We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”
Review of Basil Thai

Basil Thai
Ranked #21 of 340 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I went here for my bday Saturday night with my mom. We sat upstairs (no wait as compared to 45 min wait downstairs) and sat in a great booth. The upstairs has a big bar and outdoor patio and was really full. I am still dreaming of our food, and can't wait to go back. I had garlic pepper chicken (I added basil and onions) and my mom had shrimp stuffed with chicken. Both dishes were soooooooo good!! My mom's scotch was a bit watered down, which was the only negative side to our outing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank labradorlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    63
    17
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

I dined at Basil's again....and once again, I am compelled to write a fllowup to my previous review.

Basil Thai resturaunt has become one of my all time favorites even though I have never been a big fan of Thai food. I eat at Basil's a couple of times a month. I love their Tilapia and shrimp dishes. This is a well managed resturant. The quality is consistent and it is exceptionally clean, with immaculate restrooms. Having dined in a thousand or more eateries, I have discovered one often need look no further than the restrooms to determine what they might expect of a dining experience. Dirty restrooms are a universal sign of a poorly managed resturuant. Most professionally trained chefs won't tolerate sanitaion issues. I can tell Basil's attention to detail starts with the fundementals....sanitaion and food safety....immaculate. Basil's has invested heavily in creating a interesting atmosphere. They offer outdoor dining on a beautiful lagoon and the have a fantastic upscale bar upstairs that also offers outdoor seating. Basil's prices are reasonable, and their wait staff is professional. All their meals are cooked to order and you can see your meal being prepared....so allow a little extra time for your dining experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdvRider_IOP_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Awesome place, awesome food”
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

If you are in South Carolina for long enough, the great seafood and low country cooking are going to take a deservable front seat at night. But don't be afraid to take a break later in the week and head to this place. Really cool bar upstairs and extraordinary food up and down the menu. Believe them when they say the duck is special, it will blow you away! Everything is great, and don't be afraid to have them dial up the spice!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorkplaceXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A Great Meal”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Looking for a restaurant with good Thai cuisine? Well, I've got a treat for you! Earlier this week we had lunch at Basil Thail Cuisine on King Street in Charleston. We enjoyed the food so much that we decided to go to its sister restaurant in Mount Pleasant. Two restaurants with the same menu could not have been more different. The one downtown is hustle and bustle with friendly helpful staff but the one on Long Grove Drive is more low key. The staff here is also friendly and professional but the ambience is totally different; it is sleek and modern with a quiet, contemporary atmosphere. I ordered basil rolls (spring rolls) and my husband enjoyed the egg rolls. After sharing the appetizers, he ordered cashew nuts that he had had downtown and enjoyed so he ordered it again and was equally pleased. I had Pad Kee Mow on King Street, loved it but tried something different here and ordered my old stand-by Pad Thai which was very good---I ordered it mild but could have rated medium. It had a great flavor with both chicken and shrimp...could have used more shrimp, though. The basil rolls also could have had more shrimp.The experience was enjoyable and we'll definitely return to this restaurant...the Mount Pleasant Basil Thai is preferable but you can't go wrong at either place. We just preferred the slower pace and ambience of the Mount Pleasant restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basil Thai also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Basil Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing