We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Unimpressive" Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel while in town for a wedding. The hotel and rooms were very clean although the rooms seemed a little dated. Our room wasn't ready when we checked in around 3:15 so they gave us another room. (We had to be ready for a 5:30 p.m. wedding.) The room that they replaced contained a single bed rather than the king we had reserved. The mattress was very soft and in need of replacement. The multitude of pillows was a nice perk though.

The hotel is conveniently located to local beaches, restaurants, shopping, etc. and to Charleston, SC. The staff was very friendly was considerate of our time constraint. We felt the room rate was a little high considering it was one of the hotels reserved by the bride and groom at a "reduced" rate.

Not sure if we would choose this hotel again because of our experience and the availability of numerous other hotels in the area. It was clean, however, and filled our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ginger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Although, our normal scheduled check in time is after 3pm we will always take into consideration those guest's that need early check ins. With a full house the night before and several late check outs that morning it made it difficult for our housekeeping department to get all our rooms ready at 3pm. I'm terribly sorry for this inconvience and hope that you weren't too late for the wedding. Also regarding the room rate. All wedding groups that have blocked rooms at this property are given a special discounted rate. When their guest's reserve rooms within the required time frame they will be given this discounted rate. If you believe there was an error in your rate please don't hesitate to contact me at your convenience and I will be happy to look into this for you. Thank you again, and hope you will come back to see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were supposed to stay here for 4 nights and only stayed one in a two bedroom "suite". We arrived late that night or may have left sooner. Room was dark and dingy and felt dirty. Couch was extremely worn and stained. Furniture was old and chipped. TV in one of the rooms wasn't working and appliances looked outdated as well. We are big fans of Marriott, platinum members, have stayed at all their brand hotels and always choose to stay at one if possible. This was the worst by far. The nice lobby is not representative of the actual hotel rooms. Surprised Marriott would want to represent this hotel. Checked out and checked into the Courtyard in the Historic District of Charleston. So happy we did.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, General Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Stacey,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced. We truly appreciate you sharing your concerns with us. Your feedback is important and will be forwarded to both the housekeeping and maintenance departments in order to use as a training tool to provide better service to our guests. Thank you again for your time. We hope you will give us another try in the near future.

Regards,
Jennifer B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Overall, this is probably one of the oldest Residence Inn I've stayed at and it was not cheap. It is dated and could use more staff for the amount of people staying over a July 4th week/weekend. The staff members are very nice people and forthcoming/helpful with the local attractions. Our first night was not pleasant (top floor room); the shower was leaking into the kitchen area and flooded the floor in the kitchen. I'm surprised they didn't know and rented out that room. So I had to pack up AGAIN a family of 4 to another room. They didn't offer any staff to help with the move but then again, there was only 1 person manning the front desk. Then on another night, there was a big bug that looked like a cockroach in the room. I couldn't catch it and called the front desk to get the bug. She caught it and said it was a waterbug. That was the only time I saw the bug. With all these events, we still paid alot of $ for this single room, $269/night for last 2 nights and $189/night for 1st two nights. TV was very low quality with blurry vision and the Wifi was spoty. This Residence Inn was not worth that at all! I really enjoyed the Charleston area but not this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luv-to-travel-always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Greetings!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I'm terribly sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your visit. It's never our intention for any guest to leave not feeling 100% satisfied with their stay. I have passed along all your concerns to each of my department heads to ensure this doesn't happen again. I will also forward this to our management staff regarding your comments with renovations.
Once again, I'm terribly sorry for the issues you had during your stay. Please feel free to contact me at anytime.

Sincerely,
Scott L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I was here for a whole week while on work and I have no complaints about the hotel at all. Clean rooms, the front desk staff were pretty awesome, good breakfast, and close to restaurants, Regal Theater, and other shopping stores. There's also a Target a mile away which is around a 20 minute walk. Very easy to get to.

The only "bad" thing about this hotel it's miles away from the city center and apart from what's around, you really need a car to get to places. Taxis in the area are non existent so you have to call them.

But great service over all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, General Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Greetings!
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We hope you had a good time in Charleston/Mt. Pleasant. Hopefully, we will see you again on your next work visit.

Best Regards,
Jennifer B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The staff is very nice and the breakfast was really good. But the room was not that clean and the most insupportable thing is the air conditioner, the installation was in kind of closet right next to the bed what a brilliant idea (no sleep during all my stay) and impossible to change from room since they are all the same. The mattress was so fluffy that I’ve to relax my back down on the carpet nearly each night and the carpet not always cleaned up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rym D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLB0211, General Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Ms. Rym,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced. Our hotel takes great pride in exceeding our guests expectations so your feedback is very important to us. We truly appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so that we may use it as learning tool inorder to provide exceptional service in the future.

Thank you again for your time. We hope to see you soon!

Regards,

Jennifer B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom suite while on vacation. Free breakfast and dinner/drinks in the evenings like other Residence Inns, though I thought the evening food was better than most. The location is great ... about a 5 minute drive to the beach, and next door to several grocery stores, restaurants, and other shopping ... about 20 minutes to downtown Charleston also. Would recommend staying here for anyone traveling with a family to the Charleston beach that wants a Marriott property.

Only suggestion I would have for the hotel would be to add more kids channels to the TV lineup (and the TV reception was awful in our room). With this being a very family friendly location, a few more kids options would've been great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawrencemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLB0211, General Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Greetings from the Residence Inn Mt. Pleasant!

Thank you so much for staying with us. We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide the best possible hotel experience and your feedback is greatly important to us. We thank you for sharing your thoughts with us so that we can continue providing our guests an outstanding experience.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Regards,

Jennifer B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Had wonderful time! Accommodations were great! Staff was friendly and fun! Very well kept! Even got to watch the Netherlands and Costa Rica game with one of the staff members who was from Costa Rica! It was fun and exciting! A+++...close to everything and just all around in a good location!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLB0211, General Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Ben,
Thank you so much for your recent review. We are delighted to hear you had a great time during your stay. And what a game! I know Marilynd (Costa Rica) was disappointed with the final outcome.

Hopefully, we will see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Jennifer B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt Pleasant
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt ...
#11 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant
Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasan...
#12 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
327 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant

Address: 1116 Isle of Palms Connector, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-9415
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: £125 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Mount Pleasant Hotel Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing