we weren't planning on spending a lot of time in the room. The bathroom was quite spacious with a large shower-only bath setup. The bed was comfortable and the room was quite clean. The housekeeping staff was a little slow on getting clean towels to the room after cleaning, but the front desk clerk was helpful and we had fresh towels shortly after inquiring.

Side note: I've seen a handful of reviews lambasting this property for "tiny" rooms and other seemingly exaggerated complaints about the setup and operations of the hotel. Travelers, you need to research the property before booking. Know what you're getting. Best Westerns in general are not world-class luxury hotels. They are generally smaller, limited service motels and "highway" hotels that offer convenience and comfort. If you're expecting the Ritz-Carlton, then you will be disappointed. But if you want a clean comfortable room at a very reasonable price (about $80 in peak travel season), then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exterior_corridors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#19 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt...
#20 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
#15 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Mount Pleasant
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Patriots Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Patriots Point

Property: Best Western Patriots Point
Address: 259 Magrath Darby Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2983
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Patriots Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will enjoy this hotel's convenient access to the Charleston Historic District without paying downtown Charleston hotel rates. Located in the heart of Mount Pleasant, the Best Western Patriots Point is only minutes away from the beautiful Historic District where visitors can stroll along the cobble-stone streets, shop and dine in beautiful Charleston. Hotel guests will also find Patriots Point Maritime Museum, Fort Sumter and the Patriots Point Golf Course and Marina nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Patriots Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Patriots Point Hotel Mount Pleasant
Patriots Point Best Western
Best Western Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing