We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, fun time”

Segway of Charleston Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 32 Tours in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Segway of Charleston Offers Guided Historic/Scenic Tours and Half and Full Day Rentals. One hour and two hour tours available at 9:30am, 12:30pm and 3:30pm Monday through Sunday. A Segway PT (Personal Transporter) is a self-balancing, two-wheeled vehicle that is a fun, easy, eco-friendly way to tour and travel Charleston. Segway of Charleston offers tours from its location on Coleman Boulevard. These tours highlight the rich history and inherent beauty of Charleston.The Patriots Point Tour glides along smooth sidewalks, nature trails, piers and grass. The tour includes scenic destinations such as USS Yorktown, Ravenel Bridge, Charleston Harbor, Downtown Battery and a two-mile nature path that leads to a lookout dock offering scenes of Fort Sumter and Charleston's skyline.The Old Village Tour, a one-hour excursion through seven stops, includes historic homes, churches and a Masonic lodge, as well as Revolutionary and Civil War landmarks. Riders will enjoy countless picturesque locations and vistas of the Charleston Harbor. The one-hour Pitt Street Bridge Tour presents tour-goers six charming stops and an abundance of unique sites. A brief history of the Old Village starts the tour before proceeding to Alhambra Hall, overlooking Charleston Harbor, and the breezes of Cove Inlet and Pitt Street Bridge. The final tour combines the Old Village and Pitt Street Bridge Tours,and is two hours in length. Riding on an electric vehicle is a quiet, fun, unique way to quickly cover a lot of ground and take in both the scenic and historic. Come enjoy the glide!! Directions: 695 Coleman Blvd. Turn into GDC Home Furniture and go around the very back of the building to a big gravel parking lot and you will see another building attached which is our office. Please call to schedule tours.
Oakland Park, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming, fun time”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Tour is of the Old Village in Mt. Pleasant--not Charleston. I think Segway tours are really more the experience on the Segway and not the sights. Our guide, Jennifer, was a real trooper. When one of our Segways got a flat, she gave up hers and jogged the rest of the tour. While that was commendable, the owner of the company should be more prepared for mishaps and have back-up Segways available. In all, the tour was fun and it was a low traffic area so we didn't need to worry much about cars. Jennifer, although a relative newbie to the area was very knowledgeable of the history and showed us a very fun time. Don't be afraid to try a Segway. They're easy to learn and so much fun.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    7
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun for all ages!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My mom and I went on our first Segway tour and can't say enough great things about the experience. We are in our 40's and 60's and had no problem learning how to use/maneuvering the Segways and the 2 hour trip wasn't difficult to sustain. Our guide, Jennifer did an outstanding job of training us on how to use, being informative and entertaining on our tour. Her enthusiasm and knowledge made it even more enjoyable. Coconut cake at Village Bakery is a must! I highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting an enjoyable, informative, entertaining, and not as commercialized Charleston experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AWtravels477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was our first segway tour and we are now hooked on segways! The two hour tour was so much fun and our guide was very informative and showed us so many places. At the end of the tour, our guide let us loose in an area so we could play around a bit. He even took video for us. We definitely recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see the old historic homes, learn more about the Village and have fun. Great for all ages. WE LOVED IT!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lck7960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our best Segway tour so far!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

When we travel we try to take the local Segway tour. Out of all of them, this one was the best! We thoroughly enjoyed the laid back style of the tour, the old neighborhoods, and eating at the local icehouse - Reds. Tac (our guide and the owner of the company) was knowledgable, friendly, helpful and interesting. We would take the tour again in a heart beat.
One thing to remember, the office is attached to the backside of the furniture store and is a little hard to find.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't Be Better!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

First of all, "Tac", short for "Tackle-box", (I'll leave it to him to give you the full story behind his nickname) was probably the most fun and personable young man I've ever encountered on a sightseeing tour. He's knowledgeable of the history surrounding the "old towne"; he's attentive to the expectations of his customers; he's delightfully witty; and he can guide you to the best milkshake you've ever tasted.

So... if you're ever in the Charleston area and want to experience the excitement of touring on a Segway, and you want to learn some of Charleston's fascinating history from a great guy, then you can't go wrong with Segway of Charleston. You'll have a great time and believe me... you'll want to come back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank theChev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Segway of Charleston Day Tours also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Segway of Charleston Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing