We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find!”

Old Village Post House Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Village Post House Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 330 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Venning
Description: Two stylishly comfortable private dining rooms, tasty food, drink and hospitality: all in Mount Pleasant's treasured Old Village.
Greenville, sc
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere and service. We were lucky to find such a unique dining experience and will return. We had the trout, vegetable plate and burger. All were pleased with presentation and taste. Manager visited table to check on our experience...it was a very nice evening! Beautiful old home.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dnelsoninslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    81
    30
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive over to Mount Pleasant ....”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Visitors staying in historical downtown Charleston may well ask the question “Is it worth driving all the way over the bridge to Mount Pleasant to eat at the Village Post House when there are so many good restaurants right here in town?” The short answer is “Yes. Definitely.” The long answer is ...



The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed in an informal way you don’t usually find in the historical district, but the staff are very professional, attentive and knowledgeable about the history of the building and the menu. Darrin the bartender mixes a good cocktail and answered every question we had about the menu (and his favorite sport - disc/frisbee golf) as we sat at the cosy bar enjoying a pre-dinner drink. 



Christina our hostess showed a genuine interest in us knowing it was our first visit and also pointed out some helpful details about some of the signature dishes on the menu. It’s difficult to find a mediocre or disappointing crab soup in Charleston ... the standards on this ‘standard’ are very high, pretty much everywhere you go ... including here. It was confirmed the soup was not of the ‘she’ variety, but it was probably the best crab soup we’ve tasted and that includes the ‘she’ variety served at a few of the big name establishments in town. 

If you like your shrimp and grits on the spicy end of the taste spectrum you should order it here. Delicious. My wife likes trout, but usually steers clear as she hates even the smallest or finest of bones in her fish. Assured by the waiter, she ordered it and thoroughly enjoyed two perfectly cut fillets which were cooked to perfection.

The good people of Mount Pleasant are lucky to have this restaurant in their neighborhood. We were there on a Tuesday night and the locals were dropping in to the main dining room for dinner at a steady pace. Check it out. We did and we’ll be back for more on our next trip to Charleston.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TarHeelTraveler286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tavern”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had an early dinner at this beautiful tavern. The hamburgers were the best we have ever had and the service was warm and efficient. We loved our visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank truetexangurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in the old village area of Mount Pleasant, we found is the Post House to be excellent in every way. It has multiple dining areas which offer whatever atmosphere you choose. The fine dining area is a white table cloth old Charleston style room. The bar area has both tables and seating at the bar for a more relaxed setting. The garden area is a great place for a fresco dining or small gatherings on weather friendly evenings.
The food was very tasty with excellent presentation and quality. We ate in the bar, which offers a bar menu as well as the fine dining menu. The she crab soup was very well done- not too heavy and a unique flavor with just enough spice and sherry. The traditional shrimp and grits dish was excellent as was the bar menu fish tacos. Service was impeccable and friendly, the house wines are very good and one can get excellent food, great atmosphere and service for a reasonable price. Another hidden gem!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2Dox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistantly one of the best restaurants in the Charleston area”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Having dined at a number of Charleston area restaurants over the years we find that this establishment is constantly excellent in the areas of service, ambiance, and food. We make several trips a year mainly to stay and dine at the Old Village Post House. Love the Tavern room and the courtyard, great Sunday brunch, best shrimp and grits, eggs Benedict with perfectly poached eggs, wonderful house made pimento cheese.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Village Post House Inn also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Village Post House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing