We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour!”

Yorktown Ghost Tours
Ranked #3 of 31 Tours in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Listed as a must do by the Today Show and Family Circle Magazine, this exclusive guided tour explores the unexplained mysteries of the USS Yorktown in historic Charleston, SC. Hear stories of sacrifice and devastation as this tour ventures into areas normally restricted to the public. Learn of the strange activity that has been documented and reported including the startling results of the investigation by Syfy Channel's "Ghost Hunters".
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This tour offers a great mix of history and stories of the paranormal! Our guide was Cameron, who was very knowledgeable about the history of and interesting stories pertaining to the ship. The tour takes you to several places throughout the ship, even some places that are generally not accessible to the public. A story accompanies each stop and you are allotted time to take pictures to see if you can capture anything out of the ordinary on your own! The guide also carries an iPad to show pictures of paranormal occurrences captured on the ship. If you are looking for a history-infused paranormal tour in Charleston, I highly recommend a USS Yorktown Ghost Tour!

Helpful?
Thank swimboy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    25
    5
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Would do 3 1/2 stars if I could...”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a good time and the tour was interesting. The stories of others ghost encounters were fun to hear. We were able to visit the flight deck and the bunking areas.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank budbrlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Visit soon for a chance to talk with WWII veteran volunteers!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

As grandparents visiting the Yorktown with our grandchildren, ages 7, 10 and 11, we didn't have the time or energy to take in the whole site where you could easily spend a full day. We were ready to leave after about 3 hours when we encountered an 88 year old veteran of WWII and the Korean conflict, a former Navy Seal. What an experience with living history! Our grandchildren were enthralled. I'm sure there will always be veterans who volunteer at the site but it won't be long before the WWII vets are no longer there to tell the story firsthand. Go now!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank savannahtraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A treat!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Fun tour! Our guide was outstanding and knowledgable of both the history of the ship and the paranormal sightings and experiences on board. It was warm but not unbearable and the view from the flight deck was stunning. I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank aem2228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reidsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yorktown ghost tour”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was a very informative and interesting walk around the SS Yorktown. The tour guide was very knowledgable about the aircraft carrier and it's ghostly history and sightings. The boat was hot, but not unbearable. This was not a "scary" tour for me but more historical. I enjoyed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yorktown Ghost Tours also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Yorktown Ghost Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing