We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep your receipt because they will add their own tip.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Senor Tequila

Senor Tequila
Ranked #130 of 327 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Keep your receipt because they will add their own tip.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

About 2 yrs ago,my co worker complained about the restaurant overcharging his debit card.Anyway last Friday I ordered a tea and ACP. The food was delicious and fast as usual. I left a tip on the table and put a big 0 on the receipt's tip line and wrote in the total amount. Today while looking at my bank statement I see the meal costs me $15.44 which is $5 more than what I had on the receipt. My food was $9 something. .. can't find my receipt. Will not return. Food was good but I don't like shady establishments.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonRan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Agree, don't go here. ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Standard Mexican food. Nothing special. Tons of boring beef covered in salt and generic cheese sauce. They don't understand English well enough to understand that we did not like the flavor of the fajitas at all. We asked them to bring out something else. This never happened. The next time we saw our server, he brought the check. The item we complained about was still on there and we never saw the replacement. Took 15 minutes of talking to the manager to come to come to an agreement, which was to pay for half of the bad fajitas that we did not eat. The rest of the food was not good either, but was not worth complaining about. Just wanted to get out of there asap.

Helpful?
Thank Darksabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Avoid this place. Service was horrible. Food was like frozen mexican from grocery. This is the only review I have ever done. I just don't want anyone to have to experience this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Star M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A smile would be nice.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Coming from North Carolina where there are quite a few Mexican Restaurant possibilities, we were surprised to find it difficult to find them in the Charleston area. We visited here based on reviews, one especially mentioned the friendly wait staff. I must say we did not find this. The person who seated us, never acknowledged us or spoke to us. Just started walking toward a booth and laid the menus down. He looked annoyed. My daughter even mentioned something, and she usually has her nose buried in her phone and doesn't pick up on those things. The food did come out quickly, but no one ever came around to refill cups. My husband had to flag another waiter for a refill, but by then we were nearly done with our meals. I also need to mention that there were maybe 4 other tables with patrons and the restaurant was nearly empty. Food was average. We won't be back. Maybe we 've learned a lesson to avoid Mexican while in Charleston. We were kind of wanting something besides seafood, but I think it will be Italian.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tocare4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Standard Mexican Fair - Good - Consistent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The food is very good. The noise level is very high. Service is fast, respectful but not necessarily friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMPofCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Senor Tequila also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Senor Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing