We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not quite up to Marriott standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Overall very pleasant stay, needs renovations to rooms and lobby, needs more highly trained staff and updated towels. Could be a great property since it has a very convenient location. We had a room with a balcony which made room ventilation great. If it was updated like the new Courtyards it would be phenomenal.

Room Tip: Best rooms face west to the courtyard as expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

My family booked 3 suites and a king room over the holidays. The property is very nice but desparately in need of an update. The floor coverings were worn and threadbare, the furniture was non-functioning (drawers would not open/close) and the towels should have been given a decent burial a long time ago.

There is a gentleman working there who is given free rein to interact w/ guests. He seemed to be a semi-lunatic imposing his views on all guests/employees in a most disruptive way. Among other offensive things he did during our stay: LOUD conversations on his cell phone while in the dining room at breakfast. Every other Marriott employee was correct and respectful during our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thank you so much for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Mt. Pleasant for your stay during the holidays. I am so sorry that you were not pleased with your experience at our hotel. The issues that you mentioned have been addressed with our housekeeping staff, and I am hopeful that any problem has been corrected..

Additionally, the gentleman that you referred to in your review was a guest at the hotel, not an employee. He is no longer staying at our location. It is truly our goal to exceed the expectations of each guest, and again my most sincere apologies that your stay was less than perfect. It would be my pleasure to speak to you further regarding your experience. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. 843-284-0900. Kindest Regards, Ashley Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights over Christmas. A heavy set white haired man who seemed to be the manager was roaming around the lobby and dining room every day when we were there. He was very loud and made multiple inappropriate remarks that we just couldn't believe we were hearing--political comments, religious pronouncements etc. He seemed to think that everyone agreed with him (or should). He tried to be funny but he wasn't. What we expect in a hotel is service, not loud harangues. Our room was adequate but not very clean. The towels were worn, thin, and gray and should have been replaced long ago. The dresser drawers were broken. The dining room floor looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in days. Staffing may have been thin over the holiday, but Marriott should deliver better services or take its name off the building.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 634caper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Courtyard Mt. Pleasant. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the entire staff for your less than perfect stay. I wanted to take this opportunity to assure you that the person you mentioned does not work for our hotel or Marriott International and was simply a guest at our hotel. He is no longer staying here.

If you have any questions or would like to speak to me further regarding your visit, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Most Kind Regards,
Ashley Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights while our boat, which we live on was hauled. When we worked in the height of our business we were Platinum members of Marriott Rewards. Needless to say, I've stayed in hundreds of Courtyards. This one is different. It has local ownership and operation. Oriental rugs, fireplaces, plantation furniture ... feels and looks like a full service Marriott. Bar in the sitting room and small restaurant for breakfast. Great service. Comfortable room. Not set up like the new Courtyards but a great stay nonetheless. Lots of very good places to eat within 1.5 miles range.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words regarding Courtyard by Marriott Mt. Pleasant. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. On behalf of the entire staff, please visit again when you can.

Kindest Regards,
Ashley Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. The service is great,with the staff always being helpful. The rooms are very nice . . . clean and nicely decorated. The hotel in general is charming and very reflective of that Charleston spirit. The breakfast buffet is always excellent! Finally, the location is really good, with easy access to the freeway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy4013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Clean, well appointed rooms and courteous staff. Didn't use any of the amenities but the bar, restaurant and pool all looked nice and well maintained. Good dining and shopping nearby. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Mt. Pleasant does not really have a full service hotel So we chose this one. The location is excellent for us...near Family. But you can get downtown in 10 Mins, to the Beach in about the same and basic shopping is very close. This stay was our first here, and it was for a family funeral so we actually came down with no reservations, we figured to stay a night and see how things were going, well the family houses were full and I was not happy to find the Marriott Courtyard f was fully booked the next night. The manager told me she would see what she could do, they had a room open up ( weekend was a college homecoming so we got lucky) we got a call and came back ending up there for 10 days. Quiet, easy parking, very friendly breakfast staff...exactly what we needed under the circumstances. Hotel is well decorated and maintained. This will be our home when we visit from now on (being a gay couple we often prefer hotels when visiting family....we need our space and the grandparents have first call on the guest room. We have re-booked here for Christmas.

Room Tip: Stay away from 1st floors due to security lights, best to be on the South Wing as that is where Laun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlerRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt Pleasant
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt ...
#11 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
336 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Mount Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant

Address: 1251 Woodland Ave, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-3288
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#5 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#8 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: £79 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott, Mt. Pleasant's newest hotel provides a sanctuary for guests. Offering luxurious bedding, 32 inch flat screen televisions with connectivity panels and state of the art meeting facilities. Featuring a library and lobby bar with a charming courtyard, pool and fire pit. Convenient to historic downtown, beaches, shopping and golf. Courtyard, it's a new stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston-Mount Pleasant Hotel Mount Pleasant
Courtyard Mount Pleasant
Courtyard Charleston Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Marriott
Mount Pleasant Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing