We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Mount Pleasant
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We HIGHLY recommend staying here!!! The place is modern, clean and very reasonably priced. Location is close to all the attractions in Mt Pleasant & Charleston. Close to great restaurants and shopping too. Staff is helpful and friendly! Would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: No fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0242, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Mount Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are conveniently located to all of the hot spots in the beautiful Charleston area. We are so happy you enjoyed this convenience. Our rooms are newly renovated and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and our exceptional service. We look forward to seeing you again on your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Being unfamiliar with Red Roof motels in general and the newly upgraded ones called Red Roof Plus, as well as the Mount Pleasant-Charleston area, we were pleasantly surprised. Had I made reservations earlier I could have requested a room with a fridge and a microwave for a slightly higher rate. We knew we were going into a no-frills type establishment but the location was good and the price was right. We expressed this when we checked in on Friday or Saturday. We were told that if we asked again Sunday afternoon we could probably move to a room with those additional amenities. They were totally booked in advance for that weekend (and most weekends.) When the time came to upgrade our room we decided we were doing just fine where we were. I had found a coupon for a reduced rate on our basic-type room. They honored it cheerfully after the weekend. (TIP: Weekend rates are higher in the Charleston-Mount Pleasant area.) Our room was recently redone, was attractive and very clean, plus we had excellent daily service. The bed and linens were very good. We had plenty of hot water. The ice machine was near our room and never ran out of crystal clear ice. True, we did not have coffee in our room but it was available in the lobby. It would have been nice to have breakfast at the motel but there is a Huddle House a block away. We felt very safe in our room and out doors even at night. There are lawn swings and a barbeque grill out back. There are several other restaurants and shopping within walking distance. The Red Roof Plus is near the Mount Pleasant Visitors Center and the Ravenal Bridge which connects Mount Pleasant to Charleston. We were able to book the Lowcountry Loop Trolley through the Mount Pleasant Visitors Center to take us to the Charleston Visitors Center and back for $5 each, which is far better than driving and paying parking in Charleston! We could have also taken a water taxi from Patriots Point, also near the motel, for $10 each. We will probably stay in this same motel when we return to the area. As I said at the beginning of this review, we were unfamiliar with Red Roof. We found out that the older Red Roof inns are gradually upgrading to Red Roof Plus status as they are remodeled and redecorated. If this one is an example of the trend we will be looking for other Red Roof Plus motels on future travels.

Room Tip: TIP # 1: Weekend rates are higher in the Charleston-Mount Pleasant area. TIP #2 Book as early as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0242, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Mount Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am so pleased to know we were able to meet your expectations. This is a great area and very conveniently located. We look forward to serving you again on your future visits to our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stopped to check in around 1:30 pm and the rooms wasn't available so we were given directions to Isle of Palms so we went for a drive. When we returned, we were given a room on the 2nd floor right near the stairs. The hotel is older and the rooms are small - it was difficult to find a place for our suitcases - we had to lay them in the middle of the floor as there are no luggage racks. The bathroom was just a little hole in the wall & our bathroom door would not shut unless you pushed very hard near the top of the door. The room was very dark; however, we didn't like keeping the curtains open because everyone coming up the stairs looked straight in our room. I will say that the bed was very comfortable and the rooms have been re-done.The next day we visited Patriots Point and toured the USS Yorktown, USS Clamagore and the USS Laffey. We were gone for a good part of the day and when we returned to our room around 2 pm the room had not been cleaned. We were tired and wanted to relax but we thought we better do something else so our room would get cleaned. We returned after 4 pm and the bed was made but there were no hand towels, washcloths or kleenex. I called down to the front desk and she said she would have somebody bring us the requested items. By the time we went to dinner, we still had not seen anybody. After dinner, we came back and there were no towels so we went down to the front desk and were given the items that we had requested. The service here was pretty non-existent so I would never book a room at a Red Roof Inn again, regardless of the price.

Room Tip: I would request a room away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0242, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Mount Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

I just wanted to thank you for sharing your experience. We are continuously working to improve our service. I apologize for the poor housekeeping and having to retrieve your towels yourself. This is not acceptable and I offer my sincere apologies. I will address these concerns to ensure, it does not happen again. I hope that you will give us another chance to deliver the exceptional service we pride ourselves on when you are in the Charleston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very basic, no frills standard king room (no coffee in room) but clean and good sized. Nice pillows on bed. Very noisy cooling unit on wall next to bed. One minor annoyance: upon checking in, I was advised that a $1.50 charge was included on the bill for use of the room safe but that it would be removed upon request at checkout. (They wouldn't remove the charge at check-in.) I remembered to ask for the credit at checkout but I wonder how many guests forget to ask.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TKD_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0242, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Mount Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. I would like to take this opportunity to let you know we have a selection of room types now that we are a Red Roof Inn Plus. We offer premium rooms with in room coffee, take away breakfast and snacks, micro/fridge, and larger work area. The safe is an offered an amenity that can be declined, we do not charge you if you chose not to use this. I apologize it has to be taken off at check out, this is for privacy reasons. I again thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we invite you back to try one of our upgraded rooms when you visit the Charleston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

A lot of positive comments for this hotel: speedy check-in, nice front desk lady, room looked new with modern finishes, room was spotless. Room was serviced every day. It was close to a bus stop and that bus line took you straight into downtown Charleston to the Visitor's Center. The hotel is in a nice area where I felt fine to walk and jog. It's also right next to many stores you might need.
Only 2 negatives: I would have liked a fridge in the room and and breakfast buffet. Other than that I would recommend highly.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0242, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Mount Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We have a great location close to Patriots Point, The Waterfront Park, and lots of good restaurants. We are happy to know we met your needs and provided you with no less than a good experience. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again soon while visiting the beautiful city of Charleston,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I took a quick trip to Charleston for weekend. The room was modern, clean, and met our expectations. Staff was very friendly and professional. The only negative - the A/C unit fan was a little loud then normal along with the bathroom fan.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tednjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0242, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Mount Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased you chose Red Roof Inn. Our location is very convenient to all the great restaurants and all the beautiful City has to offer. I will look into the noisy unit and get that addressed. Again, thank you for staying with us and come back and see us when you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We were pleased with our stay. Rooms were clean. Staff was pleasant. Although we didn't use the pool because we had other plans it looked clean. I loved the new floors and the sink!! We will stay again if in the area. No complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bambi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0242, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Mount Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for sharing. We are happy to know you enjoyed your family vacation. We offer a great location when visiting the downtown area and the beautiful local beaches. We hope you will chose us again when returning to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Patriots Point
Best Western Patriots Point
#13 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#22 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
#19 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Mt. Pleasant
Extended Stay America - Charlest...
#23 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
104 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Mount Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Mount Pleasant

Address: 301 Johnnie Dodds Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2901
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#6 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: £59 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Plus+ Mount Pleasant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotel in Hilton Head that is recommended for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Red Roof Inn, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Mount Pleasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Mount Pleasant Hotel Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing