We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, service was good, food was good”
Review of Red Drum

Red Drum
Ranked #29 of 331 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pherigo
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service was good, food was good”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I received a gift card to this restaurant for Christmas. I must say that while the restaurant is nice, valet parking was convenient & quick, the service was excellent, but the food was just ok. For the price, I expected it to be top notch. Will probably return for happy hour and bar food, as they do have a great bar area and a different bar menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ivoryschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    70
    22
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Went on a great recommendation from a top chef. Drinks were super, guys at the bar couldn't be friendlier and more helpful. Restaurant very noisy and packed. Clam appetizer was excellent, as was the shrimp cocktail ceviche. Enchiladas ala short ribs were very good, but only as good as a good Mexican restaurant. The bar had so many people at it they were standing 3-deep plus. A live band came in and they were fun. It is a good local place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ponysnooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of top recommended restaurants by the locals”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

I've been there twice on business in the last three weeks. This is a happening place in Mt Pleasant/Charleston. Great selection of beers, bar is great. It seems to be a 30's to 40's group at the bar. The live music is great ambiance addition.
The food is great - first visit I had the salmon - fantastic he second visit I had the scallops they were ok nothing over the top fantastic. Service is very good and very attentive. Definite stop if your visiting or a local.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

When in Isle of Palms 6 years ago, we happened upon this place, and our group had a terrific time--great dinner, and it was half-price wine night. We actually returned the same week for a second visit. This year we made it a point to come back, with 12 people (including 3 small children and a baby), and it was just as good if not better. There wasn't a single complaint amongst our group, the food was great (everyone was passing plates around to taste everything), and of course it was half -priced wine night again. This is a terrific restaurant, great and friendly service, and well -prepared food. We will always return on trips to the Charleston area as this place is the equal of the downtown restaurants (which we also like).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harvey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Slipping a little?”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Red Drum has been a favorite of mine for years but it seems to be slipping a bit. Service could/should have been more attentive, food took a long time but our waiter was also MIA for a while. We needed drinks a couple times and pepper and we just had to go without. However, I will say the water fillers were always filling our glasses. The quality was just not a good as years past. Usually people at the table are like OMG this is amazing not so much it was good but not as good. Also, the temperature was uncomfortably hot. Everyone at the table was uncomfortable not horrible but not comfortable. First time I have been disappointed in Red Drum hope this is not a trend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Drum also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Red Drum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing