We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow small quarters”

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tallmadge, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wow small quarters”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Wow small quarters here. I now know I'm not cut out to be in the navy. Self guided tour. Real interesting to go through the submarine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    37
    21
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing sense of history”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My hubby, his friend and I went on a Sunday in the early afternoon. I have no interest in history but this was fascinating. It took us about 5 hours, but we walked fast. I would recommend bringing bottled water and dollar bills for the vending machine drinks, we were HOT! We did the flight simulator and all of the self guided tours. We were not impressed with the only food vendor, the food was not tasty, but the drinks were cold. Walking through the ships and the sub and seeing how our veterans were so cramped for space and gave us so much was amazing. I would recommend this to anyone, but would caution small children or the elderly or disabled. There are a ton of narrow, steep steps, so a stroller or wheelchair would not be possible. I don't know how easy it would be to carry a small child up and down all these steps.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank becky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“sight”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a very nice and well kept sight to see. The designer had an amazing idea and it is nicely executed. We enjoy visiting this memorial when we are in town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lennexmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Visited for July 4th - stayed on flight deck. You can't bring any food or drink. They only had 2 food booths (same vendor "Sticky Fingers" and 2 wine booths. Long, long lines. Hamburgers, hot dogs, ribs or pulled pork. Most people felt it was very expensive but no other choices!!!! Fire works was wonderful - the best. Won't try it again next year.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An honorable memorial”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Not much to do or look at here, but it is a nice memorial for those that were lost at sea. A few things to read and locations of lost subs

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Patriots Point Cold War Submarine Memorial also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Patriots Point Cold War Submarine Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing