We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at this motel for 1 night in April, although we had originally made reservations for 2 nights. We just had a very poor nights sleep the first night, we DID NOT stay a second night. It is an older motel, and although they say that they have been remodeled, it was poorly done. There was NO coffee (machine broke) in the breakfast area, the garbage can was over flowing in the very congested breakfast area. Breakfast area was unorganized, not well stocked or cared for. Very slow internet connection. Their was a leak in our toilet, shower was hard to turn on and off. The worst was the noise, we could hear the noise from other rooms, PLUS we heard an engine noise running all night long. Which kept us from getting a good nights sleep. The pool looked like it needed some attention as well. Older hotel no elevator.

Room Tip: Don't recommend this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petite3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Petite3,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    92
    56
    25
    10
See reviews for
94
92
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I called and reserved two handicap accessible rooms. My husband and I traveled with a friend. I was told each room had a shower with a seat, grab bars and two beds and were next to each other. I told Tamika, the woman taking my reservation that it was important that I got accessible rooms and was assured I would have them. When we arrived we were told that they only had two handicap accessible rooms and they were occupied. I showed my confirmation letter and they gave us keys to two rooms which the person at the desk insisted were handicap accessible. Not only were they not accessible rooms, they were not next to each other either. The toilet was very low, there was a bathtub/shower and no holding bars. I complained and they offered to help find us another hotel, but we just wanted to rest and not go looking for another motel not knowing what we'd find, so we stayed. When I checked out I asked if they would at least give us something off the price of our room. The person at the desk said she'd check with the manager but no offer was made. In fact I never got to speak with a manager even though I asked many times. After I returned home I e-mailed the Clarion main office and this is part of their answer:

"I feel regretful that you encountered these problems during your visit and that your comfort level was compromised. I will bring your comments to my team during our next meeting so they can see for themselves where some improvements are needed on all of our parts. I do again apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced while with us. We did offer to help you find accommodations that suited what you needed, and you declined. We have made some adjustments on our team due to the grievous error that was made. I again send my sincerest apologies for the misunderstanding in room amenities."

I'm glad to have helped them get their act together but I do feel some compensation should have been offered. When you are promised one thing and it is not forthcoming SOMETHING should be done to compensate for their mistake!

They do have a free breakfast and it has eggs and bacon freshly made and a waffle maker. But the room is very small and cramped. There were so many people and the eggs and bacon were very slow in coming out.

On the positive side, the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: If you need a handicap accessible room, DO NOT believe them if they tell you you will have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMKaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear AMKaloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

rooms were clean and quiet. Great location to Patriot's point, charleston......front desk staff very nice.Good choice of restaurants near hotel.....short walk to Ravenal bridge park, etc.
Breakfast was OK but got very crowded.

Room Tip: Rm 122 had best shower pressure!!!! but, faces the parking lot.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pvclarke57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear pvclarke57,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We truly appreciate your business and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our proximity to many great attractions! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley
Level Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We recently had a bad experience at a Clarion Inn, so when this was the only place with availability I was apprehensive. But I have to say we were pleasantly surprised! The desk clerk, Katrina, was so awesome! The breakfast was great! The rooms could be a little cleaner; however, they have been recently remodeled. The pool area was clean and very nice. The location is great. Visit the park and pier behind the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We really appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I will be sure to pass along your kind words about Katrina. We are very lucky to have her as a part of our team! We hope to see you again soon the next time your travels bring you to the Charleston/ Mt. Pleasant area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The staff is what made our stay excellent. Each person, Swantelle (General Manager), Mars (front desk), Housekeeping & the Restaurant Manager were very friendly, polite, professional & accommodating. They took excellent care of me & my 18 month old little man". They also took great care of my family who had approx 10 rooms booked for a wedding. Swantelle, in particular, made sure we FELT like a family here with no worries or stresses. Thank you all, Staff, for your kindness. The ONLY suggestion I have is to go ahead and remodel the tub too! :-)

Room Tip: We got room 119 which was perfect to be able to walk out the door onto a walkway & lawn with pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattiLou2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Patti,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Swantelle, Mars, Shana, and the rest of our great staff. Our staff truly believes in making sure each and every one of our guests enjoys their experience with us. Having your wonderful family stay with us was a pleasure and hope we see everyone again very soon! Thank you for choosing our hotel as your home for the wedding weekend in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. I stay in a lot of hotels for work and this is one of the better ones at this price. Great location, just minutes from Charleston and some good restaurants close by.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank heffr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for your great review! I will be sure to pass along your comments to our wonderful staff for a job well done. We are very happy you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel and all the great restaurants and attractions nearby that makes our location perfect for trips to Charleston. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and hope to see you on any future trips to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. The hotel has started renovations but have not completed them. The tub was horribly stained, I'm sure it was clean but sure didn't look it. It was disturbing to find out that the smoke alarm was not working! Also there was a large crack under our door which any critter could have come in and visited that we stuffed with a towel. When we reported this to the staff they did offer a 10% discount off the room. Don't think I would stay here again. Kathy S. MI

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Kathy,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing the Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied on your stay with us. We have already begun a process of refinishing many of our tubs to make sure that our guests have an enjoyable bath experience. We routinely check our smoke alarms for proper functioning and will be sure to rectify the problem experienced in your guestroom. We hope to see you again on any future travels to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
#15 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Patriots Point
BEST WESTERN Patriots Point
#18 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
3.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
0.1 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#22 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt...
#20 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston

Property: Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Address: 310 Johnnie Dodds Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2902 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Mount Pleasant)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#6 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Pleasant, SC Clarion Inn(R) Mount Pleasant hotel is close to a number of popular area attractions, such as: Patriots Point Isle of Palms Beach Shem Creek Charleston Historic District Fort Sumter Visitors will enjoy driving across the Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge (Cooper River Bridge) that connects Mount Pleasant with downtown Charleston and is the only access point to the Sullivans Island barrier community. The Charleston Open Air Market and the charming town of Ft. Moultrie are also close to this Mount Pleasant, SC hotel. You are invited to relax in our picnic area and enjoy the many amenities at the Clarion Inn, Mount Pleasant hotel: Free high-speed Internet access Free continental breakfast Free coffee Free local calls Seasonal outdoor pool Business travelers will also have access to copy and fax services. In addition to standard amenities, all rooms have coffee makers, hair dryers, microwaves, refrigerators, irons with boards and cable television. Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses. If you are looking for inviting accommodations and excellent rates, then the Clarion Inn, Mount Pleasant hotel is the perfect place to call home in South Carolina. Book a room with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Mount Pleasant Hotel Mount Pleasant
Comfort Inn Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing