We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great space and location, needs a lot of maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cottages on Charleston Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We rented a cottage (#2) for my sister's wedding so that we could have extra space as "wedding hq" and have people over, could get ready there, etc. The cottages are in a great location, and we've stayed at the harbor resort hotel before, so the cottages share a parking lot with the hotel and was easy to meet up with other guests. The cottage had 2 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, an awesome screened in porch the length of the house, that opened up onto a little grassy yard with views of the harbor. Amazing views, could not be beat! But....this cottage needed some maintenance for the price of it. For the price, I kind of expected it to be in better condition. I understand waterfront homes take a toll with the salty air and humidity, but still, a little paint and new caulk could go a long way.

Room Tip: cottage #2 was nice. #1 is right next to the hotel pool and grounds so that'd be too noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelreimagined_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for The Cottages on Charleston Harbor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

There is not a more perfect, idyllic place to stay. From the moment we arrived, container ships and cruise ships put on a constant "welcome to Charleston Harbor" display. The gas fireplaces, even in summer, are very romantic. Our cottage was equipped with a Bose sound system that sounded like our very own personal symphony. The beds are super comfortable and the furnishings are perfect for the setting. If you're into history, the aircraft carrier Yorktown and other Navy ships are right across the parking lot. Not far from there is Sullivans Island from where you have a great view of Fort Sumpter. It's awesome to stand on the spot where the first shots were fired in the Civil War. There is so much to see and do in Charleston but The Cottages make you want to just stay there and relax. The staff is wonderful and very attentive. You could not ask for more.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage 6 (two bedroom) and it has a fabulous view of the bay and harbor. Cottage 1 pr...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The Cottages is the perfect getaway if you are looking forward to a relaxing weekend. My boyfriend and I stayed there this past weekend for Valentines Day and it was hard for us to leave! The staff was very friendly and helpful. A big thank you to James for recommending restaurants to us and even booked our reservations. Unfortunately due to the weather, we were unable to go but we did try another restaurant he recommended and it was great. The cottage was very clean, the bed was comfortable ( I slept like a baby), and the bathroom was very impressive. We booked a couples massage prior to arriving and the ladies were at our cottage on time and did a superb job. I wouldnt change anything about this place. We will definitely be returning. And for those that are looking to stay here and is using the reviews to make your decision, PLEASE disregard the negative reviews because clearly they are exaggerating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LacoryaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Glad we found this place!!! Beautifully maintained, clean, private---just about everything you would want for a vacation accommodation. The place was so relaxing that it was hard to leave to go sightseeing. Absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: Stayed in cottage #10-overlooking the lagoon not the harbor. Lovely!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amh3348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Our Company booked 8 of the 9 cottages for the 2012 PGA Championship event this year and it was a spectacular success! Christa Polinsky, the Operations Mgr., and staff were very accommodating to our needs helping with food catering, and a private dinner around the pool deck one evening. Could not have been better, and I have used the Cottages regularly for visiting business guests.

Steve Bryant
Executive V.P. Sales & Marketing
Angiotech Pharmaceuticals

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, each is on the Charleston Harbor. What's not to like?
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Back a second time to the cottages....the cottages are very nice, great porches viewing the harbor, fully equipped kitchens and private. Staff are very nice. We like staying away from downtown. Plenty to do in Mt Pleasant area and its only 5 minutes to all the town activities. We have stayed in cottage #'s 1&2. Both are very nice but would avoid #1 because it's next to a noisy industrial air conditioning unit. We loved sitting on the porch and watching the ships come in and out of the harbor. I would recommend The Cottages to anyone looking for nice private accommodations that are not far from the activities Charleston has to offer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noboxes004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

These cottages are fantastic. Ours was right on the water and had a wonderful screened in porch that we just wanted to sit on all day and listen to the sound of the water. It was so relaxing. It was great having a kitchen and living room and the bathroom was huge. It was great being so close to Charleston but feeling like we were on a peaceful island resort at the same time. The cottage needed a little repair cosmetically but nothing major at all and to be quite expected for something on the water. The staff was friend and helpful and gave us a fantastic dinner suggestion...Carter's Kitchen, which was absolutely fantastic. The breakfast is truly just a continental breakfast but it was quite sufficient.

Room Tip: Cottages 1-6 are closest to the water.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Inn
#3 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
97 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt...
#19 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
371 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages on Charleston Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages on Charleston Harbor

Address: 16 Patriots Point Rd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-4377 (Formerly Belvidere Club & Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: £354 - £645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottages on Charleston Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages on Charleston Harbor offer ten two-bedroom cottages with spacious living areas, full kitchens, and private porches where you can enjoy waterfront views unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cottages on Charleston Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottages On Charleston Harbor Hotel Mount Pleasant
Belvidere Hotel Mount Pleasant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing